See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 73% from 93 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel was a lot of fun! The staff was very nice and helpful. Lastly, it was in a pretty good area very close to public transport.
  • 83%
  • 09 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel overall is really fun and awesome for meeting new people, the location is really good.
  • 69%
  • 04 Jun 2013 Ariane Brazil
  • Nice staff and lively atmosphere, but everything smelled like pee.
  • 54%
  • 01 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Loved the free beer/parties they put on every night. Hostel wasn't in the safest location though, so be careful!
  • 80%
  • 31 May 2013 Anonymous England
  • Ideal location, right downtown by the BART. Free beer (limited) going every night gets the night going usually
  • 89%
  • 30 May 2013 John Ireland
  • I thought the hostel manager was just a wild party person but he actually cares about everyone who stays in the hostel. I unexpectedly missed the flight and didn't know what to do so went back to the hostel. But the place was completely booked and it was closed to midnight so I didn't have anywhere to go. The manager could say NO but he played around their reservations and made me a room to stay one more night. I can't imagine what I would've done if he didn't help me out. So, thank you!
  • 100%
  • 24 May 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • I enjoyed it very much. Recommend it for sure!
  • 94%
  • 14 May 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Great hostel!
  • 86%
  • 03 May 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Not clean , shower had hair all over floor Cleaners took my shoes! Asked staff several times what they could do and went unanswered till new staff member came in and actually listened and eventually they were found but after pestering them for 2 days
  • 54%
  • 30 Apr 2013 Sarah Australia
  • Bathrooms were clean, which is the most important thing for me. My room wasn't the cleanest I've stayed in, but good enough. Great location. Overall a good option for hostels in San Francisco.
  • 83%
  • 28 Apr 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »