See other Los Angeles properties

Samesun Venice Beach

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 22.5km

Rating: 80% from 15 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • perfect for party and sports, less appropriate for people looking for a calm place to stay
  • 86%
  • 16 Jun 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The area is very specific and fits for hippies and their fans :) Although Santa Monica beach is very nice and close. In the evening there are many weird homeless people nearby the hotel, so it was not very nice. Car parking (free) is not infront of the hostel, but 10 minutes walk. Inside it's quite crowded and shared bathrooms are not always clean. Some smell in the room and almost no natural day light because the window opens at the brick wall of neighbour building.
  • 57%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • This was perfect! Our window faced the ocean and it was gorgeous!The bed was clean but the bed frame/headboard (we stayed in the double private room) was pretty dirty- I would recommend they just get rid of it if they don't want to replace it. This didn't affect my stay, just something I noticed. The staff were rad and they have different outings every night which we didn't go on but would do it next time. The price seemed high but it's worth it. Thank you!!!
  • 100%
  • 30 May 2014 alexandra Canada
  • The bread had fungus. The wifi seems to record the MAC address of your phone/laptop if you forget to tick the "I accept the terms of service" checkbox, and then bans your device from using the wifi. I told this to the staff and her response was that that was happening because my phone was low on battery (!!!).
  • 60%
  • 14 Apr 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • Everyone was really helpful and friendly. You had a great view of Venice beach from the common room and it was only about a forty minute walk from Santa Monica.
  • 89%
  • 20 Jan 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • You can improve breakfast menu.
  • 77%
  • 14 Jan 2014 Anonymous India
  • + close to the beach - staff not always friendly - practically no breakfast - in winter not much going on in the area
  • 74%
  • 18 Dec 2013 Anonymous Italy
  • Venice Beach is very nice and the location of Samesun is very good. Close to the muscle gym and the most famous skatepark in the world on the beach. It is dangerous to walk around the are in late hours. In my opinion Venice beach is a place to spend the day but not the night.
  • 69%
  • 29 Nov 2013 Daniel Brazil
  • Very clean considering the amount of people who live her. Nice and close to the beach
  • 80%
  • 29 Oct 2013 Anonymous Denmark
  • The 24/7 access is great and the staff are very friendly & helpful. There are about 100 beds but only four shower/toilets! Just one of the showers has a proper nozzle. The other three produce little more than a mist. And two of them have no windows and broken extractor fans. No air-cond in the rooms so many people wedge their doors open all night to get air flow. Street parking is good, so long as you don't arrive between 10am and 5pm. Otherwise it is a great place, excellent for meeting people.
  • 74%
  • 28 Aug 2013 Simon New Zealand
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »