See other Honolulu properties

Seaside Hawaiian Hostel Waikiki

419 Seaside Avenue,, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.5km

Rating: 83% from 43 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Huge cockroach in the room (on second floor), very simple - and unhealthy - breakfast consisting of white-bread toast and jam, limited opening hours (8am-12am) in reception, somewhat poor cleaning, and no fans in the dormitories. Other than that, I had a wonderful time at the Seaside Hawaiian Hostel. They practice their "silent-time" so you can sleep well (although some street noise is to be expected), their staff is accommodating, safety is good, and they have a decent social atmosphere.
  • 86%
  • 20 Jun 2015 Sol Norway
  • Reception is only 8am-12am, not 24hrs so when our flight was delayed we had to sleep in the airport and check in the next day. Robin was nice and didn't make us pay for the night we missed though. The rooms are kept clean and have sizable lockers available. They will do your laundry for you for $4. It is within a 10-15 min walk from Waikiki beach. Hostel is available to adults as well as youth but the atmosphere is still great. Lots of hangouts and conversation. Would definitely book it again!
  • 94%
  • 31 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The place was great and close to the beach (2 blocks) many restaurants and bars. However, the atmosphere at the hostel was just ok. People would gather at night but it seemed like everyone was just doing their own thing and not really socializing. If you need a place to stay close to everything in Waikiki this is the place but if you expect to party at night... you are better off going somewhere else.
  • 86%
  • 28 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • 10/10 staying there again next time I'm in Hawaii.
  • 100%
  • 26 May 2015 Brad USA
  • Very noisy place. No air conditioning in the room(s), so the windows are open day and night to "cool" the rooms. Unfortunately not only the fresh air is coming in, also the noises from the busy neighborhood.
  • 77%
  • 25 Apr 2015 Ana Canada
  • No locker in the dorm.
  • 74%
  • 11 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • In the heart of Waikiki, the location could not have been better. It is notable to mention that there are many hostels situated in the same area. Just a couple of blocks away from the beach and Kalakaua Ave. where street performers make the night lively. Closer yet to Kuhio Ave. where there is a large variety of restaurants and stores. Friendly and welcoming staff will take good care of you and answer all of your inquiries. The area is busy, especially in the early morning hours.
  • 77%
  • 23 Mar 2015 Abdelkarim Egypt
  • Absolutely one of the best locations for any tourist oriented places. Other things are pretty much similar to most hostels. Breakfast is quite above average and the coffee is very good.
  • 86%
  • 17 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We loved living in this hostel because it is so close to everything, it is right in the middle of everything of Waikiki and the beach is two blocks down. We met people from all over the world in the hostel and we cooked together every other night. I've lived in many hostels and this one is by far the cleanest, it could use some new curtains and a nice big vacuum every month but it doesn't really bother someone who just needs a place to sleep.
  • 83%
  • 07 Mar 2015 Agnes Sweden
  • Location is in the downtown, wear earplugs, otherwise you might wake up to the noise of the garbage trucks in the morning. The staff was really nice and helpful and the hostel itself had a really nice atmosphere. You can borrow finns and a mask, books and other helpful stuff from there. Remember to bring your own lock for your locker !
  • 97%
  • 06 Mar 2015 Minnatuulia Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »