See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 69% from 111 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 57%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I really enjoyed staying in this hostel. The staff really work hard to have everything going properly. I even had the opportunity to volunteer and stay there for free. It was a really good experience.
  • 89%
  • 22 Dec 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Closed to everywhere
  • 86%
  • 19 Dec 2014 Frans Judea Indonesia
  • Bed frame needed a board for more stability. The springs were breaking in spots and poked me in the back
  • 77%
  • 16 Dec 2014 Susan USA
  • I enjoyed staying at this hostel and overall felt satisfyed with the value for the price. However, the bathrooms were quite dirty and the showers and toilets were often clogged, so I would only recommend this hostel to my more adventurous friends. Also, the stains on the mattresses were quite off-putting. If I worked there, my next investment would be washable mattress covers. My only other gripe was that there was a window in my room which led out into an empty space, which I found creepy.
  • 77%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Sage USA
  • Great place, good beds and a very nice common area !
  • 100%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Linn Sweden
  • This hostel was perfect for me. Amazing location, nice staff, clean rooms. I loved breakfasts - pancakes with chocolate chips (Oh my gosh - delicious). And one surprise for me - it is small hostel but it has an elevator. :D
  • 94%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Jana Czech Republic
  • Great experience. Thank you!
  • 100%
  • 27 Oct 2014 Anonymous Armenia
  • Loved it! The best hostel that I've stayed in in the states so far, and I've stayed at a lot. I highly recommend! Just be open to chatting with new people and you'll have a blast.
  • 94%
  • 25 Oct 2014 Aneta New Zealand
  • I don't know why people left such negative reviews i thought this place was amazing
  • 91%
  • 18 Oct 2014 khadija Pakistan
  • Really good hostel. Friendly staff, close to bus stations, free water and clean bedrooms. I would stay there again.
  • 91%
  • 17 Oct 2014 Bianca Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »