See other San Juan properties

San Juan International Hostel

1452 Calle America Parada 20, Urb. Hipodromo, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 4.5km

Rating: 82% from 19 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Awesome place with a very friendly and helpful owner and staff. Great ambiance.
  • 100%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Raul Mexico
  • While the drive in to the location can seem a little icky, I promise you it's worth it. All of the rooms are very clean, with new sheets, and the common areas are kept pretty tidy. The staff is very helpful, whether that be with how to travel to Old San Juan and the beach, or just general information about Puerto Rico. Check in and check out were easy, and I never felt bored or in any sort of danger while I was staying here.
  • 94%
  • 21 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Had a blast! Place is clean and seemed secure with all the doors and gates on every step. First night there the owner got bunch of pizza for everyone! All the restrictions they have there are for guests' safety, so they never really bothered anyone.
  • 89%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Taras Ukraine
  • The place is fine, what one expects when one visits a nice hostel. I appreciated the helpful information posted on the board. $7 was pretty steep too wash and dry a load of clothes, though. But otherwise, the staff was friendly and the accommodations lived-in clean. The layout and architecture of the dwelling is lovely. I'd stay again.
  • 71%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Rouillie USA
  • The owner is friendly and informative. While I was there, I observed that he was very helpful to another guest whose things were stolen while on a day trip outside of San Juan. This hostel is a converted residence, not a hotel, so travelers should have reasonable expectations. The laid-back atmosphere is conducive to making new acquaintances. The neighborhood does not have the police presence that the tourist areas have, but it does not seem dangerous.
  • 80%
  • 30 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We enjoyed our stay; thank you to SJIH!
  • 86%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The owner was wonderful and super helpful with showing us around and answering all our questions. Unfortunately the location was a bit difficult. We took mostly taxis and they never knew how to get there so we had to call the hostel each time we went back for the night. There are hot showers and although the room was a bit crowded, it did the job. Overall a decent experience if you don't mind being away from the more touristy areas.
  • 71%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very chill, just what I was looking for while passing through San Juan. Helpful staff, comfy bed, and convenient location.
  • 89%
  • 19 May 2014 Tatiana USA
  • Fantastic place, not in a very touristy spot though. Very safe neighborhood, lots of families. Staff is super friendly. I've stayed here a half dozen times, and never had a bad trip. That said, not a lot to do in the immediate vicinity.
  • 97%
  • 28 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »