See other London properties

Smart Russell Square

71 Guilford Street, London, England, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 70% from 36 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel, relatively cheap and in a good location, right next to the British Museum and within a walking distance to a lot of tourist locations. Staff was friendly, and we had an overall pleasant stay for one week. Some rooms might be too small and too crowded at times, but the price is fair. You might want to get to the common area early during the weekends so you don't have to wait in a huge queue to toast your breads and prepare your coffee!
  • 86%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Its great value for the money, but ypu get what you pay for. The beds are abit short and if you sleep early you will hear alot of noise from the hallways. And the hostel is spread over 4 floors so it could be alot of stairs. However we got a clean room with a shower and toilet. Wifi on the reception floor and breakfast was included. The breakfast isnt super but its free ;) All things considered i would recomend Smart Russel Square Hostel to people trying to save money on their london trip.
  • 91%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Pär-johan Sweden
  • The place isn't clearly marked so finding it without wifi or a map is impossible, the staff were average at best and looked like they didn't want to be there - neither did we. Of course the lift dosen't work and the staff didn't explain leaving our bags in the downstairs luggage room would be wise. We never met our room mates but we sure smelt, heard and feared there presence - not the hostels fault but the lack of cleanliness and curfue hours are completely there doing. My advise, run.
  • 37%
  • 04 Nov 2014 Georgia Australia
  • I stayed for four nights in an 18-person mixed dorm. I was traveling alone, and I was so delighted to find the common room atmosphere so open and inviting. The breakfast is mediocre, and the facilities weren't exactly stunning, but the location is good (I was able to walk as far as big Ben and also camden town) and for the price you are paying, it is a stellar experience.
  • 80%
  • 27 Oct 2014 Rene USA
  • I lived there 2 days in October, 2014. I liked this hostel. Very helpful and cute staff. Normal rooms where you can have a rest after hard day in London. I advise you to visit and stay in this hostel.
  • 86%
  • 17 Oct 2014 David Kazakhstan
  • Is that the ugliest place in Central London? I had cockroaches all over my pillow when I woke up. Staff can not be bordered and this is definitely not value for money. Moldy walls just make you feel it is not healthy to be here!!! Stay away!!
  • 31%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Marina Brazil
  • The place was nice and clean, curtains round the bed, windows that opened and beds werent too squashed together. Good location and pleasent staff. The downside, there was too different groups of drunk men in a 9 bed dorm, one snorred all night and kept the room awake, the other fell out of bed screaming in th middle of the night. I really do not think they should let drunk people sleep here, as they keep everyone else awake. The beds are stacked 3 high, really high, the breakfast is terrible
  • 69%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Victoria England
  • Despite pre booking the room and arriving after the confirmed booking time, I was given keys to another room which was clearly occupied giving me an ideal opportunity to take anything from that room. Fortunately I am a law abiding citizen so Immediatly shut the door, but it made me wonder as to what sort of place I had booked into. When I was given an alternative room which delayed my visit into London by up to an hour as there was a long queue at reception which was not bring dealt with very
  • 37%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Lucy England
  • The location and breakfast included is the only two things I like this hostel. The room is narrow with 9 people inside, And, three layers bed is horrible no space to sit on the bed. The worst thing is the bathroom, it's all in basement and without any hanger and basket to put clothes. When I was taking shower the light turned off suddenly, therefore I had a scared dark shower.
  • 66%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Yung Chun Taiwan
  • This hostel has a great location, but many aspects of the stay were not anticipated. The hostel charges 2 pounds for every piece of luggage you want to leave after check out. The fifteen-bed dorms are especially difficult, with multiple triple-bunk-beds. The top one seems the only viable one if you don't spend money to rent a locker because it's almost inaccessible high, but feels a bit dangerous to access. Free breakfast was a great bonus.
  • 66%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »