See other Auckland properties

Silverfern Backpackers

234 Hobson Street, Auckland, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 71% from 10 reviews

  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 62%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I've stayed in a lot of hostels and this is one of the worst. We found out the fridges get turned off at night and that was why food was going off, the rooms smelled damp and were cramped, hardly anything worked in the kitchen, the staff were moody. The other backpackers were amazing, the bathrooms were clean and new. If you're there for a few nights it's value for money, longer - find somewhere else.
  • 51%
  • 21 Sep 2016 Christine England
  • Auckland can be very expensive for accommodation so when I stumbled upon Silverfern hostel I was delighted. I had a 12 bed room, although the room was fully booked with lots of other backpackers, it was fine for the amount of time I spent there. The room, linen and bathroom were all clean. I would definitely stay here again,...
  • 100%
  • 01 Sep 2016 Anonymous Australia
  • It's a real fun place to stay with awesome receptionists from Germany & France, the hostel is spacious and clean. Good wifi connections and close to the city shops.
  • 100%
  • 21 Aug 2016 Laura England
  • It's a nice hostel, fairly quiet due to winter. Staff were helpful, my mattress was very comfortable. Bathrooms and kitchen very clean and the free wifi was fast and had a good connection. The airport Sky bus is very close and overall the backpackers is in a good location.
  • 97%
  • 20 Jun 2016 Sally Hong Kong
  • Great hostel with good deals on prices, 12 bed dorm I stayed in was spacious and very clean. Facilities at hostel were excellent, bathrooms had hot water and looked very trendy. Kitchen was large and warm with plenty of frying pans and plates. The reception staff were helpful especially the manager, who was able to get me a discounted taxi to the airport. I will hopefully spend more time in the summer when I come back to Auckland
  • 100%
  • 05 Jun 2016 Gianni Italy
  • Not that clean and dorms way to hot and humid..
  • 54%
  • 29 Feb 2016 Ida Sweden
  • Wifi was terrible, it took ages to load even the mobile version of facebook :/ Otherwise very friendly staff, and I've met some nice chaps there :)
  • 77%
  • 11 Dec 2015 Mihaly Hungary
  • This is a hostel for people who want to stay up until 5am partying. If you want to stay at a place that feels like a fraternity, then this is the hostel for you. If you want a quiet room to get some sleep, this is not the place for you. The women's bathroom was fairly clean and so was the kitchen. However, my friend told me the men's room was a mess. It wasn't really dirty. It's just loud and don't expect it to quiet down before 5am.
  • 40%
  • 05 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I definitely do not recommend this Hostel. Staff very rude and not helpful at all. This hostel is trying to get money for everything they can. Wifi connection is the worst connection ever. You can be connected only from the common living room and it is very slow, you are being disconnected all the time and the excuse of the manager is that there's to many people connected at the same time. Anyway just do not go there or you will regret it :)
  • 46%
  • 28 Oct 2015 Kevin
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »