See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter City

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 83% from 128 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • staff is really helpful.
  • 91%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Anonymous India
  • A great place for relaxing after walking all day around the city, but if you want to go out you are surounded by the best places in town. In concluciosion, if i go back to amsterdam, i wouldnt doubt about going back to this hostel
  • 94%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • This hostel was fine the only problem I had was when I asked the staff if my friend who was not staying at the hostel if she could chill in the cafeteria with me. They replied with 'visiting days are' and so on. It was as if my friend could not simply sit in the cafe/ chill room with me. what would we have done? Bought some food. Because of this mishap I will be reviewing accordingly.
  • 66%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Emily
  • Staff was friendly, location perfect - near everything, breakfast very good and served quickly, but toilets and showers could be cleaner!
  • 80%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous Croatia
  • I had a big luggage, so I was lucky that the 16 bed dorm I booked was on the ground floor. The staff are nice and helpful. I see that their bathrooms are cleaned quite frequently (as the cleaning schedule suggest). The toilet and bathrooms are at the end of the hall, while there is a washing basin within the room. Although within a busy area, the hostel is within a smaller street, which means less noise and guest there are generally respectful and quiet at night.
  • 83%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • For the most part, a clean hostel with really friendly and helpful staff. Only dislike was that you need a big lock for the lockers.
  • 80%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I didn't like the steep stairs. Except that, it was pretty good.
  • 94%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • In general, the staff and guests are very nice and its a very peaceful place. Living in a dorm with 14 other strangers really wasn't a problem at all. Cheap and very central.
  • 89%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Louise Johanna Norway
  • Pluses: friendly staff and atmosphere, lockers provided, wifi, free breakfast, great loacation and a sink in your bathroom! Warnings: bring your own padlock or you´ll have to buy one; not enough outlets for everyone in the room (they do have charging stations by reception, but I never tried them); no elevators Overall, would definitely stay here again. Thanks for the great experience Shelter City!
  • 97%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Christian hostel located right in the red light district, so it's kind of a paradox. Central location. With little air circulation, it was pretty miserable in my room in the hot and humid Amsterdam summer. There are lockers and some of the rooms also have locks. Men's restroom and showers were not very nice. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hostel offers some collective activities and meals. Free breakfast was pretty good. A good hostel all around with some small issues.
  • 86%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »