See other Rome properties

Sandy Hostel

Via Cavour 136, 00184 - Roma, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 66% from 13 reviews

  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 66%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 50%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My upper bed was moving everytime i moved or the person belove me. No place to sit or hangout except your bedroom or really extra small kitchen with only microwave and refrigirator. Staff was ok ,owner speaks english and he was glad to help you with advices. Anyway,for this money its not so bad, bcs of good location but i would not suggest stayin for more than two or three days.
  • 63%
  • 07 Dec 2013 Anonymous Serbia
  • There was no hot showers and it was really really loud. You cant hear the streets but if people are talking on the floor its like they are standing in your room. And there was trouble on the floor most of the time ...
  • 74%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Kim Laura Germany
  • Sandy Hostel is in a great location, Via Cavour is just around the corner from the train station. Despite many comments about the poor cleanliness, I think it was pretty good. We had CLEAN bed sheets, bathroom and toilet was also clean. A guy that gave us the keys was very kind and everytime we went into the hostel he asked 'ciao, tutto bene?' :) Positive experience. Very low cost but CLEAN.
  • 89%
  • 15 Nov 2013 Anonymous Poland
  • The receptionist was very rude and unaccommodating and seemed intent on finding reasons to deny me access or charge me inflated prices. I eventually reserved the room I saw online right there in his presence, and he still sought to deny me based on "his experience" and "possibilities." He eventually became aggressive and put his hands on me. The only reason I didn't press charges for assault (and discrimination) is that I had no time before I left Rome the next day. WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!
  • 54%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Anonymous Jamaica
  • no kitchen (only fridge and microwave), no washing mashine, no air conditioning, no common room. free city map, helpfull staff. it is not like hostel but like renting a room - you just come and live. very calm place. security and cleanliness are ok.
  • 66%
  • 16 Aug 2013 Anonymous Ukraine
  • The hotel was not clean, the storage area that the baggage was kept in after check-out was not locked so felt like it was an unsecure area, close to the exit. Upon arrival back to the hostel for baggage there was no front desk worker, even though the office hours are stated as 7am to 12pm. Other hostels i have been in have provided two sheets instead of one, so you would not have to sleep with the blanet directly, also our bathroom was not clean and the whole room has a very unpleasent smell.
  • 57%
  • 26 May 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Hostel kötü kalmayın.
  • 20%
  • 06 May 2013 Fatih Turkey
  • Overall it was good, excellent location, really good price, but only one shower and no kitchen. For budget travelers it is a really good option.
  • 83%
  • 02 May 2013 Jiří Czech Republic
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »