See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 71% from 99 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The Shower wasn't good and also the beds where horrible. But the common rooms have been very good. There was tee and coffee for free. Unfortunately the free pancakes was only till 9am for free.
  • 89%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Kilian Germany
  • Clean place. Awesome free ancakes. It was safe and accessible. Highly recommend thathe SF International Hostel.
  • 86%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I had a great experience in the hostel, this was my first time in a hostel and I will recommended to friends a lot, I think nothing is perfect but many things can improve like a clean in the bathroom or sometimes showers don't working good, but in general my experience was amazing, thanks to the staff to very kind with me.
  • 91%
  • 15 Jan 2015 julio Guatemala
  • This was my first time staying in a hostel and I was impressed by the value. They had a free pizza and beer nights over the weekend and provided free ready-made pancake mix each morning. I wouldn't have expected them to feed us in addition to housing us, so I felt that was a nice add-on. I went in with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised; for the people who leave reviews complaining about the accommodations - what do you expect for $18/night?
  • 94%
  • 10 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Showers were horrible. The water pressure was horrendous as was the water temperature - it was either too hot, or there was no hot water at all. One point, i ran the cold water tap for a while, and it just came out hot water. I could not be in showers for too long for I feared my skin would eventually burn off. On the morning of check-out, we saw a cockroach run across our room. No lockers in rooms either. Wifi wasn't the best. Location, however, was a plus! And there was a cold water filter!
  • 69%
  • 09 Jan 2015 David Australia
  • The building is old, the elevator is really slow and allow just two people. They give me a room really small (much smaller than the ones that they take the photos to use here) and when I asked to change the room, the staff just told me that there is no other room available, but my friends who were in other rooms told me that always there was available vacancy at their rooms (which were bigger than my and the same price).
  • 51%
  • 27 Dec 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I really enjoyed staying in this hostel. The staff really work hard to have everything going properly. I even had the opportunity to volunteer and stay there for free. It was a really good experience.
  • 89%
  • 22 Dec 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Closed to everywhere
  • 86%
  • 19 Dec 2014 Frans Judea Indonesia
  • Bed frame needed a board for more stability. The springs were breaking in spots and poked me in the back
  • 77%
  • 16 Dec 2014 Susan USA
  • I enjoyed staying at this hostel and overall felt satisfyed with the value for the price. However, the bathrooms were quite dirty and the showers and toilets were often clogged, so I would only recommend this hostel to my more adventurous friends. Also, the stains on the mattresses were quite off-putting. If I worked there, my next investment would be washable mattress covers. My only other gripe was that there was a window in my room which led out into an empty space, which I found creepy.
  • 77%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Sage USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No matter where you are there's always time for a great beer with great friends. Check out our guide to cheap but awesome beer all over the world

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »