See other Munich properties

Smart Stay Hostel Munich City

Mozartstr. 4, 80336, Munich, Germany, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 78% from 21 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Our stay could have been so much better somewhere else. We got placed with 4 other guys which was fine because we asked for mix. What we did not ask for was being placed with a German man who was about 45-50 years old. He got extremely drunk and decides to throw up in the room while everyone was trying to sleep, he then decides to keep drinking and popping some type of pills. After he was able to fall asleep he started snoring which kept everyone else in the room up.
  • 54%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Sabrina
  • Dorms lack small, important things: bunks need reading lights & somewhere to hang towels, bathrooms need handtowels and a means to dispose of tampons etc. Instructions to find hostel say walk 1km+ from main station but don't mention the U-bahn stop visible from the front door - this is silly. Staff made no effort to tackle noisy, drunk gatherings of guests outside the lobby (& dorm windows) in the small hours - need to enforce own policy. (Noisy = sleep impossible despite good earplugs.)
  • 60%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Catherine England
  • Mattress sucks, dorms are good, kitchen is absolute garbage, no oven.
  • 74%
  • 26 May 2015 Casper
  • Nice ambient, rooms have new furniture, staff is OK. Some details could be renovated but in general it is good value for money.
  • 83%
  • 19 May 2015 TOM Slovenia
  • good location, clean facilities, kind staffs, and funny elevator... On the ground floor next to the reception desk, there's a lobby that many guys get comfortable, and it was sometimes noisy. And everyday you want to use Free Wi-Fi, you need to get a piece of paper written a code, messy... But I could meet good roommates, and so so good days.
  • 80%
  • 30 Apr 2015 KOTARO Japan
  • Great location in walking distance to the inner city and very close to the next U-Bahn (Goetheplatz). Newly furnished rooms with good matresses. Rooms and ensuite bathrooms cleaned every day. Good basic breakfast buffet for 5,90€ in the basement. But: The dorms definitely need individual lights for each bed - it's very annoying when roommates come home late at night and turn on the bright ceiling light. Also more power outlets are needed - three are just not enough for six people.
  • 86%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • 좋았습니다. 위치는 뮌헨역에서 괴테거리로 쭉 직진하면 나와서 찾기는 쉽습니다 조금 걸어가야합니다. 시설 좋구요. 굉장히 만족스러웠습니다. 6인실이었는데 사람이 별로 없어서 편하게 지내다 갔습니다. 방에서 와이파이도 잘터지고 직원들도 친절합니다.
  • 100%
  • 02 Feb 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • This was my first hostel in a 2 week trip, traveling with my boyfriend. There were only two beds left in the room when we checked in, and one had not been cleaned before we got there. Sheets were not switched and there was dirty underwear on the corner of the bed. One of the fellow guests in the dorm smelled awful, stared at the women in the room, peed in a bottle at night, and had lice. Wifi was spotty, but worked in the morning or in the lobby. Staff was extremely friendly though.
  • 71%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Location is a bit tricky if arriving by train. A good walking from HBF. It's right next to U-bahn station though. Rooms are spacious with bathroom. Bathroom is reasonably clean but the room could be swept more frequently. No individual power outlet and no bedside lighting is a bit inconvenient. WIFI access within the building and speed is okay.
  • 69%
  • 30 Oct 2014 Ka Yan
  • The location is good but its at least 15min walk from the Main train station. Which should be a norm in Munich. However i was unable to find any other means of public transport to this pace except taxi, we always walked. Wonderful Turkish eateries along the way a good thing for travelers. Rooms were good and staff was wonderful.
  • 97%
  • 19 Oct 2014 Shagun India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »