See other Amsterdam properties

Shelter Jordan

Bloemstraat 179, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 82% from 54 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was a great stay at Shelter Jordan ! Really enjoyed it. The staff is very welcoming and always wants to help you in any possible way. Also the breakfast was very good. I sincerly recommand this hostel if you stay in Amsterdam . Jordan's district is also very nice.
  • 91%
  • 20 Mar 2015 Anonymous France
  • Place was very nice. I'll def. come back some other time. Could have been nice with a little shelf next to the bed (for us who are 'blind' without our glasses and who don't want to put them next to the pillow!). Also extra plugs to charge phones etc. One per 4 people is NOT up to 2015-standard! Breakfast was very nice. I also bought a dinner at the hostel once... That on the other hand, I cannot recommend (unless you're not used to the taste of good food) not even for the price of 6 Euro!
  • 94%
  • 08 Feb 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • A very friendly envelonment.....it,s like a real family Breakfast is wonderful...i really enjoyed it. I would recommend Shelter to people who are not students...do not hesitate...age is not a limit all are welcome.
  • 83%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Florence Kenya
  • It was an amazing hostel , nice and courteous staff, clean bathrooms, good housekeeping. A very good experience at this hostel.
  • 97%
  • 24 Nov 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The staff were friendly and the hostel got a really nice cafe where you can borrow books or play board games. The only bad thing is that there is no electrical plug in my room (16 bed dorm) so you have to leave the chargers for them to chharge.
  • 86%
  • 23 Nov 2014 Anonymous England
  • Only one place to charge your phone in the 4 person room. Hostel is pretty far away from the city center. breakfast wasnt anything special but it was ok.
  • 60%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Everyone was very nice! Safe and clean place to stay. Liked how the dorms were separated by males and females. The location was very central and not a far walk from anywhere in the city.
  • 91%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Lucy USA
  • no outlets in the room. breakfast was good. rooms were gross. booked 3 nights. stayed one night and had to leave because it was so gross
  • 46%
  • 13 Oct 2014 Mackenzie
  • Missed inform us at the reception about the messages, meetings that the hostel promotes day-to-day. Always discovered after hours. And one or two chairs in the rooms :) gave way to wedge or support anything.
  • 80%
  • 25 Sep 2014 Anonymous Portugal
  • Good employees..Security is very good and well-maintained..the rooms were clean
  • 100%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Anonymous Turkey
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »