See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter Jordan

Bloemstraat 179, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 84% from 68 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was a nice hostel with a good position close to the Anne frank house and tram but lacked a fun atmosphere. It was always so quiet and lacked excitement.
  • 83%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Staffs here with good smile and provide us lots of travel details. And everything here was clean as described. Location is prefect and easy to find. And we met some new guys here. Good experience staying in this hostel.
  • 94%
  • 22 Jun 2015 Mak Hong Kong
  • I stayed at Shelter Jordan only for one night, so I can't say anything definitive about it. Anyway, I liked the location, it's not far from the center. But the one thing I would like to propose is that, maybe you need some more plugs to charge mobile phones, because there was only one of them
  • 83%
  • 07 Jun 2015 Kudrat Kazakhstan
  • I'm not sur if I missed this in the description but this is a Christian hostel which is completely fine but they are kind strick about the rules in Amsterdam. Such as no alcohol at all, no drugs, no food in rooms, no this, and no that. Also the Internet is horrible and forces you to sign in with Facebook and abunch of other stuff, and the showers are vy low pressure and you can barely take a proper shower. I would pay more for better accommodations next time.
  • 71%
  • 02 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I'm a little bit more of a partying, going out type person and didn't realize this hostel is not for that type of life. Despite that, I did enjoy my stay. The hostel was very clean, had tasty and affordable food/snacks, and had a wonderful staff. I would absolutely recommend this hostel to someone looking for a quiet, more introverted stay in Amsterdam.
  • 94%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Brendan USA
  • Very positive environment! The lack of drugs and alcohol was actually refreshing in Amsterdam, and the breakfast is real (not just bread and coffee). Would definitely stay with this company again.
  • 94%
  • 28 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • everything is fine, really good people in this hostel. i definitely recommend
  • 86%
  • 22 May 2015 Andrea Italy
  • Really enjoyed staying at Shelter Jordan. The staff, for the most part, was friendly. Bit hard to find, the directions on getting to the hostel should really be improved. A stones throw away from the Anne Frank House and a short walk to Dam Square. Hot showers and breakfast included was a bonus. Wifi worked well within the hostel. Would definitely stay here again.
  • 89%
  • 13 May 2015 Andrea USA
  • only one plug in a 8-people room, terrible
  • 91%
  • 05 May 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Nice to have a lovely breakfast and the opportunity to sit in the cafe during the evening with others when it is raining:)
  • 83%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Paula Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »