See other Istanbul properties

Second Home Hostel

Hocapasa Mahallesi Ebussuud Caddesi No : 19 Sirkec, Istanbul, Turkey, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 88% from 25 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff and other guests really made the experience! It was very social and easy to meet people. The staff were some of the friendliest and most helpful people I met traveling. They were always there to help out. Merve and Memo are super great! Overall it was a really good experience and I would defiantly recommend Second Home!
  • 89%
  • 06 Aug 2015 Emma Canada
  • Perfect location, within walking distance to Aya Sofia and Grand Palace. Very good breakfast, with friendly staff serving bread and tea.
  • 91%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • I had such a nice stay at this place. The facilities are perfectly fine for the price, but the staff are just lovely, making the best recommendations and really took care of me. It was So my. Second home in Istanbul!
  • 94%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Elin Sweden
  • The room I was staying in (9 Bedroom Mixed Dorm) was alright, it was kind of dirty and poorly ventilated but everything else about the place was awesome! Good staff, great rooftop terrace, met some awesome people and the organized nights out were a blast!
  • 80%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • They had signs saying we should put used toilet paper in a bin next to the loo instead of in the loo after using it. Gross. I never listened. The bin used to smell all day. I would pay more for better hostel next time. Also no lockers in dorm, unlike other places I've been.
  • 66%
  • 02 Jun 2015 Rahul New Zealand
  • This is the best hostel I ever stayed! The staff, Can, Tugba, Memo & Mohammad, are very friendly and helpful. They serve excellent Turkish tea and breakfast as well. The main attractions such as Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque are only 10 minutes away by walking. The atmosphere in the hostel is awesome. I stayed at the rooftop Terrence all the time and had some memorable moment with travelers around the round. This is truly "the second home" during my trip in Istanbul & I highly recommend it!
  • 91%
  • 28 May 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Exactly what you would expect from an inexpensive hostel. Less then sparkling clean facilities, mildly uncomfortable beds, and questionable showers. Once past these examples, the hostel is enjoyable due to the staff that warms up to you over time and the very good breakfast that is included within the room cost. Overall, I would return just would not waste money on the two-person room - go for the downstairs 12-bed dorms.
  • 77%
  • 22 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. The staff really take the time to help you and make great suggestions for things to do in the city. Keep it it! I'll be back.
  • 100%
  • 21 Jan 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Thank you!! It was a great experience clean, cheap and excellent location, the staff was very friendly and helpful keep going guys!
  • 100%
  • 19 Jan 2015 CLARISSA Mexico
  • I thought you guys did a GREAT job of making me feel welcome and taken care of. You guys created a friendly environment which was reflected in the time spent around the Shisha. I genuinely enjoyed my stay and I hope others find it as welcoming! My only advice: I am slightly allergic to cats, I suggest you to list that you have an animal at the hostel in case someone who is more allergic books a stay there without knowing.
  • 91%
  • 06 Jan 2015 Eric USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »