See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 68% from 97 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 69%Security
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 58%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel is the cheapest one in San Francisco. I liked it because you meet people really quick there because of the partys in the evening. You get pancakes the whole day for free. Coffee and water, too. To my mind it was a good deal. BUT you can not expect that everything is perfect cleaned for a cheap hostel like this, if you only pay 17-20 dollars. All in all I would say.. it is only a hostel. You sleep there and that's all. ..and you join the partys in the evening.
  • 83%
  • 22 Dec 2013 Julia Germany
  • As camas são muito ruins, mas a localização e o preço sao excelentes.
  • 74%
  • 11 Dec 2013 Matheus Brazil
  • Really awesome for the price
  • 86%
  • 09 Dec 2013 Samuel USA
  • BED BUCKS! Don't go to this hostel. I have bites everywhere,never experienced anything like this in any hostel where I have been. There was also only was one shower for the whole floor, and there were like 50 people staying in the floor. That was outrageous. Only good thing I can come up up to is the location.
  • 43%
  • 28 Nov 2013 Ella Finland
  • Backpacker hostel .... Cheap but really NOT clean at all. The list of black dots would be too long, but I guess you should come here if on a small budget and don't mind and don't care about anything else .....
  • 51%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Anonymous Belgium
  • It was really cold. I think they don't have a heater inside the dorm. I almost cough a cold.
  • 83%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • They say "breakfast included" but there are just pencakes which you can cook for youself.
  • 77%
  • 19 Nov 2013 Pia Switzerland
  • I would reccomend this place only if you're very tight on money, otherwise I'd say spend the extra $7-$10 and pick another place. There were very few bathrooms, and they were disgusting. They seem to give out keys without checking to see to see if that particular room is already full.
  • 46%
  • 16 Nov 2013 francisco USA
  • IT REALLY EASY TO SAY, THIS HOSTEL IS THE BEST I KNOW, THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING...
  • 100%
  • 16 Nov 2013 LUIS FERNANDO Mexico
  • My friends and I thought this hostel was very disgusting. It was not clean at all. There are also no refunds given. You get what you pay for.
  • 54%
  • 14 Nov 2013 Arlene USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »