See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 69% from 91 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 71%Security
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It took about 50 minutes to check into the room. The room I purchased through hostels.com said I would have a private twin share, but when I arrived, there where no private twin shares available. The checking in procedure made for a long uncomfortable process.
  • 63%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Natalie USA
  • Awesome staff, great location. I have been many many times at this same hostel; never a problem. Contact the hostel directly. Hostels.com doesn't check availability and continues making reservations even when the hostel runs out of beds. When I arrived last Friday (6/27/2014) 11:00 PM (with a remark saying I would arrive at that time) a long line of people (showing their reservations) in the street were told that there were no beds left. I could finally got a matress on the floor at 3 AM!!!
  • 91%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • One Restroom for the whole floor and no watertap avaible e.g. to brush teeths. Showers were absolutely unclean as were the rooms. Cracks in the wall and a dirty carpet floor.
  • 46%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Jorma Switzerland
  • Worst hostel ever! Rooms smell like urine, stains on the mattresses, no laundry facilities available, no sinks to brush your teeth (unless you pay extra) and there was only 3showeres in the whole building that actually worked, and they were a cold trickle! We left a day early because it was so bad
  • 46%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Niall
  • Loved the location and that is pretty much it. Facilities are not the greatest ones: there is only 1 washroom for the entire floor with 15 rooms. Rooms lack air conditioning. On the second night staff messed up with reservations and took my belongings to the reception. I was not very pleased finding that out at 1am and the guy in the lobby did feel my rage. Overall you get what you pay for, but I'm sure that you can get something better for same money.
  • 57%
  • 01 Jun 2014 Anonymous Ukraine
  • Very tiny rooms without any shower or toilet - I'm a seasoned hostel traveler and this was a first! This hostel has 3-5 showers and 2-3 toilets per 2 floors! (at least 10 rooms per floor x 4 people per room) - you do the math. No hook for the towel or shelves for the products in your shower cabin. Super small beds - I'm only 175 cm and couldn't stretch out my legs to rest properly - and when I did, my feet would touch the head of another person, because the beds are literally next to each other.
  • 71%
  • 23 May 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • I have not stayed in many hostels, but this one wasn't good. The only positive thing about it is the location, which is central. The hostel has 6 levels, and the elevator is about to break down any second. The room-size is OK. My bed was very uncomfortable. My room had a own bathroom, but the door woldn't lock and there was NO SOAP! There are lockers at the 1st floor, but there wasn't a single one free during my whole stay. Last but not least: don't forget your own towels (and soap)!
  • 54%
  • 16 May 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The only upside to this hostel is how close it is to the transport on Market Street. The area that the hostel is in is a little bit dodgy off Market. Our room was on the 6th floor and it was an oven. We had to leave the door open constantly because the window opened into the hostel rather than actually outside, so there was no fresh air, and no way of turning the heat down. Not very clean, not enough bathrooms, not enough facilities in the kitchen, but very cheap so you get what you pay for.
  • 54%
  • 11 May 2014 Anonymous Scotland
  • Extremely rowdy and noisy late at night with the usual loud drunks screaming or singing along the corridors. And the hostel did nothing to curb or quiet them (I'm sure the receptionists could hear those screaming drunkards). One toilet per floor is definitely insufficient for such a big hostel. In the morning you need to wander from floor to floor looking for a free toilet and when you finally get one, there's no toilet paper.
  • 37%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Renovated 6 floor former Olympic HOtel, now SF International Hostel. Location is perfect, just minutes away from the "Square", Bart transportation, "F" line, Street Car and Tourist information office. The building on the inside could use a little touch up in painting but overall the place is nice. Large dinning room with pool table. Well stocked kitchen if you choose to cook. Elevator. 2nd floor large open lounge with large couches to sit and read. Lending library. Plug ins for you lap-tops.
  • 86%
  • 27 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »