See other Seattle properties

Second Home Hostels

19201 33rd Ave. South, Seattle, USA, Distance from city centre: 19.7km

Rating: 82% from 15 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Overall a pretty decent stay. The hostel was very clean, but the building had some signs of its age. The overall atmosphere was very homey, and the staff were welcoming. I was surprised at how short the bed was. It fit me (at 5' 7), but just barely. I would also have appreciated a more substantial blanket, as, even when sleeping with my coat on, I was very cold during the night.
  • 83%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Anonymous Cyprus
  • If you grew up in foster care or group homes, you'll feel right at home here.
  • 57%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Jacob USA
  • The staff were very friendly. Overall, it was an average hostel experience, however, the sleeping room was incredibly hot. It has to be at least 80 degrees. Sleeping on the top bunk was unbearable! I ended up on the couch but people started getting up at 4, so I didn't get much sleep. We were also told there would be breakfast beginning at 7 but when I left at 7:30 staff were just getting up.
  • 69%
  • 03 Dec 2013 laura
  • When you check-in you get a cleaning cloth. This is to clean the bathroom after use. It's difficult to get away from the hostel without a car.
  • 63%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Unless you've arrived late, or flying out early from SeaTac airport, there is not much point staying here! with a solid 1.5hour journey to the city centre, this is not the place for an excitable backpacker. The place however, is warm, friendly and cosy. You are living in a family's home, and therefore the kitchen and living room have all the creature comforts one could need anywhere. Staff seem pretty nice.
  • 69%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Anonymous Scotland
  • I guess most people only stay to get to the airport, so it doesn't really has the best hostel atmosphere, but it is okay for one night. Close and convenient to the airport but around 45 minutes away from downtown Seattle (with the train). Staff was nice and helpful and the hostel was clean.
  • 83%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Sascha Germany
  • I simply love this place! It is the best hostel I have ever been too!!! The staff and the owner are super friendly at it really feels like a second home! The bath was squeeky clean, the place under the bed was a bit dusty but that's it.
  • 94%
  • 10 Sep 2013 Anonymous Italy
  • I had a great stay in this cozy hostel.
  • 83%
  • 09 Aug 2013 Daniel USA
  • I came out thinking this would be a typical hostel experience, which is fine. You know, don't expect hotel service, things like that. But I was so surprised at the home-like atmosphere, the friendly and helpful staff, and on top of that you get the regular hostel pros such as meeting people from all over the world. If you are looking for a way to experience a slice of Americana in the pacific northwest, this is a great way to go if you can book a room. Great time, love it out here!
  • 97%
  • 18 Jul 2013 Evan USA
  • great value for the money and great exposure to many different folks. It was a great place to be. Thanks
  • 89%
  • 13 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »