See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 84% from 122 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • boring hostel, rude breakfast staff, but affordable and good location. deposit for key too expensive
  • 63%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Isabella Australia
  • This hostel was a delight. Right in the heart of everything at a great price, the large dorm was a little cramped, but the axing friendliness of the staff and overall pleasant atmosphere made it all worth it. Everyone was so upbeat and helpful. It's a Christian organization, and being an atheist with a decidedly different moral system than the one of the hostel, I was a little nervous, but the hostel was very welcoming of all people and not pushy. Best hostel experience yet.
  • 94%
  • 09 Jul 2014 Claire USA
  • It felt like camp
  • 83%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Lindsay USA
  • The staff there are very friendly. I lose my charger for iPad there and my shampoo and washing gel as well!! That is the only one hostel which my personal things are stolen! There is no lift there!!! I resent a hotel without lift!! The female room is on third floor and the stairs are less than one meter. Believe me, you will dye because of your luggage.
  • 60%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Yang China
  • This is a really nice well run hostel in a very convenient location about 10 mins walk from Central Station.The beds were comfortable, the rooms spotless and the bathroom in the room was excellent. There is a lovely garden and a very nice cafe with pancakes or french toast for breakfast included in the price. This is a Christian hostel but not in your face. I highly recommend it!
  • 97%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Thomas Ireland
  • Decent place. Staff is very friendly but verrrryyyy slow because this place seems understaffed. It was annoying that the dorms are gender-segregated likely because of heteronormative Christian underpinnings. Cautionary signage about space cakes was also annoying but not surprising. Dorm was solemnly silent. Social area was small and needs more outlets for device charging. Bathrooms cleaned often. Great location near interesting parts of the city. Mostly recommended!
  • 83%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I love the place, it's clean, safe and youthful. Everybody is friendly here especially the staffs, they are really helpful. Despite this is a Christian hostel, I'm glad that there are no pushy or hardcore people promoting their religion. Nice breakfast menu as they change frequently? I had french toast on the 1st day and real Dutch pancakes on the 2nd day. Definitely will return to this place to stay a few more nights if I'm travelling to Amsterdam again :)
  • 97%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
  • Everything is good. Love the charging service since there aren't many outlets in the room!
  • 91%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • - Location of the hostel is top notch, most of the sights can be reached easily by foot. - The staff was very friendly and helpful and definitely contributed to the homely atmosphere. - I'm a fairly light sleeper, but I found my room to be relatively quiet (the metallic lockers are a source of noise though). - Not a party hostel as drugs and alcohol are forbidden. - The lockers fitted my full 40-liter backpack comfortably. Safety was no issue. - The Christian aspects are easy to overlook.
  • 89%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • There are NO curtains, so at 5am the sun is already coming through the window... That sucked!!! I would not have chosen this place if I knew about that!
  • 69%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Sabela
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »