See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 84% from 171 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very nice place.
  • 94%
  • 15 Mar 2015 Luciano Marques Brazil
  • It's an excellent hostel with amazing people! I really enjoyed the hostel and its principles!
  • 100%
  • 12 Mar 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • nice but too samll rooms
  • 80%
  • 24 Feb 2015 Amir Nepal
  • I really liked this hostel! Its right next to the coffee shops and cool pubs and a walking distance from the metro station. The breakfast is very good as well and the staff is super nice! It doesnt have much atmosphere if you are looking for partying in the hostel.. But it has a cafeteria and i met many cool people there and we went out 😊 There is no curfew (important) and one day the staff did this free city tour that was very nice! Im not a christian and I would definetely recommend it
  • 91%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Anonymous Chile
  • They greatly exceeded my expectations. Completely changed how I viewed hostels, my room was safe, clean, and cute. You can make friends if you want to, eat and play games, or you can just use it as a place to sleep and shower. I loved it and will definitely stay there again when I come back to Amsterdam!
  • 100%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The staff is way nice! It was the second time I was there, and they are really cool! The bedrooms thought are very small and the toilets were dirty. They don't have a lot of facilities.
  • 71%
  • 15 Feb 2015 Michelle Brazil
  • Staff and facilities were really good and nice :) especially the security. They checked a voucher every time when people come in. Breakfast was good too.
  • 83%
  • 15 Feb 2015 Yoomin South Korea
  • Very good place!!!!
  • 86%
  • 30 Jan 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • Amsterdam is a tricky place to find an entirely drug-free hostel, but Shelter does a very nice job of "keeping it clean". Thank you!
  • 89%
  • 23 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It was great! Thank you for being polite, kind and attentive!
  • 83%
  • 13 Jan 2015 Anonymous Georgia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »