See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter Jordan

Bloemstraat 179, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 83% from 69 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was one of the best Hostels I've ever been. Everyone of the Staff is very nice and helpfull+several languages. It's not far from the Central Station and not far from the Center, but it took me a while to find it, because I had just an adress, and the Hostel itslef is in a quite small Street, so the name of the street was not on my map. But if you inform yourself bevor your trip you'll have no problem. Even if it's a christian Hostel, thei have no Problem at all with non christian visitors.
  • 86%
  • 01 Sep 2015 Hannes Germany
  • Really nice place, really close the city centre of Amsterdam, nice neiborhood. Really nice people, always helpful and smiling.
  • 86%
  • 21 Aug 2015 Anonymous France
  • Loved Shelter Jordan! The staff was very friendly, always willing to help. It's very well located, easy to find and to see touristic places, and it was fairly clean. Breakfast was also good: for free you had three options, including pancakes sometimes, and everyday the hostel offered some activity. My only complaint is that the shelter should put some kind of wall between the showers, because the water of people taking a shower next to me always invaded my space.
  • 91%
  • 06 Aug 2015 Alice Brazil
  • Great hostel! The WiFi was not very good in the rooms, but in the common room was very good. Hot breakfast was amazing, and the staff were very, very friendly!
  • 89%
  • 28 Jul 2015 Gregory Canada
  • It was a nice hostel with a good position close to the Anne frank house and tram but lacked a fun atmosphere. It was always so quiet and lacked excitement.
  • 83%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Staffs here with good smile and provide us lots of travel details. And everything here was clean as described. Location is prefect and easy to find. And we met some new guys here. Good experience staying in this hostel.
  • 94%
  • 22 Jun 2015 Mak Hong Kong
  • I stayed at Shelter Jordan only for one night, so I can't say anything definitive about it. Anyway, I liked the location, it's not far from the center. But the one thing I would like to propose is that, maybe you need some more plugs to charge mobile phones, because there was only one of them
  • 83%
  • 07 Jun 2015 Kudrat Kazakhstan
  • I'm not sur if I missed this in the description but this is a Christian hostel which is completely fine but they are kind strick about the rules in Amsterdam. Such as no alcohol at all, no drugs, no food in rooms, no this, and no that. Also the Internet is horrible and forces you to sign in with Facebook and abunch of other stuff, and the showers are vy low pressure and you can barely take a proper shower. I would pay more for better accommodations next time.
  • 71%
  • 02 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I'm a little bit more of a partying, going out type person and didn't realize this hostel is not for that type of life. Despite that, I did enjoy my stay. The hostel was very clean, had tasty and affordable food/snacks, and had a wonderful staff. I would absolutely recommend this hostel to someone looking for a quiet, more introverted stay in Amsterdam.
  • 94%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Brendan USA
  • Very positive environment! The lack of drugs and alcohol was actually refreshing in Amsterdam, and the breakfast is real (not just bread and coffee). Would definitely stay with this company again.
  • 94%
  • 28 May 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »