See other Cork properties

Sheilas Cork Hostel

4 Belgrave Place, Wellington Road, Cork, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 2.1km

Rating: 79% from 34 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Simultanesously favorite and least favourite hostel I've been to, for different reasons. The kitchen was fabulous, lot's of space to cook and eat with friends, also a seperate dinign room. However, the entire kitchen closes at 23:30 until the next morning at 6 I may understand the need for cleaning, but it was a little inconvenient because if you go to sleep late and just want a snack from the fridge, or wake up very early, it becomes impossible to eat.
  • 89%
  • 16 Mar 2015 Patricia USA
  • An interesting stay to say the least. Upon entering the musky windowless room, we walked in on a couple doing the deed with a chicken dinner on the floor. It turned out to be a blessing in disguise though because the staff graciously moved us to a 6 bed dorm room instead (don't stay in the 8 bed dorm rooms). It was very narrow but it had its own bathroom and a window so we were ecstatic. Everything else was great. Staff is friendly, they do laundry for cheap and good location.
  • 83%
  • 16 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The bathrooms were the lowest point of my experience. I wish the shower had a constant flow and didn't take so long to warm up. I would imaging the push button mechanism is supposed to save water, however It took me three times as long to shower because I had to first wait for the water to warm up and then I had to keep pushing the button to keep on it verus actually showering. Also the bathroom smelled absolutely foul. And air freshener or something would've helped tremendously.
  • 80%
  • 05 Mar 2015 Bria USA
  • We had a terrible time at this hostel for several reasons. Cons: lack of bathrooms, sketchy area of town, claustrophobic bedroom size, poor sound proofing and EXTREMELY bright lights in the bedrooms. Not to mention their terrible smell. This hostel was full of the most inconsiderate travelers I have ever met. Turning and leaving the lights on at 2 am; having sex beside you. I have never had a more terrible sleep in my life. This aren't even half of the problems; I would not recommend this place.
  • 40%
  • 27 Feb 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Since i stayed here for what turned out to be a long-term stay, I loved the fact that it wasn't the liveliest of places. Some hostels are great for that, but this one has it's own quiet charm, cinema, sauna, staff is helpful, but not over the top (thank God). i really like the common room area with the big windows.
  • 83%
  • 10 Jan 2015 Jelena Croatia
  • Most of things are good, but the light of washroom&showerroom is sencer. When I was taking a shower, the light turned off.
  • 69%
  • 28 Sep 2014 Yukiko Japan
  • I would'nt recommend staying in Sheilas Cork Hostel, especially the bathrooms are not clean and it's very unpleasant using them.
  • 57%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Verena Germany
  • Sheilas isn't bad at all! It's very close to the city center and just a short walk to anywhere you want to go. The staff is awesome, recommending Tara's Tea Room to my friend and I which was so cute and good that we went back the next day. The beds are comfy enough but the rooms are a little cramped, as are the bathrooms, but hey! What else can you expect? I figure if you're paying for a hostel, a little less wiggle room is expected. There are awesome lockers to store your luggage too.
  • 86%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Gina USA
  • It's a nice place to stay a few days in Cork. It's very well located, the employees are very kind and helpful and the atmosphere is friendly. However the room I was in was quite cramped and the shared showers were not that clean...
  • 80%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Alexandra France
  • There weren't enough place to hang out at hostel and coupé of times the cups or the soup plates were all in use. Otherwise the kitchen was very good.
  • 71%
  • 16 Jul 2014 Anonymous Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Here are some of the best places to hit up once your university days are over!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »