See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 73% from 97 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel is in a good location for easy access to public transportation. The building is old but has some character to it. The elevator is old and creepy but it works fine. If it is too creepy, take the stairs. Staff are nice. Free pancakes in the morning if you make them yourself. Bathrooms can be small and you might have to wait to get in sometimes but overall it is reasonable. Clean. Helpful people. Fun atmosphere. Good price.
  • 91%
  • 15 Jul 2015 Joshua USA
  • the room was very small, there was only one shower for the entire floor.
  • 43%
  • 14 Jul 2015 steven Switzerland
  • Great location, but be careful not to go to Tenderloin (right next to the hostel) at night as it is full of homeless and it´s definitely a sketchy area...Apart from that, the location couldn´t be better. Also, the atmosphere of the hostel is absolutely great, from 8pm on the common rooms are full of people from all over the world, it´s super easy to meet people and have a great time...The WORST PART: the staff...very unpleasent sometimes...
  • 80%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Celia Spain
  • Perfect location in downtown. Spacious rooms.
  • 86%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Hung Germany
  • Staff rude, put us in a dirty room, and then acted offended when we wanted a different room. Bathrooms were gross. The sink in the next room was broken and there weren't any sinks in the bathrooms, so had to bottle water and spit into toilet when you wanted to brush your teeth.
  • 43%
  • 28 May 2015 Courtney Canada
  • Good hostel for people who like to make party and get to know new people!
  • 77%
  • 27 May 2015 Anonymous
  • No towels Good location Also we booked a 4 bed female dorm and ended up in a mixed dorm, as it was just for a night it was fine but still not what we paid for
  • 74%
  • 22 May 2015 Caroline France
  • How come you don't borrow towels? So bad there's no lockers in the room. Carpet is old.
  • 63%
  • 09 May 2015 GUSTAVO Mexico
  • I had a very good experience and enjoyed my stay will again if I ever get back to San Francisco...... yeapers.
  • 100%
  • 03 May 2015 Norris USA
  • The common areas are nice. but the bedroom was not that good, the floor is dirty, need to wear slippers all the time. Curtain in the bathroom is unclean. The staffs are nice and helpful tho.
  • 54%
  • 02 May 2015 Anonymous Thailand
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »