See other London properties

Smart Russell Square Hostel

71 Guilford Street, London, England, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 71% from 59 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 71%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff was not service minded - my friend had poop on her sheets she received and they promised to deliver new ones but they did not, I could not sleep because of the thin walls and therefor a lot of noise and it was mold in the shower.
  • 37%
  • 03 Oct 2015 Frida Sweden
  • For the second time, I had to wait to book out until any male who wanted to book out was processed ahead of me. That made me late to my meeting. I had allowed plenty of time.
  • 63%
  • 30 Sep 2015 Jane Wales
  • Very good location. It's a bit old But you get value for your money. I was for work in London. So this hostel was good. if you like to party it is better to take a other hostel.
  • 74%
  • 29 Sep 2015 Mike Netherlands
  • Would not recommend. Very narrow, slightly smelly rooms. Had to change rooms within the three night stay. Lockers in room were large which was good but they cost extra eventhough the hostel has no further expenses by letting them being used. Bathrooms ensuite and curtains in front of bunk bed were good. Breakfast is simple: toast, nutella, strawberry jam, butter, Cornflakes, milk, black tea, instant coffee.
  • 54%
  • 20 Sep 2015 Louise Germany
  • Rooms are small and beds smaller than regular size On the floor there's no room for baggage. Our room was in a hall and doors had springs that pulled them back so every 5 minutes you could hear door banging. Toilets stank Hostel security guy asks you for your key card every 5 minutes if you happen to be in a common room or if you're entering hostel after smoking cigarette, even though he saw you get out 5 minutes ago.Making sandwich in the kitchen? Prepare to show your card at least twice.
  • 31%
  • 06 Aug 2015 Anonymous Croatia
  • good atmosphere. the common room was very nice. It was easy to talk to the other guests and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a twin room and it would be nice with a table and two chairs. Otherwise you were "forced" to go to the common room. We needed outlets near the beds (then it would be easier to have your phone close to you in the morning). My sandwich also got stolen from the refrigerator, although i had labeled it :( but it was a good hostel compared to the price.
  • 74%
  • 30 Jul 2015 Nanna Juulsgaard Denmark
  • For someone who's looking to meet new people on holidays this hostel might not be the best choice.. half of the people in the hostel were in London for work and the other half were teenagers on a school trip..
  • 63%
  • 13 Jul 2015 Michiel Netherlands
  • Definitely the best hostel i have ever been in. Friendly and helpful staff, the position in the city is perfect, you're close to everything you may need, great place
  • 91%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Domenico Italy
  • Top Location and nice atmosphere! Go there if you dont need much sleep, the beds are tiny and very noisy!
  • 66%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Anonymous Austria
  • I have been there 4 years ago. No improvement was made. Deterioration is the word for defining that place.
  • 46%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Albano Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »