See other Los Angeles properties

Samesun Venice Beach

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 22.5km

Rating: 78% from 20 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Kitchen ware could be better.
  • 80%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Junghsuan
  • This Hostel is HOT!!! They don't use any AC so be prepared to sleep with the window open and not be around during the day if you're going during the summer. We look forward to going back here but only during the winter months.
  • 80%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Email I recieved told me I only had to pay 230 when I got to hostel, when I arrived they demanded I pay 260
  • 60%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous
  • Over all Samesun was good. Location is excellent. There is no better one at Venice I think. But one could complain about the prices instead. Its not worth it respecting the size of the location and the room and all its facilities. One could describe it cozy. I know. Breakfast was poor. Staff very friendly.
  • 66%
  • 06 Jul 2014 Jens Germany
  • perfect for party and sports, less appropriate for people looking for a calm place to stay
  • 86%
  • 16 Jun 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The area is very specific and fits for hippies and their fans :) Although Santa Monica beach is very nice and close. In the evening there are many weird homeless people nearby the hotel, so it was not very nice. Car parking (free) is not infront of the hostel, but 10 minutes walk. Inside it's quite crowded and shared bathrooms are not always clean. Some smell in the room and almost no natural day light because the window opens at the brick wall of neighbour building.
  • 57%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • This was perfect! Our window faced the ocean and it was gorgeous!The bed was clean but the bed frame/headboard (we stayed in the double private room) was pretty dirty- I would recommend they just get rid of it if they don't want to replace it. This didn't affect my stay, just something I noticed. The staff were rad and they have different outings every night which we didn't go on but would do it next time. The price seemed high but it's worth it. Thank you!!!
  • 100%
  • 30 May 2014 alexandra Canada
  • The bread had fungus. The wifi seems to record the MAC address of your phone/laptop if you forget to tick the "I accept the terms of service" checkbox, and then bans your device from using the wifi. I told this to the staff and her response was that that was happening because my phone was low on battery (!!!).
  • 60%
  • 14 Apr 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • Everyone was really helpful and friendly. You had a great view of Venice beach from the common room and it was only about a forty minute walk from Santa Monica.
  • 89%
  • 20 Jan 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • You can improve breakfast menu.
  • 77%
  • 14 Jan 2014 Anonymous India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »