See other Johannesburg properties

Shoestrings Airport Lodge

85 Gladiator Street, Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, Johannesburg, South Africa, Distance from city centre: 20.4km

Rating: 84% from 11 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 94%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Rob was a generous and interesting host. The airport transfers were accommodating, excellent and smooth. The bed in my single room wasn't all that comfortable, but I got a good night's rest after two really long flights. Great location for O.R. Tambo airport.
  • 91%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • very friendly staff. graden and house are very nice, however seems to be quite run down and not well maintained.
  • 66%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Markus Germany
  • Pickup and Drop Off at OR Tambo perfect! But no possibility to use credit card, and, surprisingly no breakfast at all. Lots of residentiary international guest inhabiting that hostel. No snacks in the hostel, only tea or coffee, no food store in walking distance. Only a expensive good hotel restaurant on the opposite side. Noisy guests, lots of talk in the evening, at night, in the morning, and you are maybe seated with your nosy neigbour couple from that dormitory, in the plane. One night ok
  • 71%
  • 10 Dec 2013 Franz Germany
  • The staff is very helpful. Rob goes out of his way to help all his guests. Most of the guests were nice too, but some guests did not meet their part of the bargain. They occupied the kitchen as if no one else needed to use it. Left their rubbish on the counter and their food in the communal pots on the stove. I saw housekeeping mop dirty foot prints on the kitchen floor minutes after she had mopped it.
  • 71%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent lodgings and service. My girlfriend and I flew into Jo'burg after finishing our Peace Corps service in West Africa. Alan, the proprietor, came to pick us up promptly and free of charge. We had a large, clean, comfortable room to ourselves and a bathroom with bathtub, but no shower (my only quibble, although it was lovely to have a bath). Alan was extremely helpful and cordial, and dropped us off at the train station free of charge the next day. Great location, price and service.
  • 97%
  • 23 Oct 2013 Mikeal USA
  • I had 5 hours in between flights, the price is very cheap, beakfast and transfer in/out included! excellent service.
  • 91%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Anonymous Argentina
  • Super convenient place to stay if you're coming in for a late flight or whatever. The staff was really nice and prompt with pick-up/drop-off!
  • 89%
  • 14 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Convenient and friendly. The fact that they provide pickup and drop-offs to the airport is also a huge plus. Would absolutely recommend this place to friends. Perfect for those who need a place to stay between flights at OR Tambo. Might be a problem if you want to stay a few days unless you have a car, as the place is literally at the airport so any taxis you get might be very costly.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Rob is really nice, helpful and friendly. The hostel has a good location near the O.R. Tambo airport and is a walking distance from a train station. We stayed in a double room with bathroom with own entrance from the garden. The room was clean and had everything we needed including a comfy bed and a heater (wintertime). The main building has a well equipped and clean kitchen. We would gladly stay at Shoestrings again.
  • 94%
  • 02 Jul 2013 Alexander Sweden
  • Great value, prompt airport pickup, free upgrade--I'll definitely recommend them.
  • 80%
  • 08 May 2013 Regina USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »