See other Cork properties

Sheilas Cork Hostel

4 Belgrave Place, Wellington Road, Cork, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 2.1km

Rating: 82% from 28 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I would'nt recommend staying in Sheilas Cork Hostel, especially the bathrooms are not clean and it's very unpleasant using them.
  • 57%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Verena Germany
  • Sheilas isn't bad at all! It's very close to the city center and just a short walk to anywhere you want to go. The staff is awesome, recommending Tara's Tea Room to my friend and I which was so cute and good that we went back the next day. The beds are comfy enough but the rooms are a little cramped, as are the bathrooms, but hey! What else can you expect? I figure if you're paying for a hostel, a little less wiggle room is expected. There are awesome lockers to store your luggage too.
  • 86%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Gina USA
  • It's a nice place to stay a few days in Cork. It's very well located, the employees are very kind and helpful and the atmosphere is friendly. However the room I was in was quite cramped and the shared showers were not that clean...
  • 80%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Alexandra France
  • There weren't enough place to hang out at hostel and coupé of times the cups or the soup plates were all in use. Otherwise the kitchen was very good.
  • 71%
  • 16 Jul 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • Staff was very friendly and helpful! The location was good, just a short walk to the city centre/bars. Bathrooms and rooms were not the cleanest, however.
  • 69%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Katie USA
  • Sheila's was above average for the price. Clean, excellent staff. My only complaints were that thin walls made it hard to sleep with rowdy guests and the 3 euro breakfast was probably not worth it (toast, cereal, coffee and tea). But the beds were comfortable (although we found hairs on our pillows).
  • 83%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Abigail USA
  • It was a very pleasant stay. Everything is very clean and the extra service of the breakfast buffet is a plus!
  • 89%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Anonymous Belgium
  • Good central location, extremely helpful staff, will definitely stay there again when I am in Cork city again.
  • 94%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Mary Ireland
  • This place is a no brainer for your stay in Cork. Affordable, clean and right smack dab in the middle. And they have deals at pubs around town. Perfect spot for checking out Cork.
  • 100%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Everyone I dealt with at the front desk was friendly and super helpful. The beds/bedding was fine as were the bathrooms. the kitchen is well supplied, but the refrigerators weren't cold at all. If you follow their directions, you shouldn't have much trouble finding the place, though the hill is a killer. The only downside I can think of is that there's no lift, so lugging bags up to the third floor was no fun. Otherwise, I was happy to have stayed here :)
  • 86%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »