See other London properties

Smart Russell Square Hostel

71 Guilford Street, London, England, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 68% from 41 reviews

  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 69%Staff
  • 66%Security
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • convenient location
  • 71%
  • 19 Feb 2016 Sabine Germany
  • Really had trouble enjoying my stay, bathroom where most of the times dirty, included breakfast was of low quality, and the prices seemed fair before, but after seeing the room and the bathroom it was disappointing.
  • 54%
  • 17 Feb 2016 Rubia Brazil
  • The major issue was not with the hostel itself but with the people staying there. Very rude, making noise and turning on the lights at all times at night. Some people also apparently helped themselves in the stuff of others. My slippers went missing, did not know I had to put them in the locker too! Also, the rooms and beds were small, and the showers could use more cleaning up!
  • 57%
  • 21 Jan 2016 Anonymous France
  • Wifi is weak and lacking of enough sockets in the dorm
  • 49%
  • 31 Dec 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Very weak wifi in room
  • 57%
  • 31 Dec 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Super close to the next underground station and the British Museum. 20min walk to Oxford Street. The price was alright but to use the lockers or store your luggage, you have to pay extra per day. Breakfast is included and is good with some cereals, "juices" (more sweet stuff than juice), toast and spreads. The showers are like in a gym hall with lockers outside and rows of tiny showers that splash all over your head but not body. Beds are three-level bunk beds with curtains.Room smelled of feet.
  • 60%
  • 16 Dec 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • The staff was not service minded - my friend had poop on her sheets she received and they promised to deliver new ones but they did not, I could not sleep because of the thin walls and therefor a lot of noise and it was mold in the shower.
  • 37%
  • 03 Oct 2015 Frida Sweden
  • For the second time, I had to wait to book out until any male who wanted to book out was processed ahead of me. That made me late to my meeting. I had allowed plenty of time.
  • 63%
  • 30 Sep 2015 Jane Wales
  • Very good location. It's a bit old But you get value for your money. I was for work in London. So this hostel was good. if you like to party it is better to take a other hostel.
  • 74%
  • 29 Sep 2015 Mike Netherlands
  • Would not recommend. Very narrow, slightly smelly rooms. Had to change rooms within the three night stay. Lockers in room were large which was good but they cost extra eventhough the hostel has no further expenses by letting them being used. Bathrooms ensuite and curtains in front of bunk bed were good. Breakfast is simple: toast, nutella, strawberry jam, butter, Cornflakes, milk, black tea, instant coffee.
  • 54%
  • 20 Sep 2015 Louise Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »