See other Bruges properties

Snuffel Backpacker Hostel

Ezelstraat 47-49, Bruges, Belgium, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 80% from 64 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very nice hostel. You see other reviews with complaints about showers, staircases, noise, etc but these must be very picky people. Just grab a beer at he bar and have fun! It is also in a nice part of the city, just off the side of the main tourist area so you can actually meet some locals and prices for beer, fries are lower. This is a great hostel to meet people, good atmosphere, nice hot showers, great beer selection, our room was good.
  • 91%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Very nice pub downstairs, good breakfast and always a group going out for a party on the town.
  • 83%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • The dorm where we stayed was of 12 beds but the space between the beds was super narrow. The bathroom were far from the rooms.
  • 77%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • It's a great place, with a really amazing atmosphere. People can be very kind and please, if you go, drink some beers for me on the bar! ;)
  • 77%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Maria Agostina
  • Scary stairs to get to the rooms, nice bar but closes early. You have to pass trough the bar/common area to get to the showers. Pretty near everything (10min to the center and 20-25min to the train station)!
  • 77%
  • 01 Jun 2014 Sophie Canada
  • Good location, Cheap beer, big common area ( bar actually). I stayed in a 12 people dorm, when I get into my room first time, I had to bring my luggage to "climb" on a spiral staircase. It's such a had task! Despite this, everthing is fine.
  • 86%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Thank you for having us, we had a wonderful time in your hostel. Snuffel was a very good choice - best value for money, I would recommend it to everybody. Centrally located, overlooking a beautiful church. Also, we were offered a possibility to rent bikes for a ridiculous price. The neighborhood of Bruges is wonderful, so don't miss this chance! Also the breakfast was good, but for Hungarians a bit strange that no cold meet/sausage/ham are served - but this is common there.
  • 86%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hungary
  • It is really close from the city center, the staff is really cool, if you are going with friends the atmosphere at the hotel bar is really good, the beer is amazing you can play board games and meet a lot of people. It is not luxurious at all but for the price is perfect
  • 89%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Some things are pretty old and need a renewal... the showers were kind of dirty (full of hairs) and the toilet wasn't cleaned but once a day (even though there are around 12 people using it). Sheets were clean, but the mattress cover was dirty. Also, luggage storage didn't look that safe, anyone could easily enter and take your bags (or open them).
  • 63%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • 5 stars for the hosts/staff: always patient, friendly, and helpful. They let me use the shower even after checking out - so I had the chance to go for a run around Bruges. Everybody knows Snuffel so if you get lost just ask which way it is! The facilities are very basic, but clean. They are located into an old building so the set-up is a bit awkward, but I hear they're moving into a new place. I wish they had caged lockers. Overall really great place, definitely recommend for budget travels.
  • 74%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »