See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 84% from 119 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We want to thank The Shelter City in Amsterdam. I think for the price it is the best hotel you could dream of. The staff is dedicated , and very helpful. The included breakfast is very unusual since it is homemade and delicious. The doritory are very clean and quite. We will come back to this place for sure if we are back in Amsterdam.
  • 94%
  • 20 Jan 2016 Chanelle France
  • Excellent hostel!
  • 100%
  • 05 Jan 2016 Taisa Brazil
  • Very nice hostel, the whole operation team is very friendly. Any question, you might have an answer for it. I will be there again next for sure.
  • 77%
  • 28 Dec 2015 hossam Egypt
  • We have had a nice stay in the hostel. The only thing was about the showers... not enough for all the people welcomed. Otherwise, people were all very nice, and the price is really cheap with a good breakfast included! I recommend! Thank you to the staff!
  • 83%
  • 21 Dec 2015 Anonymous Morocco
  • Great hostel with clean rooms and bathrooms. The free breakfast was excellent and the staff were really nice. It is a Christian hostel and that is very clear when you're there but they don't force it on you either. Despite the no alcohol policy, I still felt like there was a great atmosphere in the cafe and I made lots of friends. A great, cheap, friendly hostel which I would definitely go to again if I'm back in Amsterdam.
  • 86%
  • 21 Dec 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Shelter City Hostel was great ! I went with my best friend on our first trip together and the Hostel made things easier for us on this trip. It's located 1 km from the Centraal Station. The staff was adorable, especially the girls, they made the place more like a home, whether it was in the reception or the kitchen. Buy locks for your lockers and if you don't have one then you can buy one at reception for 3/4€. Everything is close, shops, restaurants, coffee shops.
  • 86%
  • 30 Oct 2015 Marwan Belgium
  • It was good in general.
  • 77%
  • 28 Oct 2015 Caner Turkey
  • The best place for visiting Amsterdam ! Really excellent, great people, perfect breakfast. Near of everything. The best ! El mejor lugar para visitar Amsterdam! Realmete excelente, genial el equipo humano, muy limpio, perfecto el desayuno. Cerca de todo. El mejor !
  • 100%
  • 15 Oct 2015 Anonymous Uruguay
  • It is my second time to stay here. Location is absolutely perfect, because you are 4 minutes away from the main square. It is really great value for money! The fact that I came back here only 4 months after my first visit, says it all.
  • 97%
  • 11 Oct 2015 Darjan Serbia
  • Staff is nice, beds and shower are good. The internet sometimes doesn't work in the rooms, so it's better going downstairs. Good atmosphere. Location is excellente. No complaints
  • 83%
  • 08 Oct 2015 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »