See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 70% from 104 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 59%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Perfect location in downtown. Spacious rooms.
  • 86%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Hung Germany
  • Staff rude, put us in a dirty room, and then acted offended when we wanted a different room. Bathrooms were gross. The sink in the next room was broken and there weren't any sinks in the bathrooms, so had to bottle water and spit into toilet when you wanted to brush your teeth.
  • 43%
  • 28 May 2015 Courtney Canada
  • Good hostel for people who like to make party and get to know new people!
  • 77%
  • 27 May 2015 Anonymous
  • No towels Good location Also we booked a 4 bed female dorm and ended up in a mixed dorm, as it was just for a night it was fine but still not what we paid for
  • 74%
  • 22 May 2015 Caroline France
  • How come you don't borrow towels? So bad there's no lockers in the room. Carpet is old.
  • 63%
  • 09 May 2015 GUSTAVO Mexico
  • I had a very good experience and enjoyed my stay will again if I ever get back to San Francisco...... yeapers.
  • 100%
  • 03 May 2015 Norris USA
  • The common areas are nice. but the bedroom was not that good, the floor is dirty, need to wear slippers all the time. Curtain in the bathroom is unclean. The staffs are nice and helpful tho.
  • 54%
  • 02 May 2015 Anonymous Thailand
  • The location is central and close to buses and BART. The staff is willing to explain everything. My friend even left her lap top in the room and everything was fine. I had a 4 bed female room with a bathroom and it was ok but i gave poor mark for cleanness because the bathroom in the hall had a very bad smell and felt in our room. There were no activities or fun. People in the common room were on lap tops and phones all the time,nothing happened there,no fun. Wi fi is very poor.
  • 66%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Zeljka Nana Montenegro
  • This was the worst Hostel experience that I have ever had. The hostel is very old and it really needs a renovation. The beds was not comfy. It was not possible to get fresh air in to the room. And it was not possible to wash or clean your hands at the restroom so it was very unhygienic. Besides this the breakfast consisted of pancakes and to me this is not considered a real breakfast. The managers in the lobby were nice and there was a high level of security.
  • 49%
  • 24 Apr 2015 Anonymous Denmark
  • It shocked me terrible bed sounds but location is good.
  • 57%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »