See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 83% from 79 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The design of this hostel is very special , and all of every person are so friendly. I stay there in September the weather still very hot cause the room was so hot as well. It doesn't have any air-con and fan inside so it must be have a little hot.
  • 100%
  • 12 Sep 2016 WAN TING Taiwan
  • the location is great. close to every popular spots in the city. good place for stopover.
  • 80%
  • 06 Sep 2016 Anonymous Taiwan
  • it was a really nice stay there and perfect distance to the heart of the city. if I come back again, I would go stay in this hostel again.
  • 80%
  • 03 Aug 2016 Justina Germany
  • Practical and close to all major sites of interests. Facilities were well-maintained and easily accessible. The dorm I was in was big but people were respectful and I didn't have any issue. Not the best place to meet people however as many don't really want to socialize.
  • 97%
  • 25 Jul 2016 Anonymous France
  • Great location, clean and friendly staff
  • 100%
  • 21 Jul 2016 Patrick USA
  • I had a good time' the society was amazing! The staff was friendly and the other visitors too.
  • 91%
  • 29 Jun 2016 Josef Israel
  • The place is nice,clean and the people are friendly. The rooms are separate for boys and girls, so my husband and I should stay in different rooms/ floors. There's free wi -fi,but the internet connection isn't good upstairs in girls ' rooms. You should also bring your own lock if you want to leave your bag in a locker. Impressions are positive, I would stay there again.
  • 83%
  • 21 Jun 2016 Yuliia Ukraine
  • I thought the hostel was decent. They provided us with a blanket and sheets and I don't think the blanket had been cleaned, but the bathroom was ok...it could be worse. Also, if you are looking for a hostel to meet people in, this might not be the best place. Everyone kind of kept to themselves. But it was inexpensive and an awesome location, right in the red light district (which is suprising since it's a Christian hostel)
  • 74%
  • 05 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Nice hostel, perfect location close to everything and friendly staff. The bathrooms weren't very clean.
  • 80%
  • 25 May 2016 Anonymous Finland
  • there was no mention that it is a christian hostel. if i had known, i would not have chosen it.
  • 94%
  • 22 May 2016 Anonymous Singapore
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

This place has something for everyone, from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz, Chinatown, amazing seafood and one of the oldest LGBTQ scenes in the USA. And if you're a museum-...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »