See other Honolulu properties

Seaside Hawaiian Hostel Waikiki

419 Seaside Avenue,, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.5km

Rating: 84% from 45 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed here for the better part of 2 1/2 weeks and it kinda started to feel like home. The environment is super friendly and social, and the layout of the property really encourages people to socialize. The staff was awesome! Especially Priska, who I considered a good friend by the end of my stay. She cooked me food, paid my cover charge at a club when I had no cash in my pocket, and really just made all the guests feel welcome. If you're gonna be in Waikiki, this is the place to stay.
  • 91%
  • 29 Sep 2014 Eliathah USA
  • The hostel is well located, the staff cleans regularly, we had excellent lockers in our room, and there were also nice common areas to meet other travelers. Their rules make sense and the staff are great. Priska is particularly exceptional - she's great at her job, excellent company, and everyone loved her!
  • 86%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • two woman room @ $ 33 per night had no air conditioning or anything else to really justify the cost. Same bed, shared bathroom, the dorm at least had a locker per bed. The quiet hours are very helpful. The outside noise cannot be controlled. Room had ceiling fan. Could use a floor fan like the one in the dorm to keep the hot air circulating. When I tried the free bf, they were out of peanut butter.
  • 74%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Jenny USA
  • A bit far from beach, but not too far. You can rent all kinds of sport equipments free of charge (e.g. snorkelling stuff, boogie board) or way cheaper than on beach (surfboard). There is a computer you can use for internet surfing too. And indeed wi-fi.
  • 77%
  • 17 Aug 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • They have a great courtyard with swings, a hammock and good shade. I loved it.
  • 83%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Maureen Ireland
  • Stayed 2 nights, rated the hostel's location as average as it is a bit further from the beach than the other one we stayed at, but there are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. The cleanliness, general atmosphere and facilities make a real difference. There is a cute inner courtyard where you can enjoy your (free) breakfast or other meals, you can borrow bodyboards and rent surf boards. the room and shared bathroom were clean. Overall, I definitely recommend it! :)
  • 83%
  • 07 Jul 2014 antoine France
  • The hostel was clean, of course there were some bugs around but hey it's Hawaii, no biggie. The beds do squeak a bit, I was happy my second trip there because I had the bottom bunk bed. Unlike 99% of travelers I have no interest in getting drunk and partying, so it was nice that the hostel enforces quiet time at 11:00PM. Your room has a lock and they have a locker in the office should you have something of high value. The owner is very kind and helpful.
  • 94%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is in such a great and convenient location and it's so easy to fall in love with the AMAZING atmosphere! They have a lovely staff that is super easy-going but still enforces the rules to keep the place safe, clean, and a great place to stay! I had a great time and actually felt home-sick when I left!
  • 97%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice place!!not far from Waikiki beach bit the stuff from the hostel was very bad!!!
  • 49%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Luca Australia
  • Great place to stay in Waikiki. Close to the beach, easy to get to from the airport with a bus stop close by. Very nice atmosphere and lots of stuff provided, e.g. free snorkelling equipment for rent. Downsides: not the cleanest place (you have to be able to cope with spiders etc.) and some dorms are rather open, i.e. it can get cold inside.
  • 89%
  • 14 May 2014 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »