See other Los Angeles properties

Samesun Venice Beach

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 22.5km

Rating: 82% from 15 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everyone was really helpful and friendly. You had a great view of Venice beach from the common room and it was only about a forty minute walk from Santa Monica.
  • 89%
  • 20 Jan 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • You can improve breakfast menu.
  • 77%
  • 14 Jan 2014 Anonymous India
  • + close to the beach - staff not always friendly - practically no breakfast - in winter not much going on in the area
  • 74%
  • 18 Dec 2013 Anonymous Italy
  • Venice Beach is very nice and the location of Samesun is very good. Close to the muscle gym and the most famous skatepark in the world on the beach. It is dangerous to walk around the are in late hours. In my opinion Venice beach is a place to spend the day but not the night.
  • 69%
  • 29 Nov 2013 Daniel Brazil
  • Very clean considering the amount of people who live her. Nice and close to the beach
  • 80%
  • 29 Oct 2013 Anonymous Denmark
  • The 24/7 access is great and the staff are very friendly & helpful. There are about 100 beds but only four shower/toilets! Just one of the showers has a proper nozzle. The other three produce little more than a mist. And two of them have no windows and broken extractor fans. No air-cond in the rooms so many people wedge their doors open all night to get air flow. Street parking is good, so long as you don't arrive between 10am and 5pm. Otherwise it is a great place, excellent for meeting people.
  • 74%
  • 28 Aug 2013 Simon New Zealand
  • I lived in an 8 Bed Dorm, where you had to use the restrooms on the floor, but they were cleaned every day and you never had to wait long to use them, so that was fine. The Hostel is right at the beach, but finding a cheap supermarket is nearby is difficult.
  • 80%
  • 19 Aug 2013 Elisa Sofia Germany
  • It is a nice place. Customers have to be checked before going into the hostel, and the location is fantastic! Surprisingly, there is only little noise although it is located next to the beach and a lot of vendors. However, there are only two restrooms and people always need to wait in a line for a shower or urine. In addition, the price is too high. I can spend the same price living in a hotel!
  • 77%
  • 29 Jun 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Hostel very near to the beach, cool staff, clean, nice rooms;
  • 86%
  • 08 Jun 2013 Maximilian Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »