See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 83% from 151 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • funcionários muito atenciosos e agradáveis e em geral os clientes também, por ser um Hostel evangélico!
  • 83%
  • 10 Oct 2014 JORGE LUIZ BARBOSA DE SOUZA Brazil
  • Friendly staff, inexpensive and amazing location
  • 83%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Sophia USA
  • I´m so glad to have slept in shelter City, the personal there is very friendly and willing to help you in whatever you need! the bathrooms were so clean as the toilettes, the rooms were clean as well and the people were so quiet (some were snoring but i dont care about lol), i want to say thanks to the people in the breakfast facilities for being so educated and friendly, and in the reception i can say the same, thanks for giving the best of you!! I hope to come back someday.
  • 97%
  • 03 Oct 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • I really enjoyed my stay there. The rooms are clean, the staff and the other guests are really friendly. The breakfast is great!
  • 86%
  • 30 Sep 2014 Michèle Germany
  • good! The price appeal to me.(incude breakfast!!) staff were very kind and friendly. Thank you!
  • 77%
  • 29 Sep 2014 MAEHARA Japan
  • It was very noisy at night, considering the hostel was located in the central area. The windows do not have screens and we didn't want to open the windows at night (for security reasons), so it was pretty warm/hot during the night. I stayed on the second floor and the bathrooms were located two floors up, which was very inconvenient and scary at night to go up those stairs by myself. The showers are unisex, as in girls and guys take shower in same area, though separate stalls are provided.
  • 69%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Da Som USA
  • A must-stay hostel if you are looking for safety environment, friendly staff, and delicious breakfasts. The staff were really nice and even asked me to play the broad game with them!
  • 94%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Place is amazingly inside of the Red Light District Area that will take 1 minutes to be in the middle of fun. Hostel's cafe has the best atmosphere with the friendly staff and the music. I had 2 very good nights in the hostel and I can't complain anything about the hostel. Dank Je Wel.
  • 100%
  • 12 Sep 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • I love staying at Shelter City during my stay in Amsterdam. The location is perfect, right in the middle of everything. The beds, showers, dining area are clean and well maintained. Their breakfast is also great! The staff is always friendly and helpful. and the price was also affordable and excellent! I would recommend this place! It was also nice to stay at a Christian hostel to keep sane with all the craziness surrounding the Red Light District. :)
  • 97%
  • 11 Sep 2014 Yessenia USA
  • The place is nice but the point is it's located in the red light zone and i feel kind of uneasy when I go out at night. But rooms are separated by gender, no mixed room, quite good and the free breakfast is excellent
  • 77%
  • 03 Sep 2014 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »