See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 73% from 93 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • there is nothing for say, just i can say worst.
  • 34%
  • 12 Nov 2013 Anonymous Turkey
  • Bed bugs. Staff who couldn't handle their jobs, homeless people coming in and out, kind of grimy, ok price though, however in Mexico a dump like this would be $5per night - max
  • 23%
  • 11 Nov 2013 Lukas
  • a very good kitchen with free drinks and pancake materials, that's really good, and also parties, it is great!
  • 80%
  • 10 Nov 2013 lulin China
  • great location! the staffs are really polite and nice
  • 86%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
  • -Dirty AND didn't see anyone cleaning at anytime...normally in a hostel you always see a cleaning lady at one point in your stay. -The bed was not confy at all (even for a hostel). -The rooms are not convenient (the bathroom is dirty, no light close to your bed, no plugs, you have to make your own bed) -The neighborhood is sketchy, i walked alone a didn't fell safe (i'm used to traveling alone) I normally LOVE staying in a hostel, this one was very dirty and no fun.
  • 49%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Lea
  • I LOVED my stay at the San francisco international Hostel, i met some amazing travellers and had a blast. The staff are very caring and helpful and of course theres Free pancakes offered all day. At night theres always a party full of awesomeness :D
  • 80%
  • 20 Oct 2013 Bek Australia
  • The staff are really friendly and helpful. The locationn of the hostel is amazing, downtown SF. Everything is very clean and they have breakfast all day. The beds werent so good but nothing too bad. I would definitely recommend it.
  • 86%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Anonymous Chile
  • The first room they gave me smelled like someone had pissed on the floor. Then they proceeded to give me keys to rooms that were already occupied. They had absolutely no overview of the availability of the beds. I asked for a refund, since they weren't able to allocate me to a room, and they refused: they have a no refund policy. After two hours they found a room. It was okay, but not clean. However, when I came back in the night, someone was sleeping in my bed. The staff seemed on drugs.
  • 43%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Anonymous Denmark
  • It´s all about location: just 2 blocks from de Powell Station, Cable Car, Westfield Mall and farmacies. Facilities are also good: free internet, coffee and tea. But the place is not clean at all. When I checked in I received a linnen to make my own bed, no towel at all. No marked beds so I had to choose the "less dirty" of them - all beds had some kind of hair. The bathrooms out of the room were ok. The place is noisy - every night at 9pm somebody screamed in a microphone "FREE BEER!", but cheap
  • 66%
  • 08 Oct 2013 BRUNA Brazil
  • Great location in the centre of San fran
  • 49%
  • 20 Aug 2013 Katherine England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »