See other London properties

Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 70% from 50 reviews

  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 57%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Horrible. Never again.
  • 34%
  • 27 Nov 2015 Krzysztof Poland
  • very bad! it is very small: no space where to have breakfast, the common space just does not exist, so do not even think to have a chat with the other hostel-mates. The rooms are dirty, very small and the bathroom does not exist. I saw little animals all around the hostel mainly cockroach in the bathrooms. You have to pay for everything such as locks. Too expensive for what they offer: one dirty bed. 4 plugs per room of 8 people. I always travel in hostels...this was the worst experience ever
  • 29%
  • 30 Oct 2015 Marco Italy
  • There was not enough space in the rooms for people and bags. The top bunks didn't have any cover from the light in the room so people turning it on and off constantly woke me up. There are not nearly enough outlets. The beds are stacked 3 high. There's no atmosphere at all but it was cheap and toast, cereal and tea were free for breakfast. Overall a pretty depressing place to stay but the location so close to the tube is hard to beat.
  • 57%
  • 22 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Good hostel, but an italian girl got her wallet stolen inside the room. You have to pay 5 pounds for towels.
  • 71%
  • 03 Oct 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • I hated this hostel. No wifi (had to steal from hotel next door), no age limit or family restrictions, small common areas for over 400 guests, rude staff, and I got locked in one of their showers (apparently a frequent occurrence). They charge you for lockers (£1.5/day as well. The only positives were the supermarket nearby and location to the tube.
  • 51%
  • 25 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • All in all it was OK, but main disadvantages were showers and breakfasts. Showers have so poor ventilation that in combination with very hot water it is no longer shower but a sauna. Breakfasts could have been more diversified. Cereals and toast with jam are good, but I suppose most people were lacking some meat/ham and dairy products such as cheese, eggs. Big plus for staff - always on post, very helpful 24/7 and always with good attitude. :)
  • 63%
  • 10 Aug 2015 Łukasz Poland
  • Booking this hostel will ruin your trip!Although the staff was nice and the location and surroundings are good, I had a terrible night here. If you enter the hall to the rooms you see how old the place really is. My room was hot with bad aircirculation, the bed was too small, there was a box hanging above my head on which I bumbed my head everytime I slightly moved it. Next to my bed were very noisy waterlines.The toilets and showers were dirty and old and very busy. Renovate the place!!!
  • 51%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Esther Netherlands
  • If you want location and price above all, then this is the place for you. Right next to hyde park and a tube station. But it's a little too packed to meet people, and facilities aren't very clean. It is actually quiet in the 20-bed dorm and you can close a curtain for your bed when you sleep, but there is only 1 power outlet in the whole room, and ventilation is not enough.
  • 66%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This is a standard busy inner city London hostel with no personal touch. Location is good and easy to get everywhere in London from there. Kitchen is standard fridge, microwave and hot plate only. Rooms are big enough for the 16 and 20 bed dorms but they are in desperate need of ventilation. One small fan and one small window makes it horrible to spend any time in there. This is a pay for extras hostel. Pay for lockers in your room, towels, pool table, etc which is always annoying. Great staff.
  • 71%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • The French girl at check in was very friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure talking to her. The Arabic/Indian guys who worked there seemed a bit rude and off putting, not very helpful.
  • 66%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »