See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter Jordan

Bloemstraat 179, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 78% from 49 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff were friendly and the hostel got a really nice cafe where you can borrow books or play board games. The only bad thing is that there is no electrical plug in my room (16 bed dorm) so you have to leave the chargers for them to chharge.
  • 86%
  • 23 Nov 2014 Anonymous England
  • Only one place to charge your phone in the 4 person room. Hostel is pretty far away from the city center. breakfast wasnt anything special but it was ok.
  • 60%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Everyone was very nice! Safe and clean place to stay. Liked how the dorms were separated by males and females. The location was very central and not a far walk from anywhere in the city.
  • 91%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Lucy USA
  • no outlets in the room. breakfast was good. rooms were gross. booked 3 nights. stayed one night and had to leave because it was so gross
  • 46%
  • 13 Oct 2014 Mackenzie
  • Missed inform us at the reception about the messages, meetings that the hostel promotes day-to-day. Always discovered after hours. And one or two chairs in the rooms :) gave way to wedge or support anything.
  • 80%
  • 25 Sep 2014 Anonymous Portugal
  • Good employees..Security is very good and well-maintained..the rooms were clean
  • 100%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • Good place to stay. It's clean, secure and well located. The breakfast it's surprisingly good given that it's a youth hostel (French Toasts, pancakes, eggs... Delicious!). Although, this hostel is a Christian Hostel. Personally I don't care but I didn't know when I booked it and I think it's an important thing to say, especially when you go to the common room and you find a Bible in every table.
  • 80%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Isaac Spain
  • nic staff, clean rooms/bathrooms. Many facilities like locker/towel.
  • 89%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Efraïm Netherlands
  • It is by the bus station which takes to Airport but little away from main attraction. If you want party stay towards dam square
  • 63%
  • 10 May 2014 Amit USA
  • Although it sits a little out of the city center, it's still well within walking distance of anything in the city. And if you prefer less hustle and bistle, this is perfect. It's alcohol and drug free, so if you're hoping to avoid or limit the partying atmosphere, this is great. Also, breakfast is free and they offer a lunch and dinner menu. Can't beat that.
  • 83%
  • 02 May 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

From learning the lingo to leaping out of a plane, here are 14 things you must try to make your travels unforgettable in 2015.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »