See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 61% from 23 reviews

  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 62%Staff
  • 60%Security
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 62%Value for money
  • 50%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The place could use a bit of a freshening up. The kids behind the desk are a little uptight. But all-in-all it was a good experience.
  • 71%
  • 21 Sep 2017 Ellen USA
  • I was alone as a girl. Everything was fine, the atmosphere is really good. You have chance to meet with new people fromall around the world. I loved it.
  • 89%
  • 13 Sep 2017 Anonymous
  • the other all stay was ok The staff accommodated us with a new room when we got bad vibes from our roommate. Please accommodate each room with atleast hand soap and a floor mat for the restroom.
  • 66%
  • 08 Sep 2017 Andria USA
  • No sink you n the restroom, that kind off says it all
  • 29%
  • 27 Aug 2017 Ezequiel Argentina
  • Even the hostel is very well located, my room was on a street that never stops. The passing of buses and trucks was unbearable through the night, it was impossible to sleep. Regarding cleanliness very poor. I guess you get what you paid for.
  • 57%
  • 10 Jul 2017 Anonymous Colombia
  • Great value hostel in the heart of San Francisco just off Powell St station. Very useful if you are coming on the Bart from the airport.
  • 77%
  • 05 Jul 2017 Anonymous England
  • Very poor mice every we're . Mould in room.
  • 49%
  • 15 Jun 2017 Cory Ireland
  • Very, very nice staff and very clean. I keep coming back.
  • 89%
  • 02 Jun 2017 Anonymous Sweden
  • The location of the hostel was really good! But it really needs to be renovated.If you are looking for a place to sleep and not to stay alot at, then its okay. There was no sink at the bathrooms, so you had to wash your hands in the room. Which can be annoying at night if other people stay with you in the room. Additionally the bathroom was okay, but not really nice and not completely clean at all. So to sum up the hostel was okay, but not the nicest place to stay at.
  • 71%
  • 06 May 2017 Janne-Corline Germany
  • Not in the safest area (the Tenderloin District) but it is very close to the Powell Station and all that good stuff! The staff is very nice and they are reasonable. The place is old and charming. The beds were creaky but doable. The only issues were that there was not really any soap and that my bed had crumbs and a hair or two on them when I got there. Overall, would recommend.
  • 86%
  • 28 Mar 2017 Angela
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »