See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 83% from 138 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The place is nice but the point is it's located in the red light zone and i feel kind of uneasy when I go out at night. But rooms are separated by gender, no mixed room, quite good and the free breakfast is excellent
  • 77%
  • 03 Sep 2014 Anonymous China
  • Hostels in The Netherlands are much more expensive and less charming than other countries. They typically lack common areas, have no elevators, and there's no effort at decoration. This hostel is the best value there and includes free breakfast. It is also the biggest, with dorm-style showers and a large meals area. However the showers have some black mold, and the whole place is Christian themed, with bible study, Christian sayings on the walls, and the staff offer religious pamphlets.
  • 77%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very warm hospitality, good facilities !
  • 100%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous India
  • staff is really helpful.
  • 91%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Anonymous India
  • A great place for relaxing after walking all day around the city, but if you want to go out you are surounded by the best places in town. In concluciosion, if i go back to amsterdam, i wouldnt doubt about going back to this hostel
  • 94%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • This hostel was fine the only problem I had was when I asked the staff if my friend who was not staying at the hostel if she could chill in the cafeteria with me. They replied with 'visiting days are' and so on. It was as if my friend could not simply sit in the cafe/ chill room with me. what would we have done? Bought some food. Because of this mishap I will be reviewing accordingly.
  • 66%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Emily
  • Staff was friendly, location perfect - near everything, breakfast very good and served quickly, but toilets and showers could be cleaner!
  • 80%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous Croatia
  • I had a big luggage, so I was lucky that the 16 bed dorm I booked was on the ground floor. The staff are nice and helpful. I see that their bathrooms are cleaned quite frequently (as the cleaning schedule suggest). The toilet and bathrooms are at the end of the hall, while there is a washing basin within the room. Although within a busy area, the hostel is within a smaller street, which means less noise and guest there are generally respectful and quiet at night.
  • 83%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • For the most part, a clean hostel with really friendly and helpful staff. Only dislike was that you need a big lock for the lockers.
  • 80%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I didn't like the steep stairs. Except that, it was pretty good.
  • 94%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »