See other Edinburgh properties

St Christopher's Edinburgh

Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 73% from 22 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Excelent location, just aside the bus stop of the special line that comes/goes to the airport, 10min walking for the most important points of interest, with a friendly reception and a sympathetic tea in the privative bedroom. Could be even better only if the breakfast were more organised.
  • 86%
  • 08 Mar 2014 Vanessa Brazil
  • Because when we initially arrived there were primarily school groups, the atmosphere suffered, and the other lodgers weren't as friendly and stuck to their groups. Also, the a shower was broken which made the bathroom less accommodating. The one shower was overused which, frankly, made the bathroom rather disgusting. The staff was very friendly and approachable. The Belushi Bar was a great place to have with the hostel.
  • 63%
  • 18 Feb 2014 Brooke USA
  • Would not recommend this hostel - and we are not fussy. Despite having our own room - it smelt like feet and there were foreign hairs throughout our sheets which just confirmed suspicions it was really unclean. Poor breakfast, cornflakes or white bread were only options, hygiene was an issue here too. Nice reception staff.
  • 43%
  • 13 Feb 2014 matthew New Zealand
  • Nice and cheap hostel with a great location. Staff is really helpful and kind. Downside: the toilets wouldn't flush properly so they would be clogged almost all the time. Free basic breakfast included which was nice.
  • 74%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • Hostel it self nice, Hostel it self nice, especially the view from the window. Though you should put more attention to cleanliness it is not very hard to do. In 14 bed dorm toilets should be checked at least 2 times per day. And it would be very nice to know in advance that for lockers under the beds we need to have our own padlocks.
  • 69%
  • 23 Jan 2014 Anonymous Lithuania
  • This is a great hostel for the money it costs. Cons: no kitchen, only 1 microwave,,wifi not the best. Pros: good breakfast. Would recomend.
  • 71%
  • 17 Jan 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • They have a great location, but I had problems with my room everyday. The staff was glad to solve it, but still...
  • 83%
  • 16 Dec 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Rubbish. There was an overpowering smell throughout the hostel. The room was cramped and dusty and the bed and sheets were old and dirty. Breakfast was naff, they didn't ought to bother. We couldn't go into the room until 2 o'clock which seems late to me. I wouldn't mind but it was horrifically overpriced. We heard from friends staying in Edinburgh that they were in clean and comfortable accommodation for half the price. I certainly won't be going back.
  • 43%
  • 27 Nov 2013 Paolo Italy
  • Great hostel in a great location,great staff I recommend it.
  • 86%
  • 12 Nov 2013 Anonymous Italy
  • helpful staff. great to have a food menu and 25% discount for hostelers. the only issue is that it is very noisy being right across from a club and above a bar, which has very loud live music until 2 am. great location
  • 80%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Salomeh Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »