See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 83% from 152 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • very good
  • 89%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Konstantinos Greece
  • Good hostel and location. Just sometimes on PCs was glitches of internet. Everything is ok!
  • 83%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous Latvia
  • i liked the location of the hostel, the breakfast and the polite staff, but the bedrooms and the bathrooms were totally dirty...
  • 66%
  • 16 Oct 2014 ANASTASIOS Greece
  • funcionários muito atenciosos e agradáveis e em geral os clientes também, por ser um Hostel evangélico!
  • 83%
  • 10 Oct 2014 JORGE LUIZ BARBOSA DE SOUZA Brazil
  • Friendly staff, inexpensive and amazing location
  • 83%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Sophia USA
  • I´m so glad to have slept in shelter City, the personal there is very friendly and willing to help you in whatever you need! the bathrooms were so clean as the toilettes, the rooms were clean as well and the people were so quiet (some were snoring but i dont care about lol), i want to say thanks to the people in the breakfast facilities for being so educated and friendly, and in the reception i can say the same, thanks for giving the best of you!! I hope to come back someday.
  • 97%
  • 03 Oct 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • I really enjoyed my stay there. The rooms are clean, the staff and the other guests are really friendly. The breakfast is great!
  • 86%
  • 30 Sep 2014 Michèle Germany
  • good! The price appeal to me.(incude breakfast!!) staff were very kind and friendly. Thank you!
  • 77%
  • 29 Sep 2014 MAEHARA Japan
  • It was very noisy at night, considering the hostel was located in the central area. The windows do not have screens and we didn't want to open the windows at night (for security reasons), so it was pretty warm/hot during the night. I stayed on the second floor and the bathrooms were located two floors up, which was very inconvenient and scary at night to go up those stairs by myself. The showers are unisex, as in girls and guys take shower in same area, though separate stalls are provided.
  • 69%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Da Som USA
  • A must-stay hostel if you are looking for safety environment, friendly staff, and delicious breakfasts. The staff were really nice and even asked me to play the broad game with them!
  • 94%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »