See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 84% from 153 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was relly good staying) Although it was 16-bed room, I didn't feel unconfortable to myself) Everything was good. I enjoyed my holiday very much, and Shelter city hostel was friendly and peaceful shelter for us))) Thank you very much
  • 86%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Ekaterina Russia
  • All you had to do to get in is show a voucher and they let you in. Everything was clean, the free breakfast wasn't bad and the staff was VERY friendly but all devout christians in the middle of the red light district, so they preach and try to coerce you into going to bible study. That being said, it was in a great location!
  • 69%
  • 30 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great place to stay, very good location and friendly staff
  • 89%
  • 28 Oct 2014 Javier Peru
  • very good
  • 89%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Konstantinos Greece
  • Good hostel and location. Just sometimes on PCs was glitches of internet. Everything is ok!
  • 83%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous Latvia
  • i liked the location of the hostel, the breakfast and the polite staff, but the bedrooms and the bathrooms were totally dirty...
  • 66%
  • 16 Oct 2014 ANASTASIOS Greece
  • funcionários muito atenciosos e agradáveis e em geral os clientes também, por ser um Hostel evangélico!
  • 83%
  • 10 Oct 2014 JORGE LUIZ BARBOSA DE SOUZA Brazil
  • Friendly staff, inexpensive and amazing location
  • 83%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Sophia USA
  • I´m so glad to have slept in shelter City, the personal there is very friendly and willing to help you in whatever you need! the bathrooms were so clean as the toilettes, the rooms were clean as well and the people were so quiet (some were snoring but i dont care about lol), i want to say thanks to the people in the breakfast facilities for being so educated and friendly, and in the reception i can say the same, thanks for giving the best of you!! I hope to come back someday.
  • 97%
  • 03 Oct 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • I really enjoyed my stay there. The rooms are clean, the staff and the other guests are really friendly. The breakfast is great!
  • 86%
  • 30 Sep 2014 Michèle Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »