See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 83% from 138 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Amazing staff!! Location is great, hostel night was really cool, and most people were really friendly. I felt safe. The rooms are quite noisy and feel really small for 10 people though, I did not sleep really well. I will definitely come back, but only if I can have a 4 or 6 people room, not the big dormitories.
  • 94%
  • 01 Oct 2015 Anonymous France
  • it was 16 female domitory, but I really had a nice sleep. :)
  • 74%
  • 15 Sep 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Great place to stay right in the heart of Amsterdam. I'm not religious and they never tried to push their religion on me. I would recommend this to anyone. Awesome place!
  • 100%
  • 14 Sep 2015 Josh USA
  • Poor Breakfast they didn't have wide selection food, it is not buffet breakfast, and they give you 1 bread with thin ham and thin cheese and small coffee everyday. And the security is bad because door's bedroom doesn't have key always are open. And other thing was some floor like 3th floor alone so that was scare. There wasn't anybody and this day the administrator asked about one situation happen in this floor, so they didn't know about what happened in this floor ... Awful
  • 66%
  • 10 Sep 2015 Viviana Chile
  • It's been a really good experience, my friends and I have enjoyed our 3 nights there. The breakfast (included in the price) was great, and the rest of meals in the cart were also good. Maybe the underfloor of the bed was a bit dirty, but the rest of the room was ok. The bathrooms and the showers were also so comfortable, and everybody there have been nice with us, so we're totally satisfied.
  • 91%
  • 31 Aug 2015 Júlia Spain
  • Staff is very nice and helpfull. They are all volunteers. There is optional warm breakfast everyday (pancakes, eggs on toast...).
  • 91%
  • 27 Aug 2015 Anonymous Slovenia
  • very nice relaxed atmosphere and nice common areas...great place to stay, i would recommend it any time
  • 89%
  • 23 Aug 2015 thomas Ireland
  • The people are really nice. Great breakfast, although you can't cook for yourself in the kitchen. For those who doesn't know is a christian hostel, so you cannot do some things
  • 74%
  • 20 Aug 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • The staffs r really friendly, the location is nice as well. The room is clean. and they serve the handmade breakfast which is really nice:)
  • 97%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • The hostel is great, well thought out even with small details like free charging service (so you don't leave belongings unguarded while charging), good breakfast. very nice staff, from all over the world, but that's not so good while asking for information on the city. The christian pop music is a bit weird but they don't force anything on the guests, which was a good surprise. They have a no alcohol/drugs in the hostel policy and check you are a guest before letting you in. Still, really good
  • 83%
  • 02 Aug 2015 Anonymous Portugal
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »