See other London properties

Smart Russell Square Hostel

71 Guilford Street, London, England, Distance from city centre: 2.6km

Rating: 66% from 32 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 66%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 66%Value for money
  • 59%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • After arriving at the hostel it turned out the beds we were assigned we not cleaned yet (previous person left their bed linnen and all). We were told they would do so in the afternoon, but when we returned around dinner time it was still not cleaned. My boyfriend asked again and was told they would do so in a minute. After asking 3 times, we just did it ourselves because it was 10:30 pm and we wanted to sleep. All in all the staff was not nice and didn't seem to be bothered at all.
  • 57%
  • 05 Jul 2016 Alyssa Netherlands
  • The bathrooms are really small!! And the kitchen is too small, which is not enough for so many people.
  • 69%
  • 25 May 2016 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • great place and great kitchen facilities. Nice to have muesli for breakfast!
  • 100%
  • 26 Apr 2016 Anonymous England
  • convenient location
  • 71%
  • 19 Feb 2016 Sabine Germany
  • Really had trouble enjoying my stay, bathroom where most of the times dirty, included breakfast was of low quality, and the prices seemed fair before, but after seeing the room and the bathroom it was disappointing.
  • 54%
  • 17 Feb 2016 Rubia Brazil
  • The major issue was not with the hostel itself but with the people staying there. Very rude, making noise and turning on the lights at all times at night. Some people also apparently helped themselves in the stuff of others. My slippers went missing, did not know I had to put them in the locker too! Also, the rooms and beds were small, and the showers could use more cleaning up!
  • 57%
  • 21 Jan 2016 Anonymous France
  • Wifi is weak and lacking of enough sockets in the dorm
  • 49%
  • 31 Dec 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Very weak wifi in room
  • 57%
  • 31 Dec 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Super close to the next underground station and the British Museum. 20min walk to Oxford Street. The price was alright but to use the lockers or store your luggage, you have to pay extra per day. Breakfast is included and is good with some cereals, "juices" (more sweet stuff than juice), toast and spreads. The showers are like in a gym hall with lockers outside and rows of tiny showers that splash all over your head but not body. Beds are three-level bunk beds with curtains.Room smelled of feet.
  • 60%
  • 16 Dec 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • The staff was not service minded - my friend had poop on her sheets she received and they promised to deliver new ones but they did not, I could not sleep because of the thin walls and therefor a lot of noise and it was mold in the shower.
  • 37%
  • 03 Oct 2015 Frida Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »