See other San Diego properties

San Diego's Ocean Beach International Hostel

4961 Newport Ave., CA 92107, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.4km

Rating: 87% from 14 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Young lady at the front desk when we first checked in was super sweet and nice. She let us check the place out to make sure it was clean and safe for my niece. Next morning when I went to pick up my niece the older blonde lady at the front desk was extremely rude. Wouldn't let me help my niece pack her things and help carry her luggage. I had to sit in the front while she went to wake her up.
  • 77%
  • 25 Mar 2015 Bea USA
  • Ocean Beach Hostel was the perfect experience. I was able to meet lovely people from all over the world, roll out of bed and see a beautiful ocean every morning and have everything within walking distance. There were a lot of unexpected perks. The hostel itself has wifi, a book trade, extra beach gear, and surf board rentals. Great! Beds and Showers were new and clean!! major plus.
  • 89%
  • 22 Mar 2015 Marcie USA
  • This is clearly a well-run hostel and stands out as such. Recommended.
  • 100%
  • 15 Feb 2015 David USA
  • I really enjoyed staying at the hostel. The staff was friendly and the hostel itself was clean and enjoyable. I met some great fellow travelers and had a wonderful time.
  • 100%
  • 06 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel is the best. The manager is really cool, the location is perfect and everyone is nice. If you go there, say Hi to Hannah and Drake, they're really awesome ! The only ''negative'' thing I could say is the showers are not that great. They're really clean but sometimes the water is way too hot or way too cold. You just can't adjust it how you like and it's the same for the sink. The rest is perfect though.
  • 91%
  • 12 Dec 2014 julien Canada
  • The showers are pretty terrible. It's the only bad thing I can say . The rest is perfect. Adding peanut butter in the morning could be nice too. Say hi to Hannah at the front desk, she's the best !
  • 71%
  • 07 Dec 2014 julien Canada
  • Great place close to the beach. OB is a cool town to hang out.
  • 86%
  • 05 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hotel is very close to the beach. There are many restaurants, smoothie bars,... . With bus 35 you can go to old town and drom there every other part of san Diego. The staff is friendly and funny. I had a grat at obi.
  • 100%
  • 12 Sep 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • On Sunday evenings they have a bonfire at the beach with free hot dogs for everybody who is staying at the hostel. It is a beautiful setting, just 2 blocks from the hotel. It was a beautiful evening with the moon on the ocean as we sat around the bonfire telling stories and enjoying the night. And the hostel staff made sure that everybody was comfortable. It was my first experience at a hotel, so it was an educational experience for me. I hope to stay there again.
  • 86%
  • 17 Aug 2014 Robert USA
  • We really had a blast. Great atmosphere and great people. The staff was really helpful and friendly. The common area was awesome and we played beer pong, flip cup, watched tv, or just talked over there. Great location with just 300 meters to the beach. It was perfect and I'll definitely recommend it if you're an outgoing person who wants to meet lots of people from all over the world :) I'll return! From Sweden with love :*
  • 91%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Malin Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »