See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 84% from 160 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was an amazing stay in Amsterdam, also because of this perfect located hostel, 12min walk from Central Station. The staff was really nice and helpful, also very open and interested in meeting other people! We would totally recommend this hostel to everyone, nice breakfast and good and clean beds to have a sleep.
  • 100%
  • 12 Dec 2014 Fabienne Switzerland
  • facilities are not good. space btw beds are too small, room was freezing at night, blanket was too thin. and i felt i wasted my money when i got the dinner. it was too bad. you need to improove the kichen staffs.. breakfast also were soso..even so, i loved staying because of nice people and atmosphere.
  • 86%
  • 03 Dec 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • I found the hostel perfect. The facilities are good and everything is clean, the best thing by far is the location. Next to the Red District but in a really calm street. The people are nice and helpful and the breakfast is really relly good. I'll recommend it without any doubt ;)
  • 94%
  • 21 Nov 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • I was staying at the 2 dorm room with bulk bed. The room is small. The location is good but at first it was hard to find.
  • 69%
  • 14 Nov 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • It was relly good staying) Although it was 16-bed room, I didn't feel unconfortable to myself) Everything was good. I enjoyed my holiday very much, and Shelter city hostel was friendly and peaceful shelter for us))) Thank you very much
  • 86%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Ekaterina Russia
  • All you had to do to get in is show a voucher and they let you in. Everything was clean, the free breakfast wasn't bad and the staff was VERY friendly but all devout christians in the middle of the red light district, so they preach and try to coerce you into going to bible study. That being said, it was in a great location!
  • 69%
  • 30 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great place to stay, very good location and friendly staff
  • 89%
  • 28 Oct 2014 Javier Peru
  • very good
  • 89%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Konstantinos Greece
  • Good hostel and location. Just sometimes on PCs was glitches of internet. Everything is ok!
  • 83%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous Latvia
  • i liked the location of the hostel, the breakfast and the polite staff, but the bedrooms and the bathrooms were totally dirty...
  • 66%
  • 16 Oct 2014 ANASTASIOS Greece
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »