See other London properties

Smart Russell Square Hostel

71 Guilford Street, London, England, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 72% from 51 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • good atmosphere. the common room was very nice. It was easy to talk to the other guests and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a twin room and it would be nice with a table and two chairs. Otherwise you were "forced" to go to the common room. We needed outlets near the beds (then it would be easier to have your phone close to you in the morning). My sandwich also got stolen from the refrigerator, although i had labeled it :( but it was a good hostel compared to the price.
  • 74%
  • 30 Jul 2015 Nanna Juulsgaard Denmark
  • For someone who's looking to meet new people on holidays this hostel might not be the best choice.. half of the people in the hostel were in London for work and the other half were teenagers on a school trip..
  • 63%
  • 13 Jul 2015 Michiel Netherlands
  • Definitely the best hostel i have ever been in. Friendly and helpful staff, the position in the city is perfect, you're close to everything you may need, great place
  • 91%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Domenico Italy
  • Top Location and nice atmosphere! Go there if you dont need much sleep, the beds are tiny and very noisy!
  • 66%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Anonymous Austria
  • I have been there 4 years ago. No improvement was made. Deterioration is the word for defining that place.
  • 46%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Albano Brazil
  • It's a nice place if you want a cheap place to sleep. There is a billar table abaliable (In a bad condition) and they do not allow you to bring alcohol to the hostel because they sell there, that I didn't like because they dont sell it cheap as it is in a common shop.
  • 71%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • I stayed in a private room for 2 nights. The room was pretty decent and the staff polite and helpful. Unfortunately the WiFi didn't work in the room, the shower only had cold water and the room was located directly above the common showers. So at night it was really loud! One of those showers must have been broken it sounded as if a plane was taken off inside our room!!!! Every night!!!! That was really annoying, scary and upsetting!!!!
  • 74%
  • 23 May 2015 Jana Germany
  • Smart Russel Square is one of the worst hostels I've stayed in, and that says a lot. I would at least expect hot water in the showers, but they only had that some days. Some people in the staff were nice, the rest quite rude and unhelpful. There is a 10 pound cash deposit for each person, the kitchen is small and gross, the 10 ppl mixed dorm is TINY and filthy with only One outlet and the window only opens 15 centimeters, so the air is really bad. Over priced, unfriendly and quite filthy.
  • 40%
  • 20 May 2015 Jenny Sweden
  • They split my group of four people in two separate rooms and not 2/2 but 3/1 and were not willing to change that even though there was a single person in the room of our 3. Also the staff could barely speak English.
  • 57%
  • 04 Apr 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • I kind of hated this hostel until I got to my room and saw the curtains on the bed-- heaven! Never slept better in a dorm than with these thick, light cancelling, noise reducing things. The location is also great. The things I did NOT like about this hostel are the one bathroom/shower room for the whole floor (definitely not enough-- expect crowds and long waits), the largely clueless staff (couldn't tell me anything about local transportation), the lack of community feel. Overall, not bad.
  • 66%
  • 25 Mar 2015 Olga USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »