See other Istanbul properties

Second Home Hostel

Hocapasa Mahallesi Ebussuud Caddesi No : 19 Sirkec, Istanbul, Turkey, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 91% from 24 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Pretty clean for a hostel. I was in the mixed dorm and it was clean and very comfortable. Bathrooms weren't the nicest but it was fine. Internet worked great in rooms.
  • 86%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Nha-Dien USA
  • The name of the hostel tells exactly what the hostel is: a Second Home in Istambul! Wonderul staff!
  • 100%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • it was one of the best hostels in istanbul. i loved my stay entierly. the staff are pretty amazing. .. breakfast is also very satisfactory. a must place to stay in istanbul. affordable and very clean.
  • 94%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Nadaranjani India
  • We really appreciated the willingness to explain details about Istanbul. We only stayed one night but felt like we were just as important as long-stay guests! It's centrally located in the old quarter so I'll be recommending this to anyone who wants to see historical sites in Istanbul!
  • 97%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Alexandra Canada
  • The staff here are very nice. I joined the dinner together on Saturday and the staff Memo cooked the traditional Turkish food to us. It was quite good. The location of the hostel is very good, around 5 minutes walk to the attraction, Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, underground palace and Gulhane park. It is very convenient. Also, there are many souvenir shops and restaurants around.
  • 80%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • The building/location was great. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate guests and make them feel at home. Asma in particular was very outgoing and made me feel very welcome.
  • 97%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The decision to stay at Second Home was the right one. The staff was awesome and the location was just perfect. The staff helped me to arrange a shuttle to bring me from the airport, they arranged a boat trip for me, a bus ticket to Bulgaria and even got contacts to continue with my trip around Europe. The place was clean and secure, so I would definitely recommend it to anyone going to Istambul.
  • 100%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Steven Mexico
  • I loved Second Home Hostel! Amazing atmosphere, with very kind reception staff. Could definitely feel the Turkish hospitality present throughout the stay. The local staff took us to pub crawls during the weekends. Great 5 euro meal as well. Super close to major historic sites in Istanbul, as well as the ferry harbor to explore the other 2 major areas of Istanbul. Will definitely stay here again if I return to Istanbul on my way to other great sites in Turkey. Thanks for everything!
  • 100%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Second Home is really a second home. I was there for 3 nights and the staff was really welcoming and accommodating. Any question I had they could answer or follow up with research. The staff creates a great community with other guests. The dinner at the hostel is worth it. One of the best hostel experiences I have ever had!
  • 91%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staff of this hostel is absolutely amazing! They party with you, help you with everything, discuss with you and make you feel like you were in second home. If I am going to visit Istanbul again I would definitily come back here. Thank you!
  • 100%
  • 01 Apr 2014 PETE Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »