See other Los Angeles properties

Samesun Venice Beach

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 22.5km

Rating: 74% from 19 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 64%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Pretty good place the location is perfect... A block away from the slatepark Breakfast was decent and straff is nice Note: you need to bring your passport even if you live in USA
  • 83%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Yamil USA
  • First of all, Wi-fi wasnt working so people had to crowd in the the staircases to catch a signal. the lunge was very dirty and just looked horrible. The lights in the room didn't work, I think it was a fuse problem since the bathroom lights worked. The front desk guy didn't have good people skills. Worst of all...the hostel made me feel sad. Kindly fix these issues for other travelers' sake.
  • 46%
  • 05 Apr 2015 Pirro USA
  • I stayed at the hostel for 5 days and had an awesome time there. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. They even have someone who organizes one free event per day so if you want you can see and experience quite a lot there. The rooms, even the 7 and 8 bedrooms are quite nice and the facilities were nearly always very clean. Location is perfect, just about 1 minute away from the beach with ocean view from a couple of the rooms.
  • 97%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Luisa Germany
  • It was a good experience.
  • 77%
  • 03 Mar 2015 Luz Adriana Colombia
  • There were no outlets on any of the top bunks in the hostel. The staff was accommodating and moved rooms for me, but still no outlets on top bunks. Also wifi only works in certain areas (Tha hall ways) doesn't work in common area or in the rooms! They were supposed to call me a bus to take from the hostel to the airport, and they didn't fill out the request form properly. Staff was extremely rude and insincere when talking to me. samesun VB doesn't compare to Van. Would not recommend.
  • 46%
  • 03 Mar 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • We were overall quite satisfied with the room we got (ocean view from 2 windows!) and the general atmosphere at the Samesun, Our main issue was a malfunctioning shower in our room, and mostly the absence of any kind of heating system, or availability of additional blankets in the hostel (we were told that many customers complained but nothing could be done about it). We spent a really cold night, which shamefully spoils an otherwise great place!
  • 63%
  • 28 Dec 2014 Anonymous France
  • I stayed for only one night and it was not really long enough to make a qualified judgement. Having said that I would definitely go back to the Venice Beach Samesun hostel.
  • 86%
  • 23 Dec 2014 Richard USA
  • Kitchen ware could be better.
  • 80%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Junghsuan
  • This Hostel is HOT!!! They don't use any AC so be prepared to sleep with the window open and not be around during the day if you're going during the summer. We look forward to going back here but only during the winter months.
  • 80%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Email I recieved told me I only had to pay 230 when I got to hostel, when I arrived they demanded I pay 260
  • 60%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »