See other Los Angeles properties

Samesun Venice Beach

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 22.5km

Rating: 78% from 17 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Location is great and staff was friendly. Very clean and comfortable hostel except for the temperature in the rooms. There is no A/C and there was a very tiny window in the room I was (4 female dorm). They put a small individual fa on each bed but that's not enough. It was too hot inside.
  • 97%
  • 21 Aug 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Overpriced compared to other hostels we have stayed at (in capital/popular cities). It may be the 'same price' as other hostels/options in the area but it was POOR VALUE FOR MONEY. Generally felt ripped off. Lack of bathrooms. Simple issues aren't fixed e.g. fixing a shower head so the shower actually works properly. The hostel smelt of damp/drains/sewage - our sink backed up, suggesting drains aren't clean. The place generally felt neglected - only commands price due to location. Go to a motel.
  • 49%
  • 17 Jun 2015 Joanna England
  • I was in transit in Los Angeles and was looking for a nice place to spend the night. I chose Samesun because this hostel is located across from the beach. By taking a shuttle to the airport, I arrived after 30 minutes and I already had my feet in the water. J'étais en transit à Los angeles et je cherchais un endroit agréable où passer la nuit. J'ai choisi Samesun car cette auberge de jeunesse est situé en face de la plage. En prenant une navette à l'aéroport, je suis arrivée après 30 minutes
  • 94%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Anonymous France
  • Great hostel overall. Hot water of the shower of room 316 was at best lukewarm.
  • 89%
  • 09 May 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • Pretty good place the location is perfect... A block away from the slatepark Breakfast was decent and straff is nice Note: you need to bring your passport even if you live in USA
  • 83%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Yamil USA
  • First of all, Wi-fi wasnt working so people had to crowd in the the staircases to catch a signal. the lunge was very dirty and just looked horrible. The lights in the room didn't work, I think it was a fuse problem since the bathroom lights worked. The front desk guy didn't have good people skills. Worst of all...the hostel made me feel sad. Kindly fix these issues for other travelers' sake.
  • 46%
  • 05 Apr 2015 Pirro USA
  • I stayed at the hostel for 5 days and had an awesome time there. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. They even have someone who organizes one free event per day so if you want you can see and experience quite a lot there. The rooms, even the 7 and 8 bedrooms are quite nice and the facilities were nearly always very clean. Location is perfect, just about 1 minute away from the beach with ocean view from a couple of the rooms.
  • 97%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Luisa Germany
  • It was a good experience.
  • 77%
  • 03 Mar 2015 Luz Adriana Colombia
  • There were no outlets on any of the top bunks in the hostel. The staff was accommodating and moved rooms for me, but still no outlets on top bunks. Also wifi only works in certain areas (Tha hall ways) doesn't work in common area or in the rooms! They were supposed to call me a bus to take from the hostel to the airport, and they didn't fill out the request form properly. Staff was extremely rude and insincere when talking to me. samesun VB doesn't compare to Van. Would not recommend.
  • 46%
  • 03 Mar 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • We were overall quite satisfied with the room we got (ocean view from 2 windows!) and the general atmosphere at the Samesun, Our main issue was a malfunctioning shower in our room, and mostly the absence of any kind of heating system, or availability of additional blankets in the hostel (we were told that many customers complained but nothing could be done about it). We spent a really cold night, which shamefully spoils an otherwise great place!
  • 63%
  • 28 Dec 2014 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »