See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 71% from 90 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Lockers are small and need to be made available to every person in the hostel. When I came all the lockers were occupied. The beds weren't clean and the power sockets weren't working properly.
  • 60%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Anonymous India
  • Totally helpfull staff + clean bathrooms!
  • 89%
  • 02 Sep 2014 Szilvia Hungary
  • staff was very nice!!!! almost no noise !!!
  • 86%
  • 31 Aug 2014 luis rodolfo Guatemala
  • Initially I was a but nervous about staying here having read some poor reviews however I was very happy with my stay. The location was brilliant, right beside some really good shopping areas. The staff were so friendly and helpful with whatever questions I had and they were very knowledgeable about the area and local transportation. One problem was the noise while trying to sleep but that could be expected while staying in a built up, busy area.
  • 83%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Roisin
  • Staff has only one key for lugage storage... And they lost it...
  • 63%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Romain France
  • The location of the hostel was decent. Close to Union Square and downtown, the atmosphere, though, was not. The staff didn't seem to care about the guests and the fact that you had to show your key when entering the door made you feel unwelcome. The rooms very small, dirty and missing general facilities like power outlets, door locks and proper beds without metal rods in the middle which made it hard to sleep. Definitely not a place to meet new people and not a place I will return to.
  • 37%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Anonymous
  • I stayed there with my boyfriend when we went to Outside Lands and we enjoyed the hostel a lot! Well located, and amazing staff. Shout out to Kate for being so sweet and getting us a nice room for our last night. It is cheap and perfect to get that sleep in after a long day of traveling. I highly recommended it! Thank you for the sweet staff that were generous to us!
  • 97%
  • 08 Aug 2014 julie Canada
  • The Hostel is extremelly dirty, the kitchen is awful, always messed up. I was in the 4th floor, there was no sink to wash our hands after going to the bathroom. Only one shower and it was gross! If I knew, I'd never put my feet in there. They charge you before you see the rooms & they also don't refund, they know they're the worst hostel in San Franscisco, and no one would stay there after knowing how things (don't) work there.There's other Hostels way better in the same area & same price.
  • 26%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • good location, nice dinning area, stuff informs you about things going on, just one shower on a floor with a couple big dorms,
  • 69%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • There were no towels in the room, and the only place to charge your electronic devices where in the bathroom. And there were no also no breakfast even though it said so at the time of booking.
  • 66%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Anonymous Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »