See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 72% from 99 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Advertising free breakfast then offering nothing more than pancake mix is very poor. Very few bathrooms, only 1 shower on most floors - bear in mind that each floor has approximately 15 rooms of 4. The use of plastic cutlery and plates and polystyrene cups is terrible, both environmentally unsound and wasteful. Only 3 or 4 sets of metal cutlery in the entire place.
  • 60%
  • 11 Mar 2015 Joe Wales
  • awesome location and atmosphere. it's just a little noisy, plus super strange that there are no sinks in the bathrooms, but individual sinks in the bedrooms...... weird.
  • 80%
  • 10 Mar 2015 Anonymous Singapore
  • Everything was fine. I liked the free breakfast and water. But one thing that was disappointing is I couldn't use a WiFi in my room.
  • 71%
  • 08 Mar 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • The staff were great! Very busy, but very nice! I stayed the night of the Chinese New Year Parade. Floors are in the European style-ground floor=1st floor, 2nd floor=1st floor. In the common room by the kitchen other guests were enjoying the pool table and welcomed me into their conversations. I did not experience the “quiet” lounge on the “1st floor”. It is a young, fun crowd. The room was very standard+a wash basin, but I prefer one in the loo, even a toilet tank sink would have been nice.
  • 77%
  • 07 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The staff member named Lee was really helpful and nice! Always smiling 😊
  • 74%
  • 06 Mar 2015 Dortea Dencker Denmark
  • Overall a great stay and great busy location. Near lots of good resturants shops and lots of transport links for all over the city.... Great friendly and helpful staff.. only thing that I would say slightly let this place down is there is only one shower per floor for an awful lot of people to share, having said that I didn't have to wait to long to use it in the mornings. Also our room smelt abit sweaty could do with a good air out Matresses where quite thin.I. would stay here again
  • 66%
  • 02 Mar 2015 Callum England
  • The Shower wasn't good and also the beds where horrible. But the common rooms have been very good. There was tee and coffee for free. Unfortunately the free pancakes was only till 9am for free.
  • 89%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Kilian Germany
  • Clean place. Awesome free ancakes. It was safe and accessible. Highly recommend thathe SF International Hostel.
  • 86%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I had a great experience in the hostel, this was my first time in a hostel and I will recommended to friends a lot, I think nothing is perfect but many things can improve like a clean in the bathroom or sometimes showers don't working good, but in general my experience was amazing, thanks to the staff to very kind with me.
  • 91%
  • 15 Jan 2015 julio Guatemala
  • This was my first time staying in a hostel and I was impressed by the value. They had a free pizza and beer nights over the weekend and provided free ready-made pancake mix each morning. I wouldn't have expected them to feed us in addition to housing us, so I felt that was a nice add-on. I went in with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised; for the people who leave reviews complaining about the accommodations - what do you expect for $18/night?
  • 94%
  • 10 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »