See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 83% from 173 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • we booked a four people room with bathroom, it's really nice, the room is really clean. The location is really good, it just besides the RLS, but it's pretty safe, and people have to show their voucher when they get into the hostel. Also, the stuffs are friendly and they are ready to help others. There also a supermarket nearby, it's pretty convenient.
  • 89%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Jingwei China
  • The hostel was lifeless and the occupants don't appear socialable. The wifi works but there are very few outlets. The bathrooms are clean and there are enough stalls for the most parts. It is also close to the train station, although tricky to find. Overall decent experience.
  • 69%
  • 16 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The location of the hostel a bit hard to find. The security need to be improve as everyone entered the hostel are able to go other room easily as there are no lock on the room and beside the main door of the room, people can come to your room from the door close to the courtyard which can't lock. You need to store your valueable things in the locker of the room and bring your lock or else you can buy it from the front desk. The staffs are nice and helpful and the breakfast provided are tasty.
  • 74%
  • 09 Apr 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Very nice place.
  • 94%
  • 15 Mar 2015 Luciano Marques Brazil
  • It's an excellent hostel with amazing people! I really enjoyed the hostel and its principles!
  • 100%
  • 12 Mar 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • nice but too samll rooms
  • 80%
  • 24 Feb 2015 Amir Nepal
  • I really liked this hostel! Its right next to the coffee shops and cool pubs and a walking distance from the metro station. The breakfast is very good as well and the staff is super nice! It doesnt have much atmosphere if you are looking for partying in the hostel.. But it has a cafeteria and i met many cool people there and we went out 😊 There is no curfew (important) and one day the staff did this free city tour that was very nice! Im not a christian and I would definetely recommend it
  • 91%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Anonymous Chile
  • They greatly exceeded my expectations. Completely changed how I viewed hostels, my room was safe, clean, and cute. You can make friends if you want to, eat and play games, or you can just use it as a place to sleep and shower. I loved it and will definitely stay there again when I come back to Amsterdam!
  • 100%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The staff is way nice! It was the second time I was there, and they are really cool! The bedrooms thought are very small and the toilets were dirty. They don't have a lot of facilities.
  • 71%
  • 15 Feb 2015 Michelle Brazil
  • Staff and facilities were really good and nice :) especially the security. They checked a voucher every time when people come in. Breakfast was good too.
  • 83%
  • 15 Feb 2015 Yoomin South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »