See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 83% from 144 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • very nice relaxed atmosphere and nice common areas...great place to stay, i would recommend it any time
  • 89%
  • 23 Aug 2015 thomas Ireland
  • The people are really nice. Great breakfast, although you can't cook for yourself in the kitchen. For those who doesn't know is a christian hostel, so you cannot do some things
  • 74%
  • 20 Aug 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • The staffs r really friendly, the location is nice as well. The room is clean. and they serve the handmade breakfast which is really nice:)
  • 97%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • The hostel is great, well thought out even with small details like free charging service (so you don't leave belongings unguarded while charging), good breakfast. very nice staff, from all over the world, but that's not so good while asking for information on the city. The christian pop music is a bit weird but they don't force anything on the guests, which was a good surprise. They have a no alcohol/drugs in the hostel policy and check you are a guest before letting you in. Still, really good
  • 83%
  • 02 Aug 2015 Anonymous Portugal
  • Great location, only a two minute walk to a metro stop, and one minute from a taxi stop. There are a lot of shops and restaurants near it and it is a short 5 minute walk to the Dam Square, where there are more shops and restaurants.My least favorite thing was the fact that my room did not have a lock and had two doors to the patio, which made it easier for pretty much anyone to come in our room. So you must keep all your things locked, just in case.
  • 89%
  • 28 Jul 2015 Jennifer USA
  • The hostel was centrally located and therefore easy to get around. It was quiet and clean, but no alcohol (or drugs) allowed in the hostel. I didn't feel inclined to be social in this hostel. If you are christian and want to meet other christian travelers, if you are with friends and can survive without partying in the hostel or are not christian but are tolerant of this kind of atmosphere I would recommend it. If you are looking for a classic Amsterdam experience, I would pass.
  • 77%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Kind of expensive, but totally worth it. It has a cosy common space where everyone can hang out.
  • 83%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Ngoc Vietnam
  • I would definitely recommend this hostel to others! The staff was very helpfull and the hostel had a very very cosy common. Even though the hostel is christian you don't have to participate in any of its activities - but you get the chance, which is nice.
  • 89%
  • 07 Jul 2015 Anonymous Denmark
  • great place, perfect location, staff is the best!, so helpful and nice... brakfast lovely..... perfect place for a perfect city! hope someday I may be able to return there!
  • 97%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • WIFI is always so weak to connect in the third floor, breakfast were really so-so.
  • 57%
  • 28 Jun 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »