See other Honolulu properties

Seaside Hawaiian Hostel Waikiki

419 Seaside Avenue,, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.5km

Rating: 82% from 43 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Friendly staff and clean with basic accommodations. We booked a private room for my husband and I. When we got there, it was a semi-private room in a female dorm. So I got the whole room and my husband had to bunk with others in a mixed dorm. Not sure where that communication mishap came from. It was decent that they didn't charge us. We ended up finding a hotel room nearby for only $5.00 more for he 2 of us. P
  • 74%
  • 04 Jan 2015 Vivianne Canada
  • This hostel corresponded my expectations. Although, when my girlfriend and I had a doubt about the price which was being charged while we were cheking-in, the staff called Robin replied us: "You are paying $35,00 to stay in Waikiki! If you don't want to stay in this hostel you can find another! You are paying the same as everybody has paid, just it." It was so compelling for us. But we hope that she will be warned for she doesn't repeat this weird behavior with the others guests hereafter.
  • 80%
  • 01 Jan 2015 Bruna Brazil
  • unfriendly and unhelpful staff
  • 40%
  • 21 Dec 2014 Yonne-Luca Germany
  • Thanks guys! I had a great time!
  • 100%
  • 17 Dec 2014 desislava Canada
  • The best as always :) and they remember you too♥
  • 100%
  • 14 Dec 2014 Leiana USA
  • I had a blast. My trip was from Dec 6 to Dec 13, 2014. The room was clean. The other guests were considerate. Even with 6 people total at times (4-person room, 2-person private room) there were no issues with the bathroom or getting around the room itself. The lockers were fine for storing personal belongings. The hot water was actually hot instead of just warm which was a nice feature. The food nights were a great value and a chance to relax with the other guests. I would stay again.
  • 86%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice and friendly hostel. Big rooms, best shower I ever had in a hostel. BUT, I didn't like that our room didn't have glaswindows cuz it was impossible to sleep in the mornings. No internet in the room and it was turned off at night til 8 in the morning(?) breakfast pretty boring. Okey hostel but I've been to better.
  • 71%
  • 05 Dec 2014 Karin Therry Josefine Sweden
  • The staff is very nice and the location couldn't be more perfect: right next to the bars and busses, and only a 5 minute walk to Waikiki Beach. The only thing is that the beds/pillows are not too comfortable and I felt like the lockers were in each room were also not the best ones (could easily break them open I think).
  • 89%
  • 25 Nov 2014 Jorien Netherlands
  • Overall for the size of the hostel it is number one. No packed to gills rooms or hidden charges. A genuine relaxing atmosphere where it is a true pleasure to sit back and just listen to the happy buzz of people enjoying themselves. More amenities than most hotels. Majority of the staff are super friendly and welcoming.
  • 94%
  • 18 Nov 2014 William USA
  • We had a fun time at the Seaside hostel, the outside area is very nice with hammocks and sitting area. The breakfast was very average. The dorm we stayed in was ok, the beds were not too comfy.
  • 83%
  • 09 Oct 2014 Anonymous Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »