See other San Juan properties

San Juan International Hostel

1452 Calle America Parada 20, Urb. Hipodromo, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 4.5km

Rating: 82% from 19 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My stay at SJIH was awesome! I made good friends, I saw great sights, I had ample opportunity to relax. The hostel was comfortable and walking distance to a lot of the places I wanted to go. I visited Las Placitas and the beaches at Condado and Old San Juan, all walking distance (a bit longer for Old San Juan, but manageable). Kitchen for cooking and multiple common areas. Great vibe. 10/10 would do it again!
  • 100%
  • 04 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • quiet , secure, and owner very accommodating.good values
  • 77%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Heriberto USA
  • The owner, Francisco, was very helpful about the area and the hostel. He has a map of the area and step by step instructions to get to anything you want. He answers all your questions and was willing to give you the inside scoop on the local venues.
  • 97%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Samantha USA
  • Francisco was just AWESOME! :) Thanks, Francisco for being so helpful & flexible with our schedule!
  • 80%
  • 06 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Giant cockroaches everywhere, they climbed on me when I was sleeping ...owner yells and gets really aggressive if he sees you at the hostel between 11;30 and 3 pm (the hostel is shut down between those hours for cleaning) it was ridiculous! He is a very unpleasant man, once at 11:40 he saw me in my bed (my stomach was hurting) he yelled at me very badly and threatened to evict me if I did not leave immediately, so I had to drag myself from the bed to the streets, horrible experience!
    Owner Comment

    Due to hostel rules + this guest bad behavior WE were forced to cancel this guest' remaining reservations. We have no other comments. We contract #1 Exterminating Company in Puerto Rico for keeping our place clean.

  • 23%
  • 27 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Francisco is helpful and willing to help me with any problems. People in the dorms are nice, too.
  • 77%
  • 24 May 2015 Anonymous China
  • Awesome place with a very friendly and helpful owner and staff. Great ambiance.
  • 100%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Raul Mexico
  • While the drive in to the location can seem a little icky, I promise you it's worth it. All of the rooms are very clean, with new sheets, and the common areas are kept pretty tidy. The staff is very helpful, whether that be with how to travel to Old San Juan and the beach, or just general information about Puerto Rico. Check in and check out were easy, and I never felt bored or in any sort of danger while I was staying here.
  • 94%
  • 21 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Had a blast! Place is clean and seemed secure with all the doors and gates on every step. First night there the owner got bunch of pizza for everyone! All the restrictions they have there are for guests' safety, so they never really bothered anyone.
  • 89%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Taras Ukraine
  • The place is fine, what one expects when one visits a nice hostel. I appreciated the helpful information posted on the board. $7 was pretty steep too wash and dry a load of clothes, though. But otherwise, the staff was friendly and the accommodations lived-in clean. The layout and architecture of the dwelling is lovely. I'd stay again.
  • 71%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Rouillie USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »