See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 83% from 105 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice hostel, perfect location close to everything and friendly staff. The bathrooms weren't very clean.
  • 80%
  • 25 May 2016 Anonymous Finland
  • It's just lovely, I really liked it! Activities, people, energy and everything this place has is great. I would definitely be there during my next visit.
  • 100%
  • 17 May 2016 Anonymous Saudi Arabia
  • If you come to Amsterdam to have fun: DONT go to that place. Its so boring there and almost no possibilities to meet people as you know it from other hostel. actually i left one day before my actual leaving date. Even i knew i wouldnt get a refund i just wanted to leave. Btw: Showers are closed from 10:30 am for around 1-2 hours, due to cleaning...just then when people wake up and want to get ready for the day. breakfast is a slice of toast with an egg...not worth the money.
  • 40%
  • 26 Apr 2016 Mohamed Germany
  • Shelter City was perfect. Everything from price, location, security, cleanliness, staff and facilities was 10 on 10. Totally recommended to anyone planning to go to Amsterdam. This was my 3rd stay in hostels in Amsterdam and the regret that I had not stayed here earlier.
  • 100%
  • 23 Apr 2016 Anonymous India
  • Good location, good security, other aspects are average and just acceptable. Some staff are good but some are rude. Toilet and bath is a little bit cold.
  • 69%
  • 22 Apr 2016 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Thank you.
  • 100%
  • 17 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • no drape no shutter I've been waking up at 5h30 everyday because of that ... But it was very well located, the staff was so nice & the included breakfast was so good too.
  • 83%
  • 08 Apr 2016 Nicolas France
  • Do not carry 200 EUR they cannot change the money above 100 EUR.
  • 69%
  • 05 Mar 2016 Anonymous Turkey
  • Excellent breakfast. first time i see a hostel with breakfast bundled in serve individual portions not buffet. A christian hostel and i am agnostic but i think they have created a safe/welcoming environment for all
  • 100%
  • 04 Mar 2016 Danny Netherlands
  • Really nice people. Good value. Included breakfast is a treat!
  • 86%
  • 01 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »