See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 85% from 41 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff is kind and informative. The hostel is well kept with all needed facilities.
  • 94%
  • 21 Mar 2017 Hélène France
  • Great hostel in the middle of Amsterdam center. The staff was really nice and helped us to find places to visit or to go out. The breakfeast is free and truly delicious ! The hostel itself is lovely and clean. I highly recommend this hostel !
  • 94%
  • 06 Jan 2017 Marine France
  • The hostel was pretty good, in the center of Amsterdam, and with breakfast included! I will totally go for this one again if I ever visit Amsterdam another time. The bathrooms could be a little bit cleaner though...
  • 77%
  • 14 Oct 2016 Anonymous Spain
  • The design of this hostel is very special , and all of every person are so friendly. I stay there in September the weather still very hot cause the room was so hot as well. It doesn't have any air-con and fan inside so it must be have a little hot.
  • 100%
  • 12 Sep 2016 WAN TING Taiwan
  • It´s a very clean an safe place, right in the Red Light District. So, if you want a place to be close to everything, that´s the spot. But, as the hostel is a Christian place, you are not alowed to drink alcohol inside, include in the open area at the back, where they have a nice place to party. So, if you just want a place to sleep, that´s it.
  • 77%
  • 08 Sep 2016 Rodrigo Brazil
  • the location is great. close to every popular spots in the city. good place for stopover.
  • 80%
  • 06 Sep 2016 Anonymous Taiwan
  • it was a really nice stay there and perfect distance to the heart of the city. if I come back again, I would go stay in this hostel again.
  • 80%
  • 03 Aug 2016 Justina Germany
  • Practical and close to all major sites of interests. Facilities were well-maintained and easily accessible. The dorm I was in was big but people were respectful and I didn't have any issue. Not the best place to meet people however as many don't really want to socialize.
  • 97%
  • 25 Jul 2016 Anonymous France
  • Great location, clean and friendly staff
  • 100%
  • 21 Jul 2016 Patrick USA
  • I had a good time' the society was amazing! The staff was friendly and the other visitors too.
  • 91%
  • 29 Jun 2016 Josef Israel
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »