See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 83% from 147 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was very noisy at night, considering the hostel was located in the central area. The windows do not have screens and we didn't want to open the windows at night (for security reasons), so it was pretty warm/hot during the night. I stayed on the second floor and the bathrooms were located two floors up, which was very inconvenient and scary at night to go up those stairs by myself. The showers are unisex, as in girls and guys take shower in same area, though separate stalls are provided.
  • 69%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Da Som USA
  • Place is amazingly inside of the Red Light District Area that will take 1 minutes to be in the middle of fun. Hostel's cafe has the best atmosphere with the friendly staff and the music. I had 2 very good nights in the hostel and I can't complain anything about the hostel. Dank Je Wel.
  • 100%
  • 12 Sep 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • I love staying at Shelter City during my stay in Amsterdam. The location is perfect, right in the middle of everything. The beds, showers, dining area are clean and well maintained. Their breakfast is also great! The staff is always friendly and helpful. and the price was also affordable and excellent! I would recommend this place! It was also nice to stay at a Christian hostel to keep sane with all the craziness surrounding the Red Light District. :)
  • 97%
  • 11 Sep 2014 Yessenia USA
  • The place is nice but the point is it's located in the red light zone and i feel kind of uneasy when I go out at night. But rooms are separated by gender, no mixed room, quite good and the free breakfast is excellent
  • 77%
  • 03 Sep 2014 Anonymous China
  • Hostels in The Netherlands are much more expensive and less charming than other countries. They typically lack common areas, have no elevators, and there's no effort at decoration. This hostel is the best value there and includes free breakfast. It is also the biggest, with dorm-style showers and a large meals area. However the showers have some black mold, and the whole place is Christian themed, with bible study, Christian sayings on the walls, and the staff offer religious pamphlets.
  • 77%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very warm hospitality, good facilities !
  • 100%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous India
  • staff is really helpful.
  • 91%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Anonymous India
  • A great place for relaxing after walking all day around the city, but if you want to go out you are surounded by the best places in town. In concluciosion, if i go back to amsterdam, i wouldnt doubt about going back to this hostel
  • 94%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • This hostel was fine the only problem I had was when I asked the staff if my friend who was not staying at the hostel if she could chill in the cafeteria with me. They replied with 'visiting days are' and so on. It was as if my friend could not simply sit in the cafe/ chill room with me. what would we have done? Bought some food. Because of this mishap I will be reviewing accordingly.
  • 66%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Emily
  • Staff was friendly, location perfect - near everything, breakfast very good and served quickly, but toilets and showers could be cleaner!
  • 80%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous Croatia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »