See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 71% from 97 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It shocked me terrible bed sounds but location is good.
  • 57%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Booked a 4 person dorm w/ private bathroom while attending a conference around the corner. Cheaper than anything else in the area. Had to ask for bathroom to be cleaned and shower repaired. Room was cold, beds had thin foam pads for mattresses. Linens were random, old, icky. Towels cost $5. Luggage room was constantly left open, and the code was posted publicly - not secure. At the edge of the Tenderloin - bad neighborhood. Communal kitchen is nice. Don't recommend.
  • 60%
  • 15 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Really friendly staff at the front desk. Was disappointed that they used polystyrene cups and plates, but think they're getting that sorted ;)
  • 77%
  • 06 Apr 2015 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Excellent staff! Thanks for the great service.
  • 60%
  • 29 Mar 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • It's well located, just a few blocks from where the trolleys, cable car and buses come and go from the major spots. Near you have some cheap grocery stores. Good hostel, but the rooms have no window or its an internal one so you have little fresh aire to dry tour clothes.
  • 71%
  • 28 Mar 2015 Anonymous Uruguay
  • Location is perfect. Sometimes there are problems with cleaning of public areas, and the floor in the dining area is often dirty, or it is impossible to enter the restroom. The stuff is rather helpful.
  • 60%
  • 23 Mar 2015 Anonymous Russia
  • I like the location. Location was good ! but it wasn't clean ..,
  • 60%
  • 20 Mar 2015 AYOUNG South Korea
  • Advertising free breakfast then offering nothing more than pancake mix is very poor. Very few bathrooms, only 1 shower on most floors - bear in mind that each floor has approximately 15 rooms of 4. The use of plastic cutlery and plates and polystyrene cups is terrible, both environmentally unsound and wasteful. Only 3 or 4 sets of metal cutlery in the entire place.
  • 60%
  • 11 Mar 2015 Joe Wales
  • awesome location and atmosphere. it's just a little noisy, plus super strange that there are no sinks in the bathrooms, but individual sinks in the bedrooms...... weird.
  • 80%
  • 10 Mar 2015 Anonymous Singapore
  • Everything was fine. I liked the free breakfast and water. But one thing that was disappointing is I couldn't use a WiFi in my room.
  • 71%
  • 08 Mar 2015 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »