See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 68% from 96 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Extremely rowdy and noisy late at night with the usual loud drunks screaming or singing along the corridors. And the hostel did nothing to curb or quiet them (I'm sure the receptionists could hear those screaming drunkards). One toilet per floor is definitely insufficient for such a big hostel. In the morning you need to wander from floor to floor looking for a free toilet and when you finally get one, there's no toilet paper.
  • 37%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Renovated 6 floor former Olympic HOtel, now SF International Hostel. Location is perfect, just minutes away from the "Square", Bart transportation, "F" line, Street Car and Tourist information office. The building on the inside could use a little touch up in painting but overall the place is nice. Large dinning room with pool table. Well stocked kitchen if you choose to cook. Elevator. 2nd floor large open lounge with large couches to sit and read. Lending library. Plug ins for you lap-tops.
  • 86%
  • 27 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Why operate on a no refund policy even if one stays for > 5 days with them. This is very strange since travel plans change all the time.
  • 40%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Anonymous India
  • You got what you pay for.. cheap with a very nice location but dirty and you can't expect anything from the staffs. If you don't care about this things, you will be fine! They have locker but always full.
  • 57%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Lots of the toilets were broken. The female shower was disgusting. The kitchen was very poorly held and the knives were dull. But there were pool. And the staff wasn't very helpful.
  • 49%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Signe Kristine Denmark
  • The bathrooms were extremely dirty. There were no hand sinks in the bathrooms, and when I asked a staff member (pretty sure he was a volunteer, working for board), he was rude and un-polite.
  • 54%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Might seem a little harsh, but other than the excellent location, my stay here was worse than pretty much any Hostel I've been to before (travelling since August last year), the building apparently used to be a Hotel and is just not designed for so many backpackers.. -the size of the kitchen cimpared to the amount of rooms is kind of pathetic -showers often lukewarm at best -Hostel (especially showers/restrooms) seemed rather dirty +Location is awesome +Staff was very nice
  • 63%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Anonymous
  • Location is not bad. But room is so small and don't have any locker. the bathroom always be occupy, they should make more bathrooms and restrooms. The plug in room only one, Bad. Kitchen is dirty. The only good thing is I meet some awesome people there. Let my trip got amazing.
  • 57%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous China
  • Two bad points: Probably not enough restroom on each floors. And no breakfast.
  • 77%
  • 13 Apr 2014 Anonymous France
  • I don't have enough of a word count to describe the full terrible experience of this hostel so I will leave a detailed review on trip advisor but do not waste your money staying here! It's filthy, the beds are terrible and the staff that I dealt with couldn't have cares less
  • 37%
  • 01 Apr 2014 GARY England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »