See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 69% from 113 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 57%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The value of having a place to sleep for 1/2 to 1/4 the cost of the cheapest hotel I could find was what made me pick this hostel. It was walking distance from the BART and anything I could need. It was a bit run down and I had to switch to my data plan because the free wifi was so slow but all I needed was a place to sleep and keep my things while I walked around SF and that was certainly delivered.
  • 63%
  • 07 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I booked a bed in an all female dorm, but when I got there, they said it's full and moved me to a mixed dorm room but with a female shower lounge on the same floor. I'm quite flexible so I didn't mind the mixed dorm. It'd be nice to know sooner. Facilities seem old, especially the showers. But it did the job for two nights. Location is prime and you really can't find any much cheaper with major difference in quality, so it depends on your priority.
  • 60%
  • 26 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • While the location was quite good and the rooms where OK, the bathrooms where not. All toilets miss a sink, instead you have to go into the showers, which have only one sink (or we missed something). That still would be OK, but there are only female OR male showers on one level, I had to go up two levels to wash hands and shower. Also, the showers did not smell good. The mattresses and pillows did also not look clean. Clean up and renovate the bathrooms and we'll be back.
  • 57%
  • 26 Sep 2015 Felix Germany
  • Very nice and close to all the shops
  • 86%
  • 26 Sep 2015 Anonymous Philippines
  • The bathroom was always wet and smelled bad
  • 63%
  • 25 Sep 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Hostel may look nice on picture but in reality is a run-down establishment. Kitchen is dirty and there are nearly none utensils like cutlery, glass and china. Whole building covered with a carpet that looks old. Several spots on walls in dorms has lost their paint. The en-suite bathroom has mold it its wall. No war tap water in batherro except for the shower. And of top of that there was bed bugs in my room. Stay away.
  • 46%
  • 21 Sep 2015 Martin Sweden
  • Avoid this place like the plague. For $10-15 more you could stay at a clean, safe, and much better hostel in SF. Really dirty facility from carpet to showers to furniture. You know the area is not safe when the homeless are telling you to be safe and get off the streets. Homeless people trying to walk into the communal space, people getting bags stolen. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. The staff was friendly but this location is dangerous.
  • 46%
  • 21 Sep 2015 Anonymous
  • The staff were polite. However, the tiles in the shower were covered in black mold. The water never became hot, so i had to take a cold shower. The bathroom tiles need to be replaced, it made my shower experience unpleasant.
  • 60%
  • 19 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I was in the room on the first floor. There were so many noisy outside but I can't lock the window. And curtain was too dirty... Don't you wash it? Dryer was in the shower room but suddenly,, it disppeared,, And Hot cake in the morning was good, elevator is too scraying... All staff were great! I think curtains (also in the bathroom) should be changed as soon as possible
  • 66%
  • 14 Sep 2015 Mi Young South Korea
  • An homeless reached our room even if we supposed to show up our keys at the reception, Staff not really friendly or helpful, the toilets, bathroom and rooms were not so clean. It was really expensive for what we had !
  • 46%
  • 12 Sep 2015 Lorena France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »