See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 83% from 175 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Friendly staff..... Location is good. Was in one of the rooms on 3rd floor and the outside alleyway noise made for a long night. Just wish there were more plug ins in the rooms but the overall experience was a positive one.
  • 80%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Michelle USA
  • The room was very small for 16 people, not a lot of space AT ALL. It was freezing at night, when the staff comes in to clean in the morning they leave all the windows and doors WIDE OPEN so anyone on the smoking terrace could waltz right in. There are NO outlets in the rooms. Security as other reviewers have mentioned is poor, you only show a piece of paper to get let in. Location is in red light district but far walk from any tourist attractions. Only plus was a hot breakfast.
  • 49%
  • 22 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Perfekt place, for short time. Recommendet this hostel
  • 74%
  • 21 Apr 2015 VALERIJUS Lithuania
  • we booked a four people room with bathroom, it's really nice, the room is really clean. The location is really good, it just besides the RLS, but it's pretty safe, and people have to show their voucher when they get into the hostel. Also, the stuffs are friendly and they are ready to help others. There also a supermarket nearby, it's pretty convenient.
  • 89%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Jingwei China
  • The hostel was lifeless and the occupants don't appear socialable. The wifi works but there are very few outlets. The bathrooms are clean and there are enough stalls for the most parts. It is also close to the train station, although tricky to find. Overall decent experience.
  • 69%
  • 16 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • I like the high degree of Christianity atmosphere In the hostel, acting as a pure light in the red light district. Staff are very nice. Messages on the wall are very encouraging. But wifi is weak at the upper floor.
  • 89%
  • 09 Apr 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • The location of the hostel a bit hard to find. The security need to be improve as everyone entered the hostel are able to go other room easily as there are no lock on the room and beside the main door of the room, people can come to your room from the door close to the courtyard which can't lock. You need to store your valueable things in the locker of the room and bring your lock or else you can buy it from the front desk. The staffs are nice and helpful and the breakfast provided are tasty.
  • 74%
  • 09 Apr 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Very nice place.
  • 94%
  • 15 Mar 2015 Luciano Marques Brazil
  • It's an excellent hostel with amazing people! I really enjoyed the hostel and its principles!
  • 100%
  • 12 Mar 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • nice but too samll rooms
  • 80%
  • 24 Feb 2015 Amir Nepal
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Spring and Summer are full of musical adventures. Check out our list of some of the world's best (and in some cases lesser-known) music festivals happening this year

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »