See other London properties

Smart Russell Square

71 Guilford Street, London, England, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 64% from 41 reviews

  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 66%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 60%Value for money
  • 50%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very noisy from the street and the other guests. Showers are in the basement and only lukewarm. Luggage room costs extra. Can recomend and wont go again
  • 37%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Too crowded, noisy, baths and showers too far...
  • 66%
  • 30 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The rooms are cramped, with only 2 plugs and the bathrooms are dirty. Good location, very close to the underground.
  • 60%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • The hostel is getting expensive, wifi had to be paid, I recalled when I went there in 2012n wifi was free at the area where the computers were. The hairdryer was spoilt and nobody bothered fixing it. The toilet doors do not shut fully and the cubicle is a tad small. I think the hostel can take cue from other hostels elsewhere. The area where the hostel is located is great though!
  • 69%
  • 21 Oct 2013 Anonymous Singapore
  • Showers didn't work right. The water was scalding. Mattresses aren't long so if you are highest than 1.75 is a big problem. The cleaning of the room leaves much to be desired. The position of the Hostel is very right and pretty close to the city centre.
  • 54%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Anonymous Italy
  • Basically a building site with holes in walls and floors! Had to go down four flights to use a communal shower so didn't. Then was told to check out I had to return back up three flights to retreave my bedslip which wasn't mentioned on check in. Sorry to say the only Smart thing about the place is the name!
  • 37%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Andrew England
  • I slept in a 12-bed room in cellar. It was smelling inside like an old fusty socks. Besides the washbasin in a room was out of order and generally the room was dirty and stinky. Outside the window lay a lot of litter.
  • 63%
  • 05 Sep 2013 Anonymous Poland
  • The breakfast is awful!! facilities are very old, the hostel itslef is a maze, you cannot find easily the toilets or anything, the facilities are very austhere compared with other hostels like yha or ymca, I didn't like much my experience at Smart @ Russell
  • 60%
  • 19 Aug 2013 mario Mexico
  • breakfast: Not Before they call you for it. Even f everything is set on the table.cereales and bread. Even if 20 persons wait for it. Showers: on the basement, not clean, even scary at night. Bed: Not long enough. You will be uncomfortable if you are taller than 5''. 3 beds one on each other is a lot, when someone moves, you move too. Big common room which is nice. No internet in the room.
  • 51%
  • 04 Aug 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • After reading some of the reviews, I had ZERO expectations of Smart Russell Square, but it was cheap, close to where I was going, and only for 1 night, so I didn't care too much. However, I thought it was pretty decent in the end. Bear in mind that this is a hostel, not a hotel which I think some of the reviewers have failed to recognise. Over the years I've stayed in a few of these places and this is better than many. I'd stay here again if it was only for a night or two on a tight budget.
  • 71%
  • 03 Aug 2013 Alistair Scotland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »