See other San Diego properties

San Diego's Ocean Beach International Hostel

4961 Newport Ave., CA 92107, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.4km

Rating: 82% from 18 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel is the best. The manager is really cool, the location is perfect and everyone is nice. If you go there, say Hi to Hannah and Drake, they're really awesome ! The only ''negative'' thing I could say is the showers are not that great. They're really clean but sometimes the water is way too hot or way too cold. You just can't adjust it how you like and it's the same for the sink. The rest is perfect though.
  • 91%
  • 12 Dec 2014 julien Canada
  • The showers are pretty terrible. It's the only bad thing I can say . The rest is perfect. Adding peanut butter in the morning could be nice too. Say hi to Hannah at the front desk, she's the best !
  • 71%
  • 07 Dec 2014 julien Canada
  • The hotel is very close to the beach. There are many restaurants, smoothie bars,... . With bus 35 you can go to old town and drom there every other part of san Diego. The staff is friendly and funny. I had a grat at obi.
  • 100%
  • 12 Sep 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • On Sunday evenings they have a bonfire at the beach with free hot dogs for everybody who is staying at the hostel. It is a beautiful setting, just 2 blocks from the hotel. It was a beautiful evening with the moon on the ocean as we sat around the bonfire telling stories and enjoying the night. And the hostel staff made sure that everybody was comfortable. It was my first experience at a hotel, so it was an educational experience for me. I hope to stay there again.
  • 86%
  • 17 Aug 2014 Robert USA
  • We really had a blast. Great atmosphere and great people. The staff was really helpful and friendly. The common area was awesome and we played beer pong, flip cup, watched tv, or just talked over there. Great location with just 300 meters to the beach. It was perfect and I'll definitely recommend it if you're an outgoing person who wants to meet lots of people from all over the world :) I'll return! From Sweden with love :*
  • 91%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Malin Sweden
  • very, very dirty linens :( it was disgusting. rooms are very small, all the furniture is very old. I wouldn't stay there again.
  • 49%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anna Russia
  • The best hostel I have stayed at. It is clean, safe and the staff are kind and very helpful. It right by the beach with a number of places to eat at near by. People form all around the world come through their doors daily. I am greatful for the experience and the people I met there.
  • 100%
  • 10 Feb 2014 Ron USA
  • The rooms were very stuffy and needed to be aired out. The whole place smelled old so I personally didn't trust the breakfast. Plus the fact that I saw an employee use the toilet trough and not wash his hands!! But it was surrounded by plenty of shops and places to eat and very close to the beach. Pretty decent place for the money.
  • 69%
  • 09 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was by far the best hostel I've been to so far. Breakfast is awesome, activities are nice and a good opportunity to meet other travelers. The atmosphere is very good as well: I met a lot of interesting and open-minded people.
  • 91%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Jakob Germany
  • The location is near to a Ocean Beach, but this is not the best beach in San Diego. The hostel is far away from Downtown and Old Town (where almost every bus do stops), so if you need go to anywhere you have to spend a lot of time in the bus to go to Old Town and then change the bus and go to wherever you want. Near to the hostel there are almost no places to eat, especially at night, which can be inconvenient.
  • 80%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Beatriz Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »