See other Beijing properties

Sanlitun Youth Hostel

No.1 Chunxiu Lu(Gong Ti Bei Lu), Chaoyang District, Beijing, China, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 84% from 17 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • good good normal
  • 69%
  • 30 Jan 2014 yeong gon
  • Is a nice place to stay if you are backpacking, they offer you deals to travel and explore around (no the cheapest ones but still very affordable). The public areas are very clean and the surroundings are good if you want to do some shopping at fake markets or have fancy meals.
    Owner Comment

    NIhao, Thank you very much, wish you have a nice time in China. Regards

  • 86%
  • 16 Jan 2014 Wilmar Colombia
  • I always stay here when I am in Beijing. Very friendly and helpful staff and good value for my money.
  • 100%
  • 09 Nov 2013 Alexander Canada
  • The hostel has a really nice atmosphere in the lobby and patio. The staff varies, some (such as the lady who helped us when we checked in) are exceptional and others are pretty serious. As for the rooms, I personally found the rooms, beds and comforter very comfortable. Great aircon to escape to after a day in the summer heat. The prices of the food and drinks in the hostel are ridiculously bloated though. That was pretty crummy, in my opinion.
  • 80%
  • 16 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel, fun place to stay. Good atmosphere...everything was clean, nice staff.
  • 100%
  • 09 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Overall a pleasant stay. My biggest complaint was that the beds and lockers are not pre-assigned. SO! you get into your room and go... which one is mine? in my case I actually have a fair amount of stuff I'd like to keep in the locker, but all of the lockers were full or locked, making things awkward. I also would have liked access to hot water - its an asian staple necessity. That said, the beds were reasonably soft by asian standards and definitely clean. Considering the location ~ Go for it.
  • 74%
  • 06 Jul 2013 Peter USA
  • very friendly and helpful staff!
  • 89%
  • 02 Jul 2013 Benjamin USA
  • This hostel is a good place to stay in Beijing. A lot of interesting travellers, clean rooms, english speaking nice staff, good food and beer, good area. It is a little hidden in a back house and it could be closer to the underground, but I would go back there if I come to Beijing.
  • 97%
  • 28 Jun 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Hidden in a small street cornor, not easy to find. Close to Pubs and Bars but not to the metro. The room was smelly and was not clean. In my pinion, the ideas and facilities of Youth Hostel in China is far behind other tourist cities in other countries. The price for good hotels are similar to youth hotels in Europe. So it;s better to choose hotel next time.
  • 71%
  • 27 Jun 2013 Anonymous China
  • It'd be perfect if you can use the internet in the rooms..
  • 86%
  • 25 Jun 2013 Anonymous Thailand
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »