See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 84% from 116 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good security system with hot breakfast which is better than average!
  • 77%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • It is really a cool place to study in Amsterdam. The staff are so nice, and the place is also quite good, with clean room, nice cafe, and a comfortable common room. The location of this hotel is also quite convenient, whatever style of travelling you want in Amsterdam. I would definitely recommend you stay here for your visit.
  • 100%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous China
  • good location,helpfull staf,decent breakfast.Very good value for the money.
  • 97%
  • 31 Mar 2014 Rudy Belgium
  • The staff were great especially considering that some of them were volunteers. Great hospitality.. atmosphere... food. Wish them all the best.. Definitely my first choice incase i visit amsterdam again.
  • 97%
  • 29 Mar 2014 Mohan Rajkumar India
  • Very good location and very friendly staff
  • 100%
  • 08 Mar 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • Everything is good and staff is helpful. Just that there is not enough electric plug in the room. You can charge the mobile phone at reception but that is not convenient.
  • 74%
  • 25 Feb 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Great cheap hostel. Hostel is clean and well maintained, staff are friendly and engaging and breakfast is included. Location is excellent and central. Would recommend this hostel to anyone.
  • 89%
  • 23 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Delicious breakfast!
  • 100%
  • 20 Feb 2014 Heidi USA
  • They made our stay very very comfortable! The rooms, the breakfast, the staff…everything was perfect! And what's more we had great fun in Amsterdam.
  • 97%
  • 15 Feb 2014 Beatriz Spain
  • Ok so, everything would have been perfect if it wasn't a Christian hostel. I mean, even the internet is blocked when it contains "bad words" and if you want to know more about the redlight district. Anyways, the location can't be better, it just can't. And the "chilling room", is really nice and you can stay there without limit, so thats a good point. You cannot drink beer inside though. About your room, it's excellent, but the pillow it WAY too soft for my taste.
  • 89%
  • 04 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »