See other Honolulu properties

Seaside Hawaiian Hostel Waikiki

419 Seaside Avenue,, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.5km

Rating: 83% from 49 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My name is Eric i am traveling around the world and i been staying at the Seaside Hostel and i can say it was a great idea to choose that place! Staff is great charming polite and always smileing! The hostel is ubicated really well some blocks of the beach near all bus stops to move around the island and the main street near too what more can you ask for? Ohh the breakfast! Its cool just what you need to start the day with good energy and if your lucky Bruna is going to make wouffles!for free!
  • 100%
  • 21 Oct 2013 Eric Argentina
  • Was concerned there might be a lot of noise/traffic from younger travelers. Happily not the case. But it was off-season... Facilities rate good, because the common area-- courtyard-- was so nice. The bathroom facilities are maybe average. Serviceable enough, but not as private as some hostels and very tiny.
  • 80%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Chrysse USA
  • Great place to meet people, great location and brekkie is good when the waffles are on
  • 89%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Anonymous Scotland
  • Very good location but for the money and total experience you have to be aware that the facilities are rubbish (only wifi in garden) and the cleanliness is low.
  • 51%
  • 27 Sep 2013 Anonymous Denmark
  • i like the wind there
  • 80%
  • 16 Sep 2013 kaiyang China
  • Good hostel not so far from the beach. Rooms are very spartan and the lockers are made of plastic which doesn't give you enough peace of mind if you're leaving laptops and cameras stored. Rooms were not cleaned regularly given that some rubbish was on the floor for a couple of days.
  • 74%
  • 06 Sep 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Great location!!! Was never told about activities until last minute by others staying there. Bugs and insects all over the place. Security gate at front was left wide open twice when I stayed there. People staying in dorm room NEVER locked door. Staff are hostelers staying there, so they don't have a lot to say about things to do in and around town or have any recommendations.
  • 49%
  • 28 Aug 2013 Janet USA
  • The place is beautiful with hammocks in banyan trees on the courtyard and free breakfast. The staff is easygoing and very friendly, and were it not for the fact that I got badly bitten by bed bugs I would have given Seaside the best marks. The staff was helpful and treated my luggage and clothes with steam and heat but I still had to battle the infestation for almost two weeks in my new place before the fight was finally won. Those bugs are pernicious!
  • 83%
  • 27 Aug 2013 Miia Finland
  • Okay place to stay. Not very clean and my bed had bed bugs for three nights. Staff were really helpful but it took a while for them to get on to the situation. Good atmosphere but not close to anything. Wifi only worked near the kitchen and wasn't very reliable.
  • 63%
  • 26 Aug 2013 Maddison Australia
  • Seaside Hawaiian Hostel was one of the most incredible experiences I've had in my short 20 year life. I met some of the friendliest people, and within 2 hours of checking in I had already made friends with the entire hostel and had so many different activities and adventures planned out. The staff was excellent, very nice, laid back, but when it came down to it they did their job and that's what came first as it should. The staff was also well educated on what there is to do here... Great place
  • 86%
  • 12 Aug 2013 Ian USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »