See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 69% from 91 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The Hostel is extremelly dirty, the kitchen is awful, always messed up. I was in the 4th floor, there was no sink to wash our hands after going to the bathroom. Only one shower and it was gross! If I knew, I'd never put my feet in there. They charge you before you see the rooms & they also don't refund, they know they're the worst hostel in San Franscisco, and no one would stay there after knowing how things (don't) work there.There's other Hostels way better in the same area & same price.
  • 26%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • good location, nice dinning area, stuff informs you about things going on, just one shower on a floor with a couple big dorms,
  • 69%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • There were no towels in the room, and the only place to charge your electronic devices where in the bathroom. And there were no also no breakfast even though it said so at the time of booking.
  • 66%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • It took about 50 minutes to check into the room. The room I purchased through hostels.com said I would have a private twin share, but when I arrived, there where no private twin shares available. The checking in procedure made for a long uncomfortable process.
  • 63%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Natalie USA
  • Awesome staff, great location. I have been many many times at this same hostel; never a problem. Contact the hostel directly. Hostels.com doesn't check availability and continues making reservations even when the hostel runs out of beds. When I arrived last Friday (6/27/2014) 11:00 PM (with a remark saying I would arrive at that time) a long line of people (showing their reservations) in the street were told that there were no beds left. I could finally got a matress on the floor at 3 AM!!!
  • 91%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • One Restroom for the whole floor and no watertap avaible e.g. to brush teeths. Showers were absolutely unclean as were the rooms. Cracks in the wall and a dirty carpet floor.
  • 46%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Jorma Switzerland
  • I felt the management of this hostel was poor because when I arrived the hosetel, a staff put me in the male room, but I booked a female room. Additionally, since I've been in the hostel, many new customers came to our room although our room was already full. 2 weeks later, I came back to the room, there were two guys sleeping in my room, and they said the staff said this room is mix room, so I went to ask a staff what's happened, but they just told me change a room and gave me a key.
  • 57%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Hikari Japan
  • There was no breakfast just coffee and the floor downstairs in the common room was sticky all the time. Although two girls that shared the room with me left in the morning and two new girls came in the evening noone cleaned the room in the meantime; the stuff didn't even make the bed.
  • 54%
  • 14 Jun 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Worst hostel ever! Rooms smell like urine, stains on the mattresses, no laundry facilities available, no sinks to brush your teeth (unless you pay extra) and there was only 3showeres in the whole building that actually worked, and they were a cold trickle! We left a day early because it was so bad
  • 46%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Niall
  • Loved the location and that is pretty much it. Facilities are not the greatest ones: there is only 1 washroom for the entire floor with 15 rooms. Rooms lack air conditioning. On the second night staff messed up with reservations and took my belongings to the reception. I was not very pleased finding that out at 1am and the guy in the lobby did feel my rage. Overall you get what you pay for, but I'm sure that you can get something better for same money.
  • 57%
  • 01 Jun 2014 Anonymous Ukraine
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »