See other San Diego properties

San Diego's Ocean Beach International Hostel

4961 Newport Ave., CA 92107, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.4km

Rating: 83% from 33 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in... 30 seconds from the beach, lots of great shops near by and an hours bus trip to pacific beach or la jolla. Really laid back environment, lots of activities provided and social interaction. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Free breakfast was a great start to the day, rooms are a good size and some have ebsuites. Definitely reccomend it!
  • 100%
  • 28 Aug 2013 Anonymous England
  • I dont know if was for the people that I meet there that I think this hostel is Excelent! Just joking, the hostel is very very good. I will miss it!
  • 100%
  • 15 Aug 2013 Anonymous Portugal
  • We stayed at the hostel in a private room for two nights in August, 2013. Bus access was very good. The breakfast was adequate to start the day. The staff were very helpful with check in and check out, and with information re local activities, entertainment, etc. We rented body boards from the hostel to use at the beach, it was great to have this option. The location was fabulous. The Wednesday late afternoon street market was great to take in. I would recommend staying here.
  • 89%
  • 13 Aug 2013 Alexandra (Sandy) Canada
  • I cannot begin to describe how much I love this hostel! It is colorful with a huge peace sign on the top of the building, its steps away from the beach, the hostel is FULL of life and I've met some of the best people there. HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
  • 100%
  • 03 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • really enjoyed our stay, the staff were really helpful and accommodating and rooms were clean. bunk beds were hard to get into. The beach is beautiful and the town is similar to byron in Australia.
  • 89%
  • 18 Jul 2013 Anonymous New Zealand
  • nice place to be. great breakfast. few less plastic dish and more real dish would be great.
  • 80%
  • 28 Jun 2013 Ramona Germany
  • The place would have had a 100%, if it wasn't because we were 2 hours late, due to a staff member who chose not to show up, so we couldn't check out!
  • 94%
  • 30 May 2013 Anne Sofie Denmark
  • Girl at reception was a stoner she didn't know very much and overcharged me. Drinking and smoking on the job is not a good idea.
  • 54%
  • 27 May 2013 Anthony Australia
  • Everyone was very cool at the hostel. However, when I first got there I had issues with the manager (female, 30ish). According to the manager, if you are an American you need to have a student ID. I told her that in this website (hostels.com) it didn't say that and she kept arguing with me. I finally showed her this website and she let me stay. I would suggest that if they are going to advertise in this website that at least they know what their ad says. Other than the manager hostel was great.
  • 77%
  • 25 May 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »