See other London properties

Sandeman Allen

40 Inverness Terrace, London, England, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 75% from 20 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A lot of long term residents here, but temporary traveler can still mingle with them during the breakfast and dinner times. I can't think of any negative points in regarding to facilities, location, security except the receptionists working there.Please note Management,Jakob is an excellent receptionist that went above and beyond in helping me,but a thin Spanish guy with glasses always had a bad attitude in even answering a simple question. He forgets he is in customer service position perhaps.
  • 83%
  • 14 Feb 2016 Anonymous Malaysia
  • Location is very convenient (1min from Hyde Park and underground, 20mins to Oxford Street or Notting Hill). Skip the meal deals as they are like caferia meals and you need to stick to certain times (varies between weekend and week). No locker in 3 bed female dorm. Check in took forever and receptionist was not helpful at all when I told him I was in a serious hurry. Showers are outside of rooms in separate corridor next to elevator.
  • 66%
  • 18 Dec 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Staff was very friendly except for one of the very rude night porters. Location is good, next to train and bus stops.
  • 80%
  • 07 Jul 2015 Benton USA
  • Was not forewarned that I would be sharing a dorm with two permanent residents. The people were nice enough but I felt uncomfortable, as though I were crashing in a strangers bedroom rather than in a backpacker hostel. The whole place seemed geared more towards permanent, older residents. Very odd atmosphere, the bathrooms were dirty, run down and the toilet flushes did not work. Would not recommend to other backpackers, and don't think it should really be advertised as a hostel at all.
  • 54%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Joni Netherlands
  • I only stayed one night here, so it was good enough for what I needed. Dorm style rooms, closets with locks. The shower was a bit weird to get used to, but it was fine.
  • 80%
  • 29 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I was lucky to get a decent price. But the mattress I got could be changed, I could feel the springs everywhere. The dining hall could use some restoration, it seems more like eating in prison. Staff was friendly.
  • 69%
  • 19 Jun 2015 Anonymous Denmark
  • Hey, I am Frank from Hong Kong. Sandeman is a very nice place for travelers in UK, and I really enjoyed my time there. The hostel was intercultural and international, because there were visitors from different nations and we interacted with each other well. Also, I should thank girls in the canteen, because of their passion and help. The cleanliness is not good enough, and it still has room to improve. Second, the shower rooms are very small, so the person who has shower cannot move.
  • 86%
  • 06 Jun 2015 Yang China
  • Loved this place. Great location, good staff. Felt very secure, and they even included keys for lockable cabinets in my room. The bathroom/shower facilities were always kept clean, and were readily available (not overcrowded.) Breakfast and lunch were provided on the weekends, which is great for traveling on a budget. This place was hands down the best value I found during my trip across Europe.
  • 97%
  • 03 May 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »