See other London properties

Smart Russell Square

71 Guilford Street, London, England, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 71% from 51 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed in a private room for 2 nights. The room was pretty decent and the staff polite and helpful. Unfortunately the WiFi didn't work in the room, the shower only had cold water and the room was located directly above the common showers. So at night it was really loud! One of those showers must have been broken it sounded as if a plane was taken off inside our room!!!! Every night!!!! That was really annoying, scary and upsetting!!!!
  • 74%
  • 23 May 2015 Jana Germany
  • Smart Russel Square is one of the worst hostels I've stayed in, and that says a lot. I would at least expect hot water in the showers, but they only had that some days. Some people in the staff were nice, the rest quite rude and unhelpful. There is a 10 pound cash deposit for each person, the kitchen is small and gross, the 10 ppl mixed dorm is TINY and filthy with only One outlet and the window only opens 15 centimeters, so the air is really bad. Over priced, unfriendly and quite filthy.
  • 40%
  • 20 May 2015 Jenny Sweden
  • They split my group of four people in two separate rooms and not 2/2 but 3/1 and were not willing to change that even though there was a single person in the room of our 3. Also the staff could barely speak English.
  • 57%
  • 04 Apr 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • I kind of hated this hostel until I got to my room and saw the curtains on the bed-- heaven! Never slept better in a dorm than with these thick, light cancelling, noise reducing things. The location is also great. The things I did NOT like about this hostel are the one bathroom/shower room for the whole floor (definitely not enough-- expect crowds and long waits), the largely clueless staff (couldn't tell me anything about local transportation), the lack of community feel. Overall, not bad.
  • 66%
  • 25 Mar 2015 Olga USA
  • The staff were very unwelcoming. I felt out of place. The noise from the bar down stairs was way too much. It's a cheap hostel but if you are after a peaceful night go elsewhere.
  • 66%
  • 21 Mar 2015 Anonymous England
  • The sockets by each bed site did not work and our En suit toilet door did not lock (which did not matter that much but still worth repairing). Breakfast was quiet poor but, well, its budget prices.
  • 89%
  • 16 Feb 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Great hostel, relatively cheap and in a good location, right next to the British Museum and within a walking distance to a lot of tourist locations. Staff was friendly, and we had an overall pleasant stay for one week. Some rooms might be too small and too crowded at times, but the price is fair. You might want to get to the common area early during the weekends so you don't have to wait in a huge queue to toast your breads and prepare your coffee!
  • 86%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Its great value for the money, but ypu get what you pay for. The beds are abit short and if you sleep early you will hear alot of noise from the hallways. And the hostel is spread over 4 floors so it could be alot of stairs. However we got a clean room with a shower and toilet. Wifi on the reception floor and breakfast was included. The breakfast isnt super but its free ;) All things considered i would recomend Smart Russel Square Hostel to people trying to save money on their london trip.
  • 91%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Pär-johan Sweden
  • The place isn't clearly marked so finding it without wifi or a map is impossible, the staff were average at best and looked like they didn't want to be there - neither did we. Of course the lift dosen't work and the staff didn't explain leaving our bags in the downstairs luggage room would be wise. We never met our room mates but we sure smelt, heard and feared there presence - not the hostels fault but the lack of cleanliness and curfue hours are completely there doing. My advise, run.
  • 37%
  • 04 Nov 2014 Georgia Australia
  • I stayed for four nights in an 18-person mixed dorm. I was traveling alone, and I was so delighted to find the common room atmosphere so open and inviting. The breakfast is mediocre, and the facilities weren't exactly stunning, but the location is good (I was able to walk as far as big Ben and also camden town) and for the price you are paying, it is a stellar experience.
  • 80%
  • 27 Oct 2014 Rene USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »