See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 69% from 111 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 57%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everything was fine. I liked the free breakfast and water. But one thing that was disappointing is I couldn't use a WiFi in my room.
  • 71%
  • 08 Mar 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • The staff were great! Very busy, but very nice! I stayed the night of the Chinese New Year Parade. Floors are in the European style-ground floor=1st floor, 2nd floor=1st floor. In the common room by the kitchen other guests were enjoying the pool table and welcomed me into their conversations. I did not experience the “quiet” lounge on the “1st floor”. It is a young, fun crowd. The room was very standard+a wash basin, but I prefer one in the loo, even a toilet tank sink would have been nice.
  • 77%
  • 07 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The staff member named Lee was really helpful and nice! Always smiling 😊
  • 74%
  • 06 Mar 2015 Dortea Dencker Denmark
  • Overall a great stay and great busy location. Near lots of good resturants shops and lots of transport links for all over the city.... Great friendly and helpful staff.. only thing that I would say slightly let this place down is there is only one shower per floor for an awful lot of people to share, having said that I didn't have to wait to long to use it in the mornings. Also our room smelt abit sweaty could do with a good air out Matresses where quite thin.I. would stay here again
  • 66%
  • 02 Mar 2015 Callum England
  • The Shower wasn't good and also the beds where horrible. But the common rooms have been very good. There was tee and coffee for free. Unfortunately the free pancakes was only till 9am for free.
  • 89%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Kilian Germany
  • Clean place. Awesome free ancakes. It was safe and accessible. Highly recommend thathe SF International Hostel.
  • 86%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I had a great experience in the hostel, this was my first time in a hostel and I will recommended to friends a lot, I think nothing is perfect but many things can improve like a clean in the bathroom or sometimes showers don't working good, but in general my experience was amazing, thanks to the staff to very kind with me.
  • 91%
  • 15 Jan 2015 julio Guatemala
  • This was my first time staying in a hostel and I was impressed by the value. They had a free pizza and beer nights over the weekend and provided free ready-made pancake mix each morning. I wouldn't have expected them to feed us in addition to housing us, so I felt that was a nice add-on. I went in with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised; for the people who leave reviews complaining about the accommodations - what do you expect for $18/night?
  • 94%
  • 10 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Showers were horrible. The water pressure was horrendous as was the water temperature - it was either too hot, or there was no hot water at all. One point, i ran the cold water tap for a while, and it just came out hot water. I could not be in showers for too long for I feared my skin would eventually burn off. On the morning of check-out, we saw a cockroach run across our room. No lockers in rooms either. Wifi wasn't the best. Location, however, was a plus! And there was a cold water filter!
  • 69%
  • 09 Jan 2015 David Australia
  • The building is old, the elevator is really slow and allow just two people. They give me a room really small (much smaller than the ones that they take the photos to use here) and when I asked to change the room, the staff just told me that there is no other room available, but my friends who were in other rooms told me that always there was available vacancy at their rooms (which were bigger than my and the same price).
  • 51%
  • 27 Dec 2014 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »