See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 68% from 96 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • BED BUCKS! Don't go to this hostel. I have bites everywhere,never experienced anything like this in any hostel where I have been. There was also only was one shower for the whole floor, and there were like 50 people staying in the floor. That was outrageous. Only good thing I can come up up to is the location.
  • 43%
  • 28 Nov 2013 Ella Finland
  • Backpacker hostel .... Cheap but really NOT clean at all. The list of black dots would be too long, but I guess you should come here if on a small budget and don't mind and don't care about anything else .....
  • 51%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Anonymous Belgium
  • It was really cold. I think they don't have a heater inside the dorm. I almost cough a cold.
  • 83%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • They say "breakfast included" but there are just pencakes which you can cook for youself.
  • 77%
  • 19 Nov 2013 Pia Switzerland
  • I would reccomend this place only if you're very tight on money, otherwise I'd say spend the extra $7-$10 and pick another place. There were very few bathrooms, and they were disgusting. They seem to give out keys without checking to see to see if that particular room is already full.
  • 46%
  • 16 Nov 2013 francisco USA
  • IT REALLY EASY TO SAY, THIS HOSTEL IS THE BEST I KNOW, THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING...
  • 100%
  • 16 Nov 2013 LUIS FERNANDO Mexico
  • My friends and I thought this hostel was very disgusting. It was not clean at all. There are also no refunds given. You get what you pay for.
  • 54%
  • 14 Nov 2013 Arlene USA
  • Very dirty and uncomfortable. The windows are not able to open, there is no air conditioning or bathroom-air circulation after showering, it's very noisy and there is no space to put stuff away - neither in the bathroom nor the actually room). The hostel is located in the center of SF and you can reach everything pretty fast, but also all the bad areas which is kind of scary as soon as you leave the hostel. Won't stay there again, but for 20$/night I guess you can't complain too much.
  • 51%
  • 14 Nov 2013 Anna-Lena Germany
  • there is nothing for say, just i can say worst.
  • 34%
  • 12 Nov 2013 Anonymous Turkey
  • Bed bugs. Staff who couldn't handle their jobs, homeless people coming in and out, kind of grimy, ok price though, however in Mexico a dump like this would be $5per night - max
  • 23%
  • 11 Nov 2013 Lukas
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »