See other Banff properties

Samesun Backpackers Banff

433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 84% from 19 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very welcoming staff. Awesome that breakfast is free. Good party atmosphere. Wish the bathroom was cleaner.
  • 83%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Amanda Canada
  • It's a good place to stay a night or two. There are good opportunities to meet new people and to enter in conversations. It may get a little loud in the bar, but staff sees to it that the rest of the hostel is quiet enough for a decent night's sleep.
  • 86%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Hilke
  • Really enjoyed my Samesun experience in Banff. Close to stores, shops and restaurants. Nice walkable town with amazing hospitality all around and good staff at the hostel who were by the way folks...very helpful with every need I had.
  • 94%
  • 30 Sep 2014 Doug Canada
  • Stayed at Vancouver samesun before heading to Banff, as these are the same hostels brand I was expecting the same standards, and I was very wrong. I understand the Banff one is generally smaller but as i was even paying more in Banff I expected the breakfast to at least be the same but it was a shoddy comparison. Very disappointed. Overall though they make do with what they have. Can't do you laundry till 3:30pm each day mind you. Paid $57 dollars to extend on a Saturday night. Rip off.
  • 71%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Large rooms and I liked having the bathroom/ shower in the private rooms as opposed to dormitory style. Very close to the shops/ hikes and a quick drive to the lake! I had more fun at the hostel beaver bar than the pubs in downtown banff!
  • 97%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Kate
  • excellent hostel
  • 100%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Would have been nice to have two showers for a room of 10 people, otherwise everything was perfect! Had a great stay, thanks!
  • 91%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • Awesome hostel with a great vibe! Cheap drinks all night (reallyyyy cheap) and just a little walk away from the night life. Very clean and cozy. Large shower and a home-type bathroom without stalls. Loved it. We be back again.
  • 91%
  • 29 Mar 2014 Barbara
  • No storage for luggage in dorms
  • 83%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Carmen Switzerland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »