See other Johannesburg properties

Shoestrings Airport Lodge

85 Gladiator Street, Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, Johannesburg, South Africa, Distance from city centre: 20.4km

Rating: 82% from 10 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The owner and the staff were very nice.
  • 77%
  • 03 Oct 2014 Anonymous South Africa
  • Airport pick up and drop off make this the go to option for a stop over in J'Burg. Had to hunt out hot water downstairs in dorm area as the water in our "shared" bathroom was only luke warm (downstairs was great though, hot and good pressure) Would go back again!
  • 86%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Donna Australia
  • Rob,the owner, was very kind and helped me in everything I needed. The staff was also very kind. It was weird that the place didn't have towels but I head my own so it was fine. Very convenient for an early trip to the Johannesburg airport.
  • 94%
  • 14 May 2014 Anonymous Colombia
  • Rob was a generous and interesting host. The airport transfers were accommodating, excellent and smooth. The bed in my single room wasn't all that comfortable, but I got a good night's rest after two really long flights. Great location for O.R. Tambo airport.
  • 91%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • very friendly staff. graden and house are very nice, however seems to be quite run down and not well maintained.
  • 66%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Markus Germany
  • Pickup and Drop Off at OR Tambo perfect! But no possibility to use credit card, and, surprisingly no breakfast at all. Lots of residentiary international guest inhabiting that hostel. No snacks in the hostel, only tea or coffee, no food store in walking distance. Only a expensive good hotel restaurant on the opposite side. Noisy guests, lots of talk in the evening, at night, in the morning, and you are maybe seated with your nosy neigbour couple from that dormitory, in the plane. One night ok
  • 71%
  • 10 Dec 2013 Franz Germany
  • The staff is very helpful. Rob goes out of his way to help all his guests. Most of the guests were nice too, but some guests did not meet their part of the bargain. They occupied the kitchen as if no one else needed to use it. Left their rubbish on the counter and their food in the communal pots on the stove. I saw housekeeping mop dirty foot prints on the kitchen floor minutes after she had mopped it.
  • 71%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent lodgings and service. My girlfriend and I flew into Jo'burg after finishing our Peace Corps service in West Africa. Alan, the proprietor, came to pick us up promptly and free of charge. We had a large, clean, comfortable room to ourselves and a bathroom with bathtub, but no shower (my only quibble, although it was lovely to have a bath). Alan was extremely helpful and cordial, and dropped us off at the train station free of charge the next day. Great location, price and service.
  • 97%
  • 23 Oct 2013 Mikeal USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »