See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 83% from 125 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff there are very friendly. I lose my charger for iPad there and my shampoo and washing gel as well!! That is the only one hostel which my personal things are stolen! There is no lift there!!! I resent a hotel without lift!! The female room is on third floor and the stairs are less than one meter. Believe me, you will dye because of your luggage.
  • 60%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Yang China
  • This is a really nice well run hostel in a very convenient location about 10 mins walk from Central Station.The beds were comfortable, the rooms spotless and the bathroom in the room was excellent. There is a lovely garden and a very nice cafe with pancakes or french toast for breakfast included in the price. This is a Christian hostel but not in your face. I highly recommend it!
  • 97%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Thomas Ireland
  • Decent place. Staff is very friendly but verrrryyyy slow because this place seems understaffed. It was annoying that the dorms are gender-segregated likely because of heteronormative Christian underpinnings. Cautionary signage about space cakes was also annoying but not surprising. Dorm was solemnly silent. Social area was small and needs more outlets for device charging. Bathrooms cleaned often. Great location near interesting parts of the city. Mostly recommended!
  • 83%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Everything is good. Love the charging service since there aren't many outlets in the room!
  • 91%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • - Location of the hostel is top notch, most of the sights can be reached easily by foot. - The staff was very friendly and helpful and definitely contributed to the homely atmosphere. - I'm a fairly light sleeper, but I found my room to be relatively quiet (the metallic lockers are a source of noise though). - Not a party hostel as drugs and alcohol are forbidden. - The lockers fitted my full 40-liter backpack comfortably. Safety was no issue. - The Christian aspects are easy to overlook.
  • 89%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • There are NO curtains, so at 5am the sun is already coming through the window... That sucked!!! I would not have chosen this place if I knew about that!
  • 69%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Sabela
  • it's right by the red light district and for some people it's not the best location. also the place requires more cleaning because there are bed bugs.
  • 54%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The location is good; close to Centraal Station, within walking distance of major sites. Be aware that it's in the red light district. There's not really a kitchen, just a microwave and fridge. Security was quite poor: dorm room doors don't lock, and the lockers aren't big enough for a lot of stuff. Plus, you don't get a key or card, but a slip of paper to show reception when you come into the hostel. During busy times, it's easy to just walk right in. Staff were quite helpful.
  • 69%
  • 28 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great location and super friendly staff. Good free breakfast and other food options in their cafe. You don't have to be religious to stay :D
  • 97%
  • 28 May 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Shelter city is a good place to stay, mostly staffed by Christian volunteers from across the world the atmosphere is friendly and service is with a smile. They have a meeting at 7.30 pm every day which anyone can attend though the tone and direction of the meeting is Christian.
  • 86%
  • 27 May 2014 Muneer Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »