See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 69% from 99 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I don't know why people left such negative reviews i thought this place was amazing
  • 91%
  • 18 Oct 2014 khadija Pakistan
  • Really good hostel. Friendly staff, close to bus stations, free water and clean bedrooms. I would stay there again.
  • 91%
  • 17 Oct 2014 Bianca Brazil
  • a nice place to stay,very convenient to any place of interest, you maybe just need walking. the staff here are very nice, they give me all the information I needed and helped me save a lot of time. I miss the friends there too, an old couple and some Indian, Mexico, American guys, regret to not leave their contact information, and may be never see for the whole life.
  • 97%
  • 03 Oct 2014 Anonymous China
  • Very friendly staff, willing to help you with anything. I liked the big common room to meet people. In the morning you can bake your own pancakes, which is great, free tea, coffee & water all day. The rooms were old and outdated, bathrooms old and not so clean. A little too pricy for what you get I think.
  • 60%
  • 20 Sep 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • We got upgraded to a private room and the staff was friendly. The free breakfast is just a "make your own pancakes" thing though.
  • 83%
  • 14 Sep 2014 Anonymous France
  • Lockers are small and need to be made available to every person in the hostel. When I came all the lockers were occupied. The beds weren't clean and the power sockets weren't working properly.
  • 60%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Anonymous India
  • Totally helpfull staff + clean bathrooms!
  • 89%
  • 02 Sep 2014 Szilvia Hungary
  • staff was very nice!!!! almost no noise !!!
  • 86%
  • 31 Aug 2014 luis rodolfo Guatemala
  • Initially I was a but nervous about staying here having read some poor reviews however I was very happy with my stay. The location was brilliant, right beside some really good shopping areas. The staff were so friendly and helpful with whatever questions I had and they were very knowledgeable about the area and local transportation. One problem was the noise while trying to sleep but that could be expected while staying in a built up, busy area.
  • 83%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Roisin
  • Staff has only one key for lugage storage... And they lost it...
  • 63%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Romain France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »