See other Rome properties

Sandy Hostel

Via Cavour 136, 00184 - Roma, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 78% from 23 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I don't know much about the hostel other than they do not answer texts, phone calls, Skype calls or emails. Neither during work hours nor do they reply to your email afterwards. I had a plane flight that got delayed by and an hour and a half. I called immeditately upon landing at 9:45 and no one picked up. We called several times to no avail. When I arrived at the hostel, no one was there. They didn't reply to my email either. Luckily I found another place but this hostel gladly took my money.
  • 29%
  • 26 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Bad place. I'm supposed to check in at 1000hrs but host was uncontactable (even with the number provided) and I was left waiting out in the open before I let myself in when one of the tenants came out. Once I reached the hostel I discovered the host just woke and blamed the door bell wasn't working and said "nothing works in Rome, get used to it". Host is very rude in general, not helpful at all when asking for advice around Rome. Blankets was a mere cloth, nothing is provided, locks don't work
  • 34%
  • 24 Sep 2015 jing yun Singapore
  • awesome, but no hot water for us sadly, still would go again
  • 77%
  • 11 Sep 2015 Pavel Czech Republic
  • Lovely staff and hostel. Had a great stay!
  • 100%
  • 23 Jul 2015 Deprise Mechelle USA
  • The staff will really look after you! The wifi is strong, the location great (walking distance to Termini and the Colosseum) and there are excursions available through the staff - like pub crawls
  • 97%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Staff very welcoming upon arrival and throughout stay. Beds were comfortable in rooms and there was a fan provided which was definitely necessary due to the heat! Shower was always cold and the electricity flickered on sand off a few times. Location was excellent: 5 minute walk to the colusseum and 10 to Termini train station. Was happy enough for with what we paid for it.
  • 66%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Amy Ireland
  • Sandy is in a great location, close to Termini, a hop on - hop off bus stop, and plenty of restaurants. Sandy is on the 4th floor, 115 steps to climbs, FYI. My room was clean, the bathrooms were clean. There is no commons area, no kitchen, no AC.
  • 77%
  • 04 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • great staff members-very chilled environment.always helpful when i need something. simple place but in every way sufficient for what i need; clean and comfortable. came here on my first day in Rome and stayed for my last night in italy. great value for the place. close to the termini station. definitely would come again.
  • 97%
  • 02 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great location near Termini Station. Staff was very friendly. Room was quite large, clean, and had air conditioning. Private bathroom was small but made great use of the space. We would stay here again.
  • 91%
  • 14 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • One of the most friendly staff. Very helpful and always available, they even manage to give you some discounts to eat or to party. The bed was quite confortable and the room was clean and it was not overwarm. The only thing that I did not like was the bathroons: dirty and there is only two.
  • 74%
  • 07 May 2015 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »