See other Vancouver properties

St. Clair Hotel and Hostel

577 Richards St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.9km

Rating: 78% from 22 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location is great! All of Downtown, West End, Gastown and Chinatown are all within walking distance. The beds were nice and clean and I loved the naval theme of the hostel. Although there were only two toilets and showers per floor, I never had to wait for my turn. The staff was very friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. All in all, great value for money!
  • 83%
  • 06 Sep 2015 Suvianna Finland
  • Very good location, but won't recommend this hostel. Dirty, low security, and noisy beds.
  • 51%
  • 06 Aug 2015 Alexander Denmark
  • The location is very good and the recipients are also very nice.
  • 83%
  • 28 Jul 2015 Anonymous China
  • Great location and very nice and accommodating staff. I requested a fan and they were able to provide one and were very pleasant and willing to "go the extra mile." The hostel was reasonably clean. I recommend keeping the entrance free of litter on the outside as it is what one first sees upon arrival. The major drawback was how hot the rooms were in July---no cross breeze. Even though a fan was provided upon request and very much appreciated it was uncomfortably hot in the rooms.
  • 80%
  • 20 Jul 2015 raquel USA
  • The girls who worked there were really nice! I would recommend getting little fans for the individual rooms. In addition, the pipes make a weird noise when you use cold water.
  • 80%
  • 01 Jul 2015 Victoria USA
  • One problem was parking. We had to park a good distance away. Another was that we arrived in Vancouver during a heat wave, and the room we were allotted was at the third floor (top) and with no air conditioning and a permanently open window, the heat in the room was almost unbearable. We had been given a small fan, but its effort was feeble and did not help much. We didn't, however spend much time in the hostel, and had no regrets about staying there. It was indeed, value for money.
  • 77%
  • 28 Jun 2015 Turid H. Canada
  • Great location, really friendly staff. Only downside is the rooms get really warm and muggy during summer so be prepared. Would stay again though
  • 86%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Thomas Australia
  • Great location and a good price. Old facilities which could be improved, but fine for a one night stay. The people at the front desk were super friendly and helpful.
  • 77%
  • 21 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Quaint. Lots of character. Cheap. Excellent location. Super friendly front desk lady, who recommended The Templeton diner – cute and delicious! Bathrooms and showers not very private, but decent. Free towels. Lots of dishes. Walls/doors really thin, so loud talking in one room will be heard next door. The front door is locked at 9, BUT there's a combination lock on the door so you can still get in. Lots of parking garages nearby.
  • 89%
  • 04 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at St. Clair Hotel and Hostel in Vancouver. The location is terrific and the price is unbeatable. The rooms were clean and private and it has a small, cozy feel instead of seeming like a huge, impersonal complex. The staff, particularly the young lady working reception on weekdays, was knowledgeable and accommodating and gave us some good tips on where to eat and dance in the city. The ideal hostel experience, really. Well done!
  • 86%
  • 01 Dec 2014 Benjamin Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »