See other San Francisco properties

San Francisco International Hostel

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 71% from 90 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Friendly staff and quick check in. Unlimited pancakes and free beer were a plus too. Close to Market st for shopping. Enjoyable hostel experience overall.
  • 74%
  • 01 Feb 2014 Anonymous
  • Loved and enjoyed my stay greatly! The free beer at 9:30 to the awesome and friendly staff that give out towels whenever you need them--I can say that I loved this place. Great location in Tenderloin. Homelessness problem outside but location to public transportation is so valuable. I heard other hostels have it worse...
  • 86%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Michael USA
  • I like their atmosphere even though it was an antiquated building at the corner of small street. I like there because it was close to Powell station. At first time I felt that it is expensive, but most of hostels in San Francisco are pretty expensive. Actually I tried to change to different hostel, but others are not worthy. Ah! Their breakfast was awesome! Bagels with different kinds of Jam, Toasts, orange juice, coffee, and amazing oatmeal! One thing that I didn't like about them was wifi.
  • 74%
  • 16 Jan 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The first day the staff was super friendly and I felt very welcome. On the last day the staff changed and they could really improve their friendliness!
  • 74%
  • 14 Jan 2014 Julia Germany
  • I stayed several times, the atmosphere is really nice and really favorable to get to know other travelers. The neighborhood is a little bit sketchy because of the homeless people but convenient because it's really close to market street. My stay finished on a really sad note. I was checking out on Saturday at 10 am and I got kicked out of my room at 3am because of a mistake from the front desk, I wasn't suppose to be in the room I was in at the first place. Really disappointed with their method.
  • 69%
  • 11 Jan 2014 Anonymous France
  • Nice hostel, although there are no sinks in the bathrooms. Instead they are in the dorms, which is sort of gross. Other than that they have a party basement where they offer free beer every night, although the party basement in itself is perhaps not the cleanest part of the hostel, it was nice anyway.
  • 71%
  • 10 Jan 2014 Daniel Sweden
  • some of the staff is not friendly
  • 74%
  • 03 Jan 2014 zhuanyu China
  • Perfect, very kind staff, very clean room and bathroom, well located. Parking is convenient but $20 a day. Kitchen was not very clean but this was not the hostel's staff's fault, just some other guest's I guess. But I recommend this hostel!
  • 89%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Charlotte Pascale Didier France
  • very good.
  • 86%
  • 23 Dec 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • This hostel is the cheapest one in San Francisco. I liked it because you meet people really quick there because of the partys in the evening. You get pancakes the whole day for free. Coffee and water, too. To my mind it was a good deal. BUT you can not expect that everything is perfect cleaned for a cheap hostel like this, if you only pay 17-20 dollars. All in all I would say.. it is only a hostel. You sleep there and that's all. ..and you join the partys in the evening.
  • 83%
  • 22 Dec 2013 Julia Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »