See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 69% from 90 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was perfect for the price! Stuff was very friendly and breakfast included!
  • 80%
  • 19 Feb 2014 Madeleine Germany
  • Was a good hostel. All you can eat pancakes were offered all day. And free beer was offered at night to get guests to mingle and get to know each other. The common area wasn't very clean but that was from guests cleaning up after themselves which I thought was rude on the guests behalf. Other than that it's a grea place to stay. In walking distance from shops and union square.
  • 83%
  • 08 Feb 2014 Gemma Australia
  • Friendly staff and quick check in. Unlimited pancakes and free beer were a plus too. Close to Market st for shopping. Enjoyable hostel experience overall.
  • 74%
  • 01 Feb 2014 Anonymous
  • Loved and enjoyed my stay greatly! The free beer at 9:30 to the awesome and friendly staff that give out towels whenever you need them--I can say that I loved this place. Great location in Tenderloin. Homelessness problem outside but location to public transportation is so valuable. I heard other hostels have it worse...
  • 86%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Michael USA
  • I like their atmosphere even though it was an antiquated building at the corner of small street. I like there because it was close to Powell station. At first time I felt that it is expensive, but most of hostels in San Francisco are pretty expensive. Actually I tried to change to different hostel, but others are not worthy. Ah! Their breakfast was awesome! Bagels with different kinds of Jam, Toasts, orange juice, coffee, and amazing oatmeal! One thing that I didn't like about them was wifi.
  • 74%
  • 16 Jan 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The first day the staff was super friendly and I felt very welcome. On the last day the staff changed and they could really improve their friendliness!
  • 74%
  • 14 Jan 2014 Julia Germany
  • I stayed several times, the atmosphere is really nice and really favorable to get to know other travelers. The neighborhood is a little bit sketchy because of the homeless people but convenient because it's really close to market street. My stay finished on a really sad note. I was checking out on Saturday at 10 am and I got kicked out of my room at 3am because of a mistake from the front desk, I wasn't suppose to be in the room I was in at the first place. Really disappointed with their method.
  • 69%
  • 11 Jan 2014 Anonymous France
  • Nice hostel, although there are no sinks in the bathrooms. Instead they are in the dorms, which is sort of gross. Other than that they have a party basement where they offer free beer every night, although the party basement in itself is perhaps not the cleanest part of the hostel, it was nice anyway.
  • 71%
  • 10 Jan 2014 Daniel Sweden
  • some of the staff is not friendly
  • 74%
  • 03 Jan 2014 zhuanyu China
  • Perfect, very kind staff, very clean room and bathroom, well located. Parking is convenient but $20 a day. Kitchen was not very clean but this was not the hostel's staff's fault, just some other guest's I guess. But I recommend this hostel!
  • 89%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Charlotte Pascale Didier France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »