See other London properties

Smart Russell Square

71 Guilford Street, London, England, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 70% from 30 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 68%Security
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 56%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I lived there 2 days in October, 2014. I liked this hostel. Very helpful and cute staff. Normal rooms where you can have a rest after hard day in London. I advise you to visit and stay in this hostel.
  • 86%
  • 17 Oct 2014 David Kazakhstan
  • The place was nice and clean, curtains round the bed, windows that opened and beds werent too squashed together. Good location and pleasent staff. The downside, there was too different groups of drunk men in a 9 bed dorm, one snorred all night and kept the room awake, the other fell out of bed screaming in th middle of the night. I really do not think they should let drunk people sleep here, as they keep everyone else awake. The beds are stacked 3 high, really high, the breakfast is terrible
  • 69%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Victoria England
  • Despite pre booking the room and arriving after the confirmed booking time, I was given keys to another room which was clearly occupied giving me an ideal opportunity to take anything from that room. Fortunately I am a law abiding citizen so Immediatly shut the door, but it made me wonder as to what sort of place I had booked into. When I was given an alternative room which delayed my visit into London by up to an hour as there was a long queue at reception which was not bring dealt with very
  • 37%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Lucy England
  • The location and breakfast included is the only two things I like this hostel. The room is narrow with 9 people inside, And, three layers bed is horrible no space to sit on the bed. The worst thing is the bathroom, it's all in basement and without any hanger and basket to put clothes. When I was taking shower the light turned off suddenly, therefore I had a scared dark shower.
  • 66%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Yung Chun Taiwan
  • This hostel has a great location, but many aspects of the stay were not anticipated. The hostel charges 2 pounds for every piece of luggage you want to leave after check out. The fifteen-bed dorms are especially difficult, with multiple triple-bunk-beds. The top one seems the only viable one if you don't spend money to rent a locker because it's almost inaccessible high, but feels a bit dangerous to access. Free breakfast was a great bonus.
  • 66%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Everything you might need is close by, beds also have their own curtains that give you more privacy and security lockers are just under the bed so they are easily accessible. Staff is polite and friendly. Best hostel I've ever been in.
  • 94%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous Estonia
  • Very noisy from the street and the other guests. Showers are in the basement and only lukewarm. Luggage room costs extra. Can recomend and wont go again
  • 37%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Too crowded, noisy, baths and showers too far...
  • 66%
  • 30 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »