See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 72% from 91 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Two bad points: Probably not enough restroom on each floors. And no breakfast.
  • 77%
  • 13 Apr 2014 Anonymous France
  • I don't have enough of a word count to describe the full terrible experience of this hostel so I will leave a detailed review on trip advisor but do not waste your money staying here! It's filthy, the beds are terrible and the staff that I dealt with couldn't have cares less
  • 37%
  • 01 Apr 2014 GARY England
  • Good location close to Union Square, very good kitchen area and room with pool table which is packed most nights. BYOB was good too. Elevator was slow as hell but that was probably the only downfall.
  • 86%
  • 29 Mar 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Had a great stay - Liked the location and security.
  • 83%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Abdul Haseeb Pakistan
  • If you can stand annoying young tourists you're fine. The place is great but the people that stayed there are a little young and can be immature. Loved the staff, the cleaning lady, everything was fine and good and the breakfast was great, pancakes and coffee.
  • 100%
  • 12 Mar 2014 Mario
  • I enjoyed here so much...
  • 69%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Cheap... but that's what you get. Hair on the blankets, stains on the bedsheets, dirty common rooms.
  • 57%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Giovanna Italy
  • If you're after a budget hostel this place is perfectly fine for the price. Dorms were spacious enough, but the weirdest thing was that there are no (read, ZERO) sinks in any of the bathrooms, only in the rooms themselves, meaning you have to walk back to your room to wash your hands (so bring a small mirror if you intend to shave). Also, only one shower on my floor actually had hot water. Breakfast is all you can eat DIY pancakes, which was fine except it usually left the kitchen pretty messy.
  • 74%
  • 21 Feb 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • It was perfect for the price! Stuff was very friendly and breakfast included!
  • 80%
  • 19 Feb 2014 Madeleine Germany
  • Was a good hostel. All you can eat pancakes were offered all day. And free beer was offered at night to get guests to mingle and get to know each other. The common area wasn't very clean but that was from guests cleaning up after themselves which I thought was rude on the guests behalf. Other than that it's a grea place to stay. In walking distance from shops and union square.
  • 83%
  • 08 Feb 2014 Gemma Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »