See other Istanbul properties

Second Home Hostel

Hocapasa Mahallesi Ebussuud Caddesi No : 19 Sirkec, Istanbul, Turkey, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 91% from 17 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The building/location was great. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate guests and make them feel at home. Asma in particular was very outgoing and made me feel very welcome.
  • 97%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The decision to stay at Second Home was the right one. The staff was awesome and the location was just perfect. The staff helped me to arrange a shuttle to bring me from the airport, they arranged a boat trip for me, a bus ticket to Bulgaria and even got contacts to continue with my trip around Europe. The place was clean and secure, so I would definitely recommend it to anyone going to Istambul.
  • 100%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Steven Mexico
  • I loved Second Home Hostel! Amazing atmosphere, with very kind reception staff. Could definitely feel the Turkish hospitality present throughout the stay. The local staff took us to pub crawls during the weekends. Great 5 euro meal as well. Super close to major historic sites in Istanbul, as well as the ferry harbor to explore the other 2 major areas of Istanbul. Will definitely stay here again if I return to Istanbul on my way to other great sites in Turkey. Thanks for everything!
  • 100%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Second Home is really a second home. I was there for 3 nights and the staff was really welcoming and accommodating. Any question I had they could answer or follow up with research. The staff creates a great community with other guests. The dinner at the hostel is worth it. One of the best hostel experiences I have ever had!
  • 91%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staff of this hostel is absolutely amazing! They party with you, help you with everything, discuss with you and make you feel like you were in second home. If I am going to visit Istanbul again I would definitily come back here. Thank you!
  • 100%
  • 01 Apr 2014 PETE Finland
  • Is a magical place. I highly recommend it.
  • 100%
  • 28 Feb 2014 CHUN YU Taiwan
  • Great hostel! Perfect location, clean hostel, good breakfast en very friendly staff. I had lost my passport the day before. The staff called every place where I had been the day before in order to find my passport. They gave me good advise what to do en calm me down when I was in panic. In the evening they called me how everything went. This will be shown how helpfull and friendly they are! Istanbul is a beautiful city and I want definitely come back! Marieke.
  • 91%
  • 17 Feb 2014 Marieke Netherlands
  • Very helpful staff, great atmosphere, excellent location
  • 94%
  • 06 Jan 2014 gavin New Zealand
  • Susan and Memo are really friendly managers/receptionists of the Hostel, willing to help and ready to party. They also organised a get-together-dinner for all guests with traditional turkish food :-)
  • 100%
  • 07 Nov 2013 Lukas Italy
  • This hostel is absolutely great!!! Perfect position and the staff is incredible in helping the people to get in contact with are people staying there. Strongly advised to everybody.
  • 94%
  • 30 Oct 2013 Pietro Italy
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »