See other Istanbul properties

Second Home Hostel

Hocapasa Mahallesi Ebussuud Caddesi No : 19 Sirkec, Istanbul, Turkey, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 89% from 31 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had such a nice stay at this place. The facilities are perfectly fine for the price, but the staff are just lovely, making the best recommendations and really took care of me. It was So my. Second home in Istanbul!
  • 94%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Elin Sweden
  • The room I was staying in (9 Bedroom Mixed Dorm) was alright, it was kind of dirty and poorly ventilated but everything else about the place was awesome! Good staff, great rooftop terrace, met some awesome people and the organized nights out were a blast!
  • 80%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • They had signs saying we should put used toilet paper in a bin next to the loo instead of in the loo after using it. Gross. I never listened. The bin used to smell all day. I would pay more for better hostel next time. Also no lockers in dorm, unlike other places I've been.
  • 66%
  • 02 Jun 2015 Rahul New Zealand
  • This is the best hostel I ever stayed! The staff, Can, Tugba, Memo & Mohammad, are very friendly and helpful. They serve excellent Turkish tea and breakfast as well. The main attractions such as Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque are only 10 minutes away by walking. The atmosphere in the hostel is awesome. I stayed at the rooftop Terrence all the time and had some memorable moment with travelers around the round. This is truly "the second home" during my trip in Istanbul & I highly recommend it!
  • 91%
  • 28 May 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Exactly what you would expect from an inexpensive hostel. Less then sparkling clean facilities, mildly uncomfortable beds, and questionable showers. Once past these examples, the hostel is enjoyable due to the staff that warms up to you over time and the very good breakfast that is included within the room cost. Overall, I would return just would not waste money on the two-person room - go for the downstairs 12-bed dorms.
  • 77%
  • 22 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. The staff really take the time to help you and make great suggestions for things to do in the city. Keep it it! I'll be back.
  • 100%
  • 21 Jan 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Thank you!! It was a great experience clean, cheap and excellent location, the staff was very friendly and helpful keep going guys!
  • 100%
  • 19 Jan 2015 CLARISSA Mexico
  • I thought you guys did a GREAT job of making me feel welcome and taken care of. You guys created a friendly environment which was reflected in the time spent around the Shisha. I genuinely enjoyed my stay and I hope others find it as welcoming! My only advice: I am slightly allergic to cats, I suggest you to list that you have an animal at the hostel in case someone who is more allergic books a stay there without knowing.
  • 91%
  • 06 Jan 2015 Eric USA
  • The staff are really helpful and friendly. The place is clean ,comfortable and close to all places that you need to visit . Nice stay experience and that's why I stayed in there for the second time when I came back from Ephesus. I would recommend to my friends who are coming to Turkey.
  • 97%
  • 30 Nov 2014 Ning China
  • It is my second time for staying here because they are always be good to all guest and try to help us. i live in south of turkey but from now on if i have to stay Istanbul and visit here, i will always stay here. and i recommand you to guys here also!
  • 100%
  • 26 Nov 2014 İLJOO South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »