See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 83% from 159 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This is my favourite hostel in Amsteram. This is how all hostels should be. Professionally run, nice rooms, good bathrooms, great restaurant, nice outdoor space. Add a great location and you have the perfect spot.
  • 94%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Thomas Ireland
  • I stayed for 4 nights in this hostel and I can say all the best things about it! From the location to staff and of course the price. I will come again for sure!
  • 100%
  • 18 Jun 2015 Darjan Serbia
  • The only bad thing was that my linen was not clean.
  • 97%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • Hostel was in a great location, right next to the red light district and only a 5 minute walk to Damsquare. I found it a little strange that there were no keycards, and you had to get into the hostel by showing a voucher, and also that the rooms to the doors had no locks. I didn't feel unsafe, it was just a little odd. You are provided with a large locker and locks were only 4 euro at the desk (or you can bring your own). Free hot breakfast included. All in all a good hostel.
  • 83%
  • 15 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Friendly staff, great facilities, centrally located!
  • 100%
  • 07 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Good experience, but there are place to many improvements,toilet hangers for towels it's a basic one, 0,40 €ents each cheese slice at the breakfast? good lord... however recommendable.
  • 71%
  • 01 May 2015 Anonymous Portugal
  • Friendly staff..... Location is good. Was in one of the rooms on 3rd floor and the outside alleyway noise made for a long night. Just wish there were more plug ins in the rooms but the overall experience was a positive one.
  • 80%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Michelle USA
  • The room was very small for 16 people, not a lot of space AT ALL. It was freezing at night, when the staff comes in to clean in the morning they leave all the windows and doors WIDE OPEN so anyone on the smoking terrace could waltz right in. There are NO outlets in the rooms. Security as other reviewers have mentioned is poor, you only show a piece of paper to get let in. Location is in red light district but far walk from any tourist attractions. Only plus was a hot breakfast.
  • 49%
  • 22 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Perfekt place, for short time. Recommendet this hostel
  • 74%
  • 21 Apr 2015 VALERIJUS Lithuania
  • we booked a four people room with bathroom, it's really nice, the room is really clean. The location is really good, it just besides the RLS, but it's pretty safe, and people have to show their voucher when they get into the hostel. Also, the stuffs are friendly and they are ready to help others. There also a supermarket nearby, it's pretty convenient.
  • 89%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Jingwei China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »