See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 69% from 113 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 57%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location is central and close to buses and BART. The staff is willing to explain everything. My friend even left her lap top in the room and everything was fine. I had a 4 bed female room with a bathroom and it was ok but i gave poor mark for cleanness because the bathroom in the hall had a very bad smell and felt in our room. There were no activities or fun. People in the common room were on lap tops and phones all the time,nothing happened there,no fun. Wi fi is very poor.
  • 66%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Zeljka Nana Montenegro
  • This was the worst Hostel experience that I have ever had. The hostel is very old and it really needs a renovation. The beds was not comfy. It was not possible to get fresh air in to the room. And it was not possible to wash or clean your hands at the restroom so it was very unhygienic. Besides this the breakfast consisted of pancakes and to me this is not considered a real breakfast. The managers in the lobby were nice and there was a high level of security.
  • 49%
  • 24 Apr 2015 Anonymous Denmark
  • It shocked me terrible bed sounds but location is good.
  • 57%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Booked a 4 person dorm w/ private bathroom while attending a conference around the corner. Cheaper than anything else in the area. Had to ask for bathroom to be cleaned and shower repaired. Room was cold, beds had thin foam pads for mattresses. Linens were random, old, icky. Towels cost $5. Luggage room was constantly left open, and the code was posted publicly - not secure. At the edge of the Tenderloin - bad neighborhood. Communal kitchen is nice. Don't recommend.
  • 60%
  • 15 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • No heat. No extra blanket available. Dangerous drop off to the right of reception desk. Fell and fractured leg.
  • 40%
  • 13 Apr 2015 Robert USA
  • Really friendly staff at the front desk. Was disappointed that they used polystyrene cups and plates, but think they're getting that sorted ;)
  • 77%
  • 06 Apr 2015 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Excellent staff! Thanks for the great service.
  • 60%
  • 29 Mar 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • It's well located, just a few blocks from where the trolleys, cable car and buses come and go from the major spots. Near you have some cheap grocery stores. Good hostel, but the rooms have no window or its an internal one so you have little fresh aire to dry tour clothes.
  • 71%
  • 28 Mar 2015 Anonymous Uruguay
  • Location is perfect. Sometimes there are problems with cleaning of public areas, and the floor in the dining area is often dirty, or it is impossible to enter the restroom. The stuff is rather helpful.
  • 60%
  • 23 Mar 2015 Anonymous Russia
  • I like the location. Location was good ! but it wasn't clean ..,
  • 60%
  • 20 Mar 2015 AYOUNG South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »