See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 69% from 94 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very tiny rooms without any shower or toilet - I'm a seasoned hostel traveler and this was a first! This hostel has 3-5 showers and 2-3 toilets per 2 floors! (at least 10 rooms per floor x 4 people per room) - you do the math. No hook for the towel or shelves for the products in your shower cabin. Super small beds - I'm only 175 cm and couldn't stretch out my legs to rest properly - and when I did, my feet would touch the head of another person, because the beds are literally next to each other.
  • 71%
  • 23 May 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • I have not stayed in many hostels, but this one wasn't good. The only positive thing about it is the location, which is central. The hostel has 6 levels, and the elevator is about to break down any second. The room-size is OK. My bed was very uncomfortable. My room had a own bathroom, but the door woldn't lock and there was NO SOAP! There are lockers at the 1st floor, but there wasn't a single one free during my whole stay. Last but not least: don't forget your own towels (and soap)!
  • 54%
  • 16 May 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The only upside to this hostel is how close it is to the transport on Market Street. The area that the hostel is in is a little bit dodgy off Market. Our room was on the 6th floor and it was an oven. We had to leave the door open constantly because the window opened into the hostel rather than actually outside, so there was no fresh air, and no way of turning the heat down. Not very clean, not enough bathrooms, not enough facilities in the kitchen, but very cheap so you get what you pay for.
  • 54%
  • 11 May 2014 Anonymous Scotland
  • Extremely rowdy and noisy late at night with the usual loud drunks screaming or singing along the corridors. And the hostel did nothing to curb or quiet them (I'm sure the receptionists could hear those screaming drunkards). One toilet per floor is definitely insufficient for such a big hostel. In the morning you need to wander from floor to floor looking for a free toilet and when you finally get one, there's no toilet paper.
  • 37%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Renovated 6 floor former Olympic HOtel, now SF International Hostel. Location is perfect, just minutes away from the "Square", Bart transportation, "F" line, Street Car and Tourist information office. The building on the inside could use a little touch up in painting but overall the place is nice. Large dinning room with pool table. Well stocked kitchen if you choose to cook. Elevator. 2nd floor large open lounge with large couches to sit and read. Lending library. Plug ins for you lap-tops.
  • 86%
  • 27 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Why operate on a no refund policy even if one stays for > 5 days with them. This is very strange since travel plans change all the time.
  • 40%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Anonymous India
  • You got what you pay for.. cheap with a very nice location but dirty and you can't expect anything from the staffs. If you don't care about this things, you will be fine! They have locker but always full.
  • 57%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • The bathrooms were extremely dirty. There were no hand sinks in the bathrooms, and when I asked a staff member (pretty sure he was a volunteer, working for board), he was rude and un-polite.
  • 54%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Might seem a little harsh, but other than the excellent location, my stay here was worse than pretty much any Hostel I've been to before (travelling since August last year), the building apparently used to be a Hotel and is just not designed for so many backpackers.. -the size of the kitchen cimpared to the amount of rooms is kind of pathetic -showers often lukewarm at best -Hostel (especially showers/restrooms) seemed rather dirty +Location is awesome +Staff was very nice
  • 63%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Anonymous
  • Location is not bad. But room is so small and don't have any locker. the bathroom always be occupy, they should make more bathrooms and restrooms. The plug in room only one, Bad. Kitchen is dirty. The only good thing is I meet some awesome people there. Let my trip got amazing.
  • 57%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »