See other Munich properties

Smart Stay Hostel Munich City

Mozartstr. 4, 80336, Munich, Germany, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 77% from 22 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really good hostel, great location and friendly staff. The Wifi signal was poor in the room, but overall, the hostel is one of the best that I've stayed in.
  • 100%
  • 22 Oct 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Very good
  • 94%
  • 26 Sep 2015 andrea Brazil
  • Good clean place but need to fix up their wifi. You need a slip of paper every morning to log on to the wifi and it still doesnt work up in your room anyway
  • 77%
  • 20 Sep 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Kamer en badkamer (met fohn!) ruim en schoon, comfortabel bed :) Jammer dat wc in de badkamer zit, wanneer iemand lang aan het douchen is, kan je niet naar de wc. Geen airco, dus slapen met het raam open, dit was echt heel erg lawaaierig. Verder maakten mijn kamergenoten ook enorm veel lawaai, waardoor ik slecht geslapen heb (maar daar kan het hostel niets aan doen). Al met al een goed hostel, maar lijkt meer op een hotel. Ik miste een beetje de gezelligheid en de sfeer van een 'echt' hostel.
  • 71%
  • 07 Aug 2015 Anne
  • Not quite the worst hostel ever – we had quite dorm mates, and room relatively clean – but not a fun place: large and impersonal, no common room, an expensive bar, *exceptionally* disaffected employees, no amenities (stuff like towels and soap were only rented and sold), and not good value for money. Munich was very hot (~38 °C, about as hot as it gets) and the 6-bed dorm and the whole building lacked both air conditioning and a fan. *Sweltering* I Do Not Recommend This Hostel.
  • 51%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Our stay could have been so much better somewhere else. We got placed with 4 other guys which was fine because we asked for mix. What we did not ask for was being placed with a German man who was about 45-50 years old. He got extremely drunk and decides to throw up in the room while everyone was trying to sleep, he then decides to keep drinking and popping some type of pills. After he was able to fall asleep he started snoring which kept everyone else in the room up.
  • 54%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Sabrina
  • Dorms lack small, important things: bunks need reading lights & somewhere to hang towels, bathrooms need handtowels and a means to dispose of tampons etc. Instructions to find hostel say walk 1km+ from main station but don't mention the U-bahn stop visible from the front door - this is silly. Staff made no effort to tackle noisy, drunk gatherings of guests outside the lobby (& dorm windows) in the small hours - need to enforce own policy. (Noisy = sleep impossible despite good earplugs.)
  • 60%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Catherine England
  • Mattress sucks, dorms are good, kitchen is absolute garbage, no oven.
  • 74%
  • 26 May 2015 Casper
  • Nice ambient, rooms have new furniture, staff is OK. Some details could be renovated but in general it is good value for money.
  • 83%
  • 19 May 2015 TOM Slovenia
  • good location, clean facilities, kind staffs, and funny elevator... On the ground floor next to the reception desk, there's a lobby that many guys get comfortable, and it was sometimes noisy. And everyday you want to use Free Wi-Fi, you need to get a piece of paper written a code, messy... But I could meet good roommates, and so so good days.
  • 80%
  • 30 Apr 2015 KOTARO Japan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »