See other London properties

Smart Russell Square

71 Guilford Street, London, England, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 67% from 33 reviews

  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 63%Value for money
  • 54%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location and breakfast included is the only two things I like this hostel. The room is narrow with 9 people inside, And, three layers bed is horrible no space to sit on the bed. The worst thing is the bathroom, it's all in basement and without any hanger and basket to put clothes. When I was taking shower the light turned off suddenly, therefore I had a scared dark shower.
  • 66%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Yung Chun Taiwan
  • This hostel has a great location, but many aspects of the stay were not anticipated. The hostel charges 2 pounds for every piece of luggage you want to leave after check out. The fifteen-bed dorms are especially difficult, with multiple triple-bunk-beds. The top one seems the only viable one if you don't spend money to rent a locker because it's almost inaccessible high, but feels a bit dangerous to access. Free breakfast was a great bonus.
  • 66%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Everything you might need is close by, beds also have their own curtains that give you more privacy and security lockers are just under the bed so they are easily accessible. Staff is polite and friendly. Best hostel I've ever been in.
  • 94%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous Estonia
  • Very noisy from the street and the other guests. Showers are in the basement and only lukewarm. Luggage room costs extra. Can recomend and wont go again
  • 37%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Too crowded, noisy, baths and showers too far...
  • 66%
  • 30 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The rooms are cramped, with only 2 plugs and the bathrooms are dirty. Good location, very close to the underground.
  • 60%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • The hostel is getting expensive, wifi had to be paid, I recalled when I went there in 2012n wifi was free at the area where the computers were. The hairdryer was spoilt and nobody bothered fixing it. The toilet doors do not shut fully and the cubicle is a tad small. I think the hostel can take cue from other hostels elsewhere. The area where the hostel is located is great though!
  • 69%
  • 21 Oct 2013 Anonymous Singapore
  • Showers didn't work right. The water was scalding. Mattresses aren't long so if you are highest than 1.75 is a big problem. The cleaning of the room leaves much to be desired. The position of the Hostel is very right and pretty close to the city centre.
  • 54%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Anonymous Italy
  • Basically a building site with holes in walls and floors! Had to go down four flights to use a communal shower so didn't. Then was told to check out I had to return back up three flights to retreave my bedslip which wasn't mentioned on check in. Sorry to say the only Smart thing about the place is the name!
  • 37%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Andrew England
  • I slept in a 12-bed room in cellar. It was smelling inside like an old fusty socks. Besides the washbasin in a room was out of order and generally the room was dirty and stinky. Outside the window lay a lot of litter.
  • 63%
  • 05 Sep 2013 Anonymous Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »